We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place - misleading waterfront image” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront to your Saves list
Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Three Battery Wharf, Boston, MA 02109 (Formerly Fairmont Battery Wharf)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Maine
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Place - misleading waterfront image”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

We stayed at this Fairmont last Friday and like all Fairmonts… it was great. The staff was all super friendly, the North End location very convenient, our room was quite large, very well appointed and I think we were one of the lucky few who had a true water view (albeit between 2 buildings). The main thing we would warn potential new guests of is that the Fairmonts main promotional photo shows 2 buildings hanging out over the water loaded with balconies. This is actually very misleading as all of the end units you see in this image with large balconies are private residences and not the hotel! So do not expect a balcony and probably not much, if any, water view. We were in the Gold Building on the left which actually is the 3rd building from the water and we were told has 2 rooms with balconies. Again, we did have very nice 3rd floor corner room, water view with no room noise.
We also dined at the new restaurant (they just opened a few days prior to our arrival) and they have some things to work thru. The staff was very friendly but maybe not quite ready and some of our food plates were very good, others bland. The outdoor seating will be amazing come summer!

Room Tip: Not sure many rooms have a quality water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    199
    74
    24
    9
See reviews for
175
411
51
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

We booked this on the William shatner site and our room location may have suffered, as we were on the first floor with no view and next to the exit doors which loudly slammed shut all night long on Friday and Saturday night ruining our sleep. Otherwise the hotel was a home run! I am partial to my workout time and the gym facilities are amazing although the hours were a little limited 8am-8pm on the weekends (I would have preferred to work out earlier as to not waste daylight hours in the gym). Service was good and the room was well appointed with a very comfortable bed and neat nespresso machine. The location, however, is why I would return to this hotel. Very convenient water taxi ride to the airport, nice quiet area, but only blocks from the glorious North End, which is full of great restaurants, cages, and nighttime happenings. Also any easy walk to downtown and the freedom trail. What a great place - I highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

Fairly new, contemporary hotel in a quiet condominium complex on a wharf right across from The North End.
Our room was quite spacious, with a view of the water and Coast Guard base. It was fun watching the Coast Guard ship embark right in front of our window. Comfortable bed, very large flat panel and nice bath and closet.
We selected the lowest priced king room and found it quite adequate.
Fitness facility, which is shared by the condos, is also new and up to date.
Breakfast at the restaurant was good, but quite expensive.
Staff at this hotel were all friendly and courteous. We did not dine here as the restaurant menu was not appealing. I understand that they are changing over to a new restaurant.
The only negative was the very high parking fee. $42/day.
We will be back in the warmer weather to enjoy the outdoors

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

We stayed here last July and loved it. The hotel seemed so modern and clean, with the rooms following this trend. It was extra nice to jump off a water taxi and into the hotel complex, nice and easy. We had a view over looking a water inlet too which was nice. Large rooms were very plush and luxurious with a lot of storage, with fantastic beds and nice bathrooms inc walk in multi-shower cubicle and robes etc. Mod cons were a nice touch too with large wall-mounted TV, mini-fridge and Nespresso coffee maker. Had one problem with loud TV/music on first night keeping us up from somewhere, issue was dealt with promptly by security. Staff friendly and helpful. Location ideal if you like the North End, strolling onto Hanover St in seconds and to numerous bakeries/cafes/bars/restaurants. 10-15mins to the harbour and into town so good for that too. Look forward to staying here when next in Boston!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

Stayed here for just the weekend in the summer last year. Despite the rooms being a little pricey, it's a great hotel.

The first thing that was impressive was the security - there are 5 separate buildings of rooms, and your key card is specific for your building, as well as your floor and obviously your room.

The room was huge, as was the bed which was extremely comfortable, big TV, lovely bathroom. Service was great, everyone very helpful and friendly. The bar is nice too and the food was good. Very cool location too, right on the harbour. Nice and quiet but walk across the street and you're right in the city (don't know much about the layout of Boston but the Aquarium's just up the road along with some great Irish pubs and the famous Beantown Pub!)

The only thing I can say that was slightly annoying was paying quite a lot for both internet and parking - you would think that for the price you're paying for the hotel, both those things would be free or cheaper. But that's the only bad thing I can say!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

My husband and I spent 2 nights here in March. Here is the run down:

The Excellent: The room was amazing! The rain shower head was a nice touch. Very modern with fantastic linen. The tv and its location was perfect. Love that there were wine glasses in the room.

The Good: The service was great. The staff remembered our names from check in. They were very helpful with directions and maps. Their bostonian accents were great too ;) The view is amazing. The location is good but not right downtown.

The not so good: lack of annonimty.........you have to call to get ice as you don't have access to the ice machine yourself. No pool or bathtubs.

The bad: Valet parking only is pretty pricey. One night had coffee and desert in the restaurant.....probably the worst desert we have ever eaten but at least we could laugh about it!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

9 of us went to Boston for my 30th birthday from March 17 to March 20. We had a great greeting upon our arrival and were very impressed when we walked into the room. Very spacious, beautiful bathroom, very comfy bed, huge tv, very modern.

The staff was always helping us with directions, reservations, the front door staff always had a smile on there faces greeting us. Made us feel very welcomed.

We had breakfast and Sensing. The food was great but the service even better. Felt very warm.

Location was great for us, near restaurants and sightseeing. We also took the water taxi to the airport which was $10. You just let the front desk know what time you want to go at and they will arrange it for you.

I plan on visiting Boston again and would recommend and stay at the Fairmont Battery Wharf again.

Thanks for a great trip!

Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront

Address: Three Battery Wharf, Boston, MA 02109 (Formerly Fairmont Battery Wharf)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#18 Business Hotel in Boston
#18 Green Hotel in Boston
#20 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#21 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centerpiece of Boston's Battery Wharf renaissance, The Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront merges the North End's trademark charm with a contemporary appreciation for history and sense of place. Featuring 150 stylishly designed guest rooms and suites with extraordinary waterfront views, this luxurious boutique hotel on the pedestrian-friendly HarborWalk boasts two bars and restaurants, 6,000 square feet of meeting space, an award-winning Spa and Fitness Center and easy access to Boston's bustling Financial District, Freedom Trail, Faneuil Hall Marketplace and TD Garden, New England's premier sports and entertainment arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Splendia and Jetsetter so you can book your Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Battery Wharf Hotel Boston
Fairmont Hotel Battery Wharf
Fairmont Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.