We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn At St Botolph

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn At St Botolph to your Saves list
The Inn At St Botolph
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   99 Saint Botolph Street, Boston, MA 02116 (Back Bay)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Texas
1 review
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

I was there over Mother's Day week on business.
So the Inn was a great choice. The location was ideal to the convention center, 5 minutes tops. Grocery store down the street and 7-Eleven right across the street.
It was a one bedroom apartment w/extra perks.
I took advantage of all the services. Free phone calls, use of the computer
(free Wi-Fi), breakfast (when I didn’t feel like cooking), washer/dryer,
workout room (when I wasn’t exhausted from work, shopping or site seeing).
The staff was super. I met each one every day while I was checking my emails.
My laptop took a dive the second night so I was in luck that they had one to use.
The bed was comfy and the pillows were great after a long hard day. TV in both
rooms was convenient, the safe in the room was a great addition.
Since the Inn was keyless it made getting in so much easier and safer.
My only set back was no tub for soaking my tired body,
but the shower head made up for some of it.
I am planning another trip and I will be coming back.
I also book for others and will use this Inn again and again.
GREAT PLACE….

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    106
    20
    7
    2
See reviews for
79
187
51
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2009

I loved it here. I felt right at home, though my home is not nearly as stylish as the Inn. All in all, negative details or not, a great place. I will stay there again.

Small negatives:
The refrigerator made so much noise that I switched it off.

I helped two other guests in through the door; it seems the code system isn't easy enough the first time. Folks, use the keypad on the door itself, and the pound sign goes between the room number and your access code.

Why styrofoam and muffins with lots of additives for breakfast? Surely it is more environmentally friendly, probably less expensive, and absolutely more pleasant with normal plates and cups, and fresh food.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

When I saw this inn had opened I was excited. I was a former resident of Boston and recognized this place as being nothing short of perfect in terms of it's proximity to all the sights, shopping and restaurants in the back bay. The minimal staffing is fine for me since I really am a low maintenance guest and would rather not pay for the "pampering" in city locations. The room was nicely decorated and comfortable but the television never worked. We brought this to the attention of the management who could not fix it so I ended up just telling them to forget it since we don't watch tv at home so saw little need here at the inn. A big problem I had with the room was that the bathroom was exceedingly cold. There was no forced hot air supply in there. I understand construction limitations in retrofits but a towel warmer or radiant electric in the floor would have made it bearable. I always consider the price I pay when rating lodgings so when it's a cost effective stay my expectations are lower. I probably would have given the place five stars had the bathroom not been freezing. I may have forgiven the TV since the manager did offer to have the cable guy come fix it. I would only stay here outside the winter months or in a room with a heated bathroom.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2009

Overall, a top notch experience. Location was excellent (I was attending a conference at the nearby Hynes Convention Center). Plenty of nearby restaurant choices. Mall one block away for any shopping needs. Subway station about 100 yards away. 7-11 across the street.

Room feels brand new, fresh and tastefully decorated. Everything worked as advertised. Staff were very helpful with any requests. Nice treadmill, "stairmaster" and stationary cycle and dumbells in clean workout room. Decent free espresso machine in lounge.

Would definitely stay here again when I come back to Boston. Excellent value in my opinion.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2009

My staff used the Inn for a business gathering and it was great! We all had our own rooms (gorgeous!) and held our meeting in one of the big suites. The manager Michael treated us all like old friends, not just customers. We wanted for nothing! I loved the keyless entry and "self check-in" because it meant you could come and go as you pleased without having the staff in your face all the time, I felt like I had my own apartment in Boston. The location can't be beat, I was worried about figuring out the subway system, but I never even had to try because you could walk to everything! I will definitely be back! Loved it!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

We stayed here for the Boston Marathon and the location was perfect!
Loved the decor, flat screen t.v. and location. Don't expect a lot on the breakfast, but having a kitchenette made up for providing for yourself. Lots of restaurants and shopping close by.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

I loved the Inn. It's this little hotel, with big rooms, awesome decoration style, near to everything, in one of the most beautiful neighborhoods I've ever seen. we were in the last of April, all the cherry trees had blossomed, you wanted to stay for ever.
hope it doesn't raise the price, it's just perfect as it is. will come back for sure!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn At St Botolph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn At St Botolph

Address: 99 Saint Botolph Street, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#20 Family Hotel in Boston
#27 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn At St Botolph 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Inn @ St. Botolph, a luxury boutique hotel located in the shadow of the Prudential Center. With a keen nod to its namesake, the patron saint of travelers, The Inn @ St. Botolph in Boston's historic Back Bay wraps a wealth of luxuries in a tidy and affordable package for discerning travelers. Like its sister hotel, the internationally acclaimed XV Beacon, The Inn @ St. Botolph offers understated contemporary interiors graced with traditional styling and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Inn At St Botolph reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At St Botolph Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn At St Botolph, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.