We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great but expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront to your Saves list
Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Three Battery Wharf, Boston, MA 02109 (Formerly Fairmont Battery Wharf)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“great but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

it is one of the best and most luxurious hotels that i have ever stayed, but it was really expensive for my financial limits. it costed more than 300$ per night. apart from that i have nothing negative to mention apart from the fact that you have to pay extra for internet access.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    199
    74
    24
    9
See reviews for
175
410
51
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Spent two single nights at this hotel this May. Chosen as there is a water taxi station at the wharf which connects to Logan airport. There is a short walk to the Hotel entrance. The hotel is on two floors only with apartments above and has two wings, one is across the entrance street.
Room very comfortable but be aware, the shower system is complicated defeated us (two heads and we never did get to use/work out the rainwater top shower). Not the kind of thing to ring and ask for help with when naked and wrestling with unclear and new handles etc. We had already had to ask how to use the Nespresso machine - incidentally this is free of charge . Not all of us own one!Access to the TV system is very complicated and defeated us. The hotel appears to know about this and the apartments also have the same system, but who knows when something will be done?
Nice that the windows open and so one can sleep with the air-con off if you want to - be aware that the pathway outside along the dockside is used by joggers (not a problem) and also smokers, so if the windows are open the pong can drift in.
Breakfast extra and watch for the service and extra charges on room service breakfast. Good breakfast downstairs.

Room Tip: Make sure that you have a room with view to the harbour - great place to watch the boats and ask if...
See more room tips
Green Features: Organic food announced in the downstairs menu - the bedside reading light is LED but not quite bright enough?
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

7 minute water taxi ride from Logan, beautiful property, excellent service, highly recommend the Gold experience. Have nothing but praise for the staff and Gold amenities (separate bldg., wonderful breakfast, appetizers and desserts). Rooms are very spacious and comfortable. Two blocks from Hanover St/North End. Only downside may be distance from a T station but it is easily walkable - and a fun walk as station is at the other end of Hanover. Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend.

Room Tip: Gold Rooms are worth the price differential.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth, Texas
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Overall I agree with the "good" reviews of this hotel here on TA. Having spend 4 consecutive nights at the Fairmont Battery Wharf I would rate it as a 4.5 star hotel. Keep in mind that this is not the Mandarin or the Four Seasons but it is a decent, well kept and well-managed hotel with many amenities of the above top-end hotels but a fairly lower costs.

Here like to summarize my subjective pros and the cons of this hotel:

Positive:
- Fair rates, usually 100 US $ below rates of comparable 4* Back-Bay hotels. Sometimes nice specials with resort-credit and breakfast.
- Extraordinary friendly and welcoming staff at the front desk and all over the hotel.
- Extremely clean property.
- Large, very well kept and extremely clean rooms with plenty of storage room. No smell.
- Comfortable beds.
- All rooms have windows that open and let in fresh air.
- Upscale furniture and interior decoration.
- Very quiet.
- Stable WIFI. Free of charge if you join Fairmont President's Club.
- Nice bathroom with walk-in rain-shower.
- Free drinking water and welcome present.
- Nightly turn-down-service.
- Bathrobe and slippers.
- Free rollaway bed for children.
- Nice views of Boston Harbor from some rooms.
- Nice hotel restaurant for breakfast and bar for sundowner with courteous staff.

Negative:
- Far out from Back-Bay but very close to North-End and the Financial District (so not really a negative point during good weather).
- Annoying noise from slamming guest-room doors.
- Temperature in the hallways, public spaces and even the restaurant sometimes at freezing level.
- No real concierge service.
- Sometimes difficult to catch a taxi.
- Annoying noise from the kitchen vent in the restaurant.

Overall the positive points clearly outweigh the negatives. The hotel is suitable for either business or leisure travel. Will return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Amazing hotel! Nice rooms and COMFY bed!
Could use some free wifi though....
It also took 20 mins to get hot water for the shower (I'd still stay here again).
**if you are coming from the Logan International Airport ask how to take the water taxi to this hotel. We took a free shuttle from the airport to the water taxi pick up spot. Much better than sitting in traffic :) it is $10/person for the ride.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FairmontBattery, General Manager at Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for posting a review of your stay. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us, but I do apologize that the hot water was not working properly for you.

Should you stay with us again, I recommend joining the Fairmont President's Club. This will grant you complimentary access our wireless internet as well as provide you with many other perks. We hope to see you back again at Fairmont Battery Wharf again soon!

Warm Regards,
Indu Brar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Toronto
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had 3 fantastic nights at the Fairmont and travelling with an 11 year old, space is often an issue for us. Chris at the front desk generously upgraded us to a one bedroom suite and it was huge. The rooms are modern, clean, spacious. Our son called it the man cave.
Some bonuses:
- An easy 7 minute walk along the stunning ocean board walk to Quincey Market, Fanuiel Hall, The Aquarium and more
- Steps from little Italy, great food and shops
- Right beside the water taxi and we took the water taxi back to the airport. It was less expensive, a great view of the city skyline and we were given a mini tour by our captain
- Most rooms have balconies and face out over the ocean
- You can pull up a chair or bench from most places around the hotel and soak in the ocean air
- The staff were excellent

Even though we were given an upgrade, which we appreciate, we really had probably one of the worst rooms location wise. Room 4212 was right next to the elevator, faced into the courtyard where everyone comes in and out of the hotel and is under the awning so there is really not a lot of light and no balcony. It was really quite noisy. Again, the one bed room studio was very spacious, huge soaker tub, rain shower, modern, clean and lovely, just try not to get this room.

We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony and stay away from room 4212 which was right next to the elevator, across from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontBattery, General Manager at Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay. I am happy to hear that you were able to experience many features of our property and really took advantage of our location in the city. Although it sounds like you enjoyed the majority of your stay, I am sorry to hear that you were not pleased the the location of your room. I would like to clarify that the majority of our rooms do not have balconies-- the balconies that you see on the exterior belong to permanent residents of the building. Our rooms do however offer large windows with the ability to open. Thank you again for taking the time to share your review! We hope to welcome you back again during your next trip to Boston.

Regards,
Indu Brar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Daughter and i came here for a father/daughter weekend. The front desk upped us to a better room and it was stunning. From our beds , all you could see was water. Boats would come and sail on by ! Daughter excited by big tub and she is a big LUSH fan. Shower had a rainfall head that was wonderful. Rooms are clean and very comfortable. Location is great - North End is steps away. Fabulous food and dining options. Service is first rate at this Fairmont. Only bummer was i could not enjoy a cigar and cognac after dinner on the outside patio. overall - excellent!

Room Tip: the further out on the wharf you are , the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront

Address: Three Battery Wharf, Boston, MA 02109 (Formerly Fairmont Battery Wharf)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#18 Business Hotel in Boston
#18 Green Hotel in Boston
#20 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#21 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centerpiece of Boston's Battery Wharf renaissance, The Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront merges the North End's trademark charm with a contemporary appreciation for history and sense of place. Featuring 150 stylishly designed guest rooms and suites with extraordinary waterfront views, this luxurious boutique hotel on the pedestrian-friendly HarborWalk boasts two bars and restaurants, 6,000 square feet of meeting space, an award-winning Spa and Fitness Center and easy access to Boston's bustling Financial District, Freedom Trail, Faneuil Hall Marketplace and TD Garden, New England's premier sports and entertainment arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Splendia and Jetsetter so you can book your Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Battery Wharf Hotel Boston
Fairmont Hotel Battery Wharf
Fairmont Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.