We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time around” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn At St Botolph

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn At St Botolph to your Saves list
The Inn At St Botolph
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   99 Saint Botolph Street, Boston, MA 02116 (Back Bay)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Second time around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Stayed here a couple years ago and again recently. There is an office staff but no front desk reception. You receive codes to enter the building and your room after you make your reservation. The rooms we stayed in had gas fireplaces, which were very useful on this past stay. Rooms are large and comfortable, as are the bathrooms. We made good use of the kitchenette in January by stocking up and making hot breakfasts; this was more practical and cozy given the inclement weather. The kitchen had everything we needed to make light meals and was very clean. The Inn is a block away from the Prudential center, i.e. large mall. There is a 7-11 across the street. We were also able to walk home from the Boston Symphony and other nearby attractions are in walking distance as well. I'm sure I'll be back here in the future.

Room Tip: Some rooms have nicer layouts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tdesisto, General Manager at The Inn At St Botolph, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Toujours_Provence,

Thank you for choosing the Inn @ St. Botolph and providing your feedback!

We look forward to being of service again the next time you are in Boston!

Best Regards,

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    108
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
85
196
52
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I love the Inn at Saint Botolph because it is a true boutique hotel. Lovely furnishings, and a modern approach to everything that the business traveler needs.

The hotel is on a quiet residential street that offers all the charm of an old Boston Neighborhood, and yet is literately around the corner from the Prudential Center shopping mall and the Green Line T - station at Prudential.

It is easy to get to any part of Boston from the hotel, and it made my business schedule possible.

The room was immaculately clean and tastefully decorated, and offered all the amenities that I could have desired. The heat was well-controlled by an in room thermostat, and the room was warm and cozy, even with the large bay windows and the 16 degree Boston Day.

I will definitely return during my next Boston stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tdesisto, General Manager at The Inn At St Botolph, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear RobertoR329,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and are very pleased that you've shared your feedback!

Please let us know if we can be of service with your future reservation needs!

Best regards,

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
81 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed at this inn for another two nights. We loved the first time and wanted to experience it again. It is in a great location and offers excellent facilities.

We stayed in room 101 this time, which was a bit noisy though, as it is right by the main entrance. I was woken every night by the slamming door. Keep this in mind when booking.

Room Tip: Room 101 is noisy as it is close to the main entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tdesisto, General Manager at The Inn At St Botolph, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear SATraveller25,

Thank you for your repeat business and sharing your feedback!

I have had the front door looked at so that it wont slam shut anymore! Please let us know when you are traveling to Boston again, and I will be happy to assist you!

Best Regards,

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

When I have reserved a high-rise hotel nearby, I found this St Botolph Inn. It's not about the daily rate, as the rate is the same with your 4-5 star hotels nearby. It is more about experiencing something new. Stayed here for 3 nights in late December 2013.
Hotel is clean and nice. Breakfast is just right, not excessive. Coffee, tea, juices, bagels, cereals, all is there to prepare for your day. You just have to help yourself. The room is enough with a bit small/cramp bathroom, though. Kitchen utensil is there for you to cook light meals. Oven, microwave, fridge, etc are there.
The location is perfect, 3 minutes walk to malls and subway station. A convenient store is right across the street.
If you want to experience a nice boutique hotel, then this is the place. Highly recommended.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Loved everything about this place, our room was warm inviting, great kitchen facility downstairs with complimentary breakfast and coffee. Only downside was we couldn't get the tv working but that probably wasnt such a bad thing. This place is well located and walking distance to shops restaurants, the sky tower, laundry mat etc. Very much enjoyed our stay!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

The Inn @ St. Botolph's was the perfect setting for my wife's birthday weekend celebration. We were upgraded from a studio suite to a one-bedroom suite, which was perfect for us. The decor was elegant, and staff members were always cordial and extremely helpful. The cappuccino machine made incredible capuccino's, and the instant oatmeal, bagels, juice, and yogurt were just right for our early help-yourself breakfasts. We were a cab ride or easy walking distance from all of our special events. We live in the Boston suburbs, but staying at the Inn topped jetting to Manhattan for the weekend, or going to a downtown full-service hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Park Township, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

This is not a hotel in the true sense...(I guess that's why they call it an Inn)...it is a four story brownstone apartment building converted into a hotel in 2009. It therefore gives you a sense of living in a Back Bay neighborhood during your stay. From the sidewalk you walk up five steps to the porch and front door. Entry is by keying in a code for the front door and then again for your room door. So if you're looking for a hotel lobby with a fireplace and seating area, restaurant, front desk and all of that there is none. Nobody greets you at the door. There are only 16 units in the building so it's not hard to find your room. There is an elevator. The hallways are not heated. So coming out of your room it's quite chilly in the winter. Room was adequate. Full kitchen in room. Poster bed is just square ironwork which I didn't understand. Also didn't understand wall art pictures. Queen bed was comfortable. Linens were high quality. Bathroom amenities like shampoo, conditioner, body wash, toilet paper, tissues were good. Ceramic shower stall with glass door was a bit cramped. Brown carpet was strange. When you walked on it, you left a dark spot so after a while it looked like it wasn't clean. The hallway carpeting looked that way also and appears to be dirty. Lighting in the room was too dim so the room appeared dark. Furnace air handler was immediately responsive to the thermostat but forced air made a lot of noise although it didn't keep us awake. What did startle us at first was the sudden banging from a corner of the room (we were on the first floor above the laundry area). Five bangs and done. Then a little later another five bangs and done. A little later the same thing. After one time I went down to the lower level office and questioned it. I even went back to the laundry with the staff girl and went into the maintenance room. The laundry equipment was not operating. There is a boiler pipe running thru the maintenance room. With outside temps in the 20's the boiler was under load and I think there are some pressure problems to be ironed out. The next day I questioned again and was told that other guests have mentioned it but the contractor who installed the boiler doesn't do maintenance and they can't find anyone to repair it. That really wasn't an acceptable answer but a room change was offered. I really didn't feel like moving at this point so I said we'll live with it and we did for five nights and by the time we left we were actually used to it. But other noises were constant. It sounded like furniture moving upstairs or carpet installation going on but I didn't see any workers or trucks to indicate that. Doors were always banging. In the bathroom I could always hear a motor vibrating or fan running. I've never been in a hotel room with so much noise that wasn't associated with an elevator. I guess that's the way old houses are. Comp breakfast is adequate at best. After five mornings I was tired of oatmeal and English muffins and bagels (jelly, butter, peanut butter available). There are juices but no milk and so there are no cold cereals. There are granola bars. There is espresso from a Nespresso machine but not regular coffee and no tea. There is yogurt. It just wasn't enough selection for a five night stay. But there is a well stocked 7-11 store across the street and the in-room kitchen was useful. Full (but wobbly) fridge was useful. But the toaster oven on the counter is too big and sits sideways and is hard to use. New microwave. Two burner cooktop. There is a coffee maker in the room and there are regular coffee pouches available but again no tea. Kitchen trash liners are too small for kitchen type trash. Prudential Center Huntington Ave entrance is one block away. Literally a two minute walk which was excellent because it was snowing and cold. Out the front door, just steps to a right on West Newton Street and straight one block to Huntington. Cross the street and you're in the Pru. The location makes the noises seem not so bad. But there are many excellent full service hotels connected to the Prudential Center so that you wouldn't even need to go outside. The saving grace for the Inn is the kitchen. If you feel you absolutely need a full kitchen this close to the Pru, then stay at the Inn. The other best option for a full kitchen is the Marriott Residence Inn (newly constructed in July/2013) near Fenway Park. But that's a really good walk to the Pru. The Residence Inn though makes this Inn look shabby. The Residence Inn offers comp hot breakfast every day, heated pool, heated hallways, beautiful lobby, excellent new rooms, fitness center and large new laundry room. But there's that Back Bay neighborhood living feeling at this Inn...if you're in to feelings. Oh by the way, if the hotel management is reading this...you have a hotel with guests coming and going at different hours...it was TOTALLY INEXCUSABLE that the snow/ice was not cleared from the sidewalk, steps and porch during our stay. My wife had to side step down while holding onto the railing with both hands to protect from slipping on the ice buildup. Also our room wasn't made up on our last night stay. Night attendant was polite in getting us linens though. And please, get that boiler fixed!

Room Tip: Ask if the boiler has been repaired.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,669 reviews
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#22 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,248 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard by Marriott Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#40 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn At St Botolph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn At St Botolph

Address: 99 Saint Botolph Street, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#18 Family Hotel in Boston
#22 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn At St Botolph 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Inn @ St. Botolph, a luxury boutique hotel located in the shadow of the Prudential Center. With a keen nod to its namesake, the patron saint of travelers, The Inn @ St. Botolph in Boston's historic Back Bay wraps a wealth of luxuries in a tidy and affordable package for discerning travelers. Like its sister hotel, the internationally acclaimed XV Beacon, The Inn @ St. Botolph offers understated contemporary interiors graced with traditional styling and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Inn At St Botolph reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At St Botolph Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn At St Botolph, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.