We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine hotel in a good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront to your Saves list
Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Three Battery Wharf, Boston, MA 02109 (Formerly Fairmont Battery Wharf)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fine hotel in a good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed just one night at the Fairmont, as we were on our way to a reunion west of the city the next night. We booked the hotel using airline points, so I am unable to comment on value for the dollar. However, we really enjoyed our stay and would love to go back again the next time we have occasion to stay in Boston.

The check-in experience was excellent, with very cordial and efficient front desk staff and a friendly and helpful bellman to escort us to our room and see that our car was taken care of.

The room was beautiful, with a king sized bed and lots of space and seating. The bed was very comfortable, and we slept very well. There is a 42" LCD TV on the wall with a good selection of channels available. The bathroom is well appointed, with a glassed-in walk-in shower and a separate toilet with translucent glass separating it from the rest of the bathroom. Lots of amenities.

Seating included a comfortable reclining chair and a couple of other chairs as well. There is a desk with a good bit of space. My one gripe is that they charge $15.99 for WiFi, but this is common nowadays. Seems like an unjustified money grab, given that a $50/night Super 8 Motel gives you WiFi for free.

One oddity is the absence of ice machines on the floor. You have to call the front desk to get ice delivered, and of course that means a tip. However, they deliver ice and bottled water around 7:00 in the evening, which is a nice touch.

Overnight parking is $42, which is highway robbery, except that it costs an arm and a leg everywhere in Boston. There are some parking garages within walking distance (meaning a mile or less) that are less expensive, but you have to decide if it's worth the hassle of finding them and going back and forth.

If you are looking for good food, simply walk over to Hanover Street in the North End, about a two minute walk, and check out the gazillion fine Italian restaurants. The Quincy Market is about ten minutes away. The nearest T stop is Haymarket, also about ten minutes.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    199
    77
    24
    9
See reviews for
183
421
52
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The Fairmont Battery Wharf has great location, on the water in the North End of Boston with their own dock for water taxi access to/from Logan airport. The abiity to eschew Boston traffic and the closed in nature of the tunnel and exchange it for a 7 minute boat ride across the harbor with great views makes the convenience of this hotel a big plus. My room face north, and even though it was on the second floor gave agreat view of the Bunker Hill Monument and the USS Constitution. The other location aspect is that it is only a five minute walk from great eating if Italian food is to your liking. The downside of location is that there isn't an immediate T stop so access to public transit in the cold and rain would not be pleasant.
The room was slightly larger than a typical hotel room, a little wider and nicely furnished. Workspace was somewhat limited but seemed adequate. The bed frames were padded leather, a nice touch preventing bonking into something hard when wandering in the dark. There was a convenient LED reading light and adequate lighting for the room. Bed linens were fine but the beds were made in a short-sheeted mode, the sheet was the right length but the duvet was at least a foot too short. Nice terry robes but no slippers.
Bathroom access was via a sliding door, a great way to save space but leaving only one "hook" to hang for drying items so workout clothes had to go in the closet. The tile/frosted glass shower was good size with a choice of water streams. The toilet was in its own enclosure but the frosted glass door when open blocked access to the sink, a minor design flaw for me. There was a full size tub. The main mirror did not fog, a nice touch and very convenient, in addition there was a lighted magnifying mirror. Towels were large enough but the plushness was more in keeping with a Marriott than a Fairmont.
The closet would have been of adequate size except the safe was mounted on a pedestal and basically rendered half the closet useless.
The biggest flaw was the fitness room was in a separate building that required one to go out into the weather to reach; the 50 yard walk was bracing at 20 degrees on the way there but with no sweatshirt/pants the walk back after exercising was unpleasant. Another flaw is inadequate noise insulation, noise in the corridor moe than leaked into the room; good thing the nights I was there there wasn't a big party crowd,
Would I return? Yes, for the convenience but this is not a hotel I would rave about.

Room Tip: High floors with high odd numbers should give a great view. High numbers are closere to the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontBattery, General Manager at Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
I appreciate you taking the time to provide us with some comments about your stay. It is great hear that you enjoyed your spacious room and view of historic Charlestown. Our guestrooms were thoughtfully designed to maximize space and comfort, so I am glad that you appreciated the small details such as the sliding bathroom door, but I do apologize that some of these details did not meet your expectations.

I can sympathize with your dissatisfaction with having to walk between buildings during inclement weather, but I would like to mention that all four buildings are connected with underground walkways. Hopefully this is a feature you can utilize the next time you are in Boston. If the winter weather doesn't suit you, I would recommend visiting in the summer. The harbor and the city really come to life during the warmer months! I hope that you will choose to return to Fairmont Battery Wharf and please let me know if there is anything I can do to make your stay more enjoyable.

Regards,
Indu Brar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed one night for a business trip - loved the room, very modern, nice bathroom and big shower, great healthy free breakfast with lots of choice, nice location close to airport. The hotel is at the tip of the North End, which is nice for dining out too. The only odd thing is that there are multiple buildings, so I had to cross the driveway from my building to the spa/workout area, which was very nice too. I would definitely stay here again - clean, new, nice touch with turning on soft music for turndown. By the way I am ultra picky about cleanliness and this place met my standards! I felt at ease instead of wanting to go home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a wedding in late Sept. this year and really enjoyed our spot at the Fairmont. We got a great rate because of the block of rooms was reserved for wedding guests, and felt it was well worth it! The rooms are beautiful, very comfortable, spacious and well equipped with modern ammenities. There is a very lovely and fancy espresso maker that was great in the mornings. One complaint I had was we could not get our DVD player to work and called the front desk several times and several times they said they would send someone up to assist us, however no one came, and this was irritating. Other than that the service was impeccable, from checkin when we were escorted to our room so we did not get lost, to the bellhop flagging a cab for us. The housekeeping did come rather late in the day (after 4pm), which was odd to me, but did a great job. It is located in a great spot, easy access to all parts of the city and right in the heart of LIttle Italy. We were able to walk almost everywhere and those parts we couldn't get to by foot we easily found a cab. I would definitely recommend this spot if it's in your price-range. Thanks for putting the cherry on the top of a lovely elegant weekend in Boston Fairmont!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galion, Ohio
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is a nice property within very close walking distance to many activities and sites. The concept is a little strange at first given the different buildings but overall a recommend. The rooms come with an in-room Nespresso machine. We also used the fitness facilities but was a little disappointed that there is no pool on-site. The area is a little noisy and we could determine if it was because of the proximity to the airport and filght patterns, etc. The service was excellent and the staff very friendly. We also took advantage of the private car service that is usually around for "residents" but in pinch it was no more expensive than a cab and a much nicer ride. If the in-room espresso is not your thing, you are close to a Starbucks. The way the television comes on in the room is a little annoying. It sort of re-sets the sound very loudly until it flips to the hotel splash page. Felt bad for neighbors the first morning we turned it on. The turn-down service is a nice touch and we can't say enough about the friendly staff.

Room Tip: We would suggest staying in the Gold buidling. The Gold building comes with a common area for guest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eatontown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Beautiful room, comfortable and stylish. I loved the bathroom layout with access to the hall closet via sliding doors and of course I was pleased with the in- room Nespresso machine(my favorite at home) ! Was disappointed in having to leave our building to enter another to get to the fitness room, especially since it was freezing cold outside, and we also found it confusing because the ground level to the other building looked like a museum or other facility and there were no signs to indicate where you were going.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah C, Marketing Coordinator at Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us and that you enjoyed your room. For future stays we recommend using our underground halls. All four of the buildings are connected and it is possible to reach any destination on the property without actually stepping outside. This is a great asset on a rainy day or when it is a little chilly out. Again, thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed here for three nights recently and couldn't have been happier with the level of service and quality of this hotel. Christine, Richard and Emily in the Fairmont Gold building, were helpful and overall very pleasant to interact with.
The quality and variety of the food at breakfast and the evening cocktail happy hour was impressive and enjoyable.
Our room was comfortable, clean and very quiet and we looked forward to returning to it after our adventures around the city.
Thank you for a memorable trip to Boston. We are looking for excuses to return!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront

Address: Three Battery Wharf, Boston, MA 02109 (Formerly Fairmont Battery Wharf)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Boston
#16 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#18 Green Hotel in Boston
#20 Family Hotel in Boston
#20 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centerpiece of Boston's Battery Wharf renaissance, The Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront merges the North End's trademark charm with a contemporary appreciation for history and sense of place. Featuring 150 stylishly designed guest rooms and suites with extraordinary waterfront views, this luxurious boutique hotel on the pedestrian-friendly HarborWalk boasts two bars and restaurants, 6,000 square feet of meeting space, an award-winning Spa and Fitness Center and easy access to Boston's bustling Financial District, Freedom Trail, Faneuil Hall Marketplace and TD Garden, New England's premier sports and entertainment arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Splendia and Jetsetter so you can book your Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Battery Wharf Hotel Boston
Fairmont Hotel Battery Wharf
Fairmont Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.