We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Hassle - Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn At St Botolph

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn At St Botolph to your Saves list
The Inn At St Botolph
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   99 Saint Botolph Street, Boston, MA 02116 (Back Bay)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Gainesville, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“No Hassle - Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I am old school - so keyless entry - no reception .... I am skeptical. I like everything about this place, ok except for the parking fees at nearby Prudential Center when we checked out! But all in - just love this place! Clean and nice (shiny shower head in the bathroom!), easy walk to the mall, lots of places to eat. Daily continental breakfast - no hassle - coffee/tea all day - convenience at the highest level. Staff members were helpful. Had a great dinner at the recommended Mooo Restaurant... good food - as expected - pricey! Have a great year everyone!

Room Tip: The walls may be pretty thin - if you are a light-sleeper - do remember to bring your ear-plugs. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    101
    20
    7
    2
See reviews for
74
179
49
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Amherst, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Inn several times now, the first being because of it's proximity to our daughter's apt, but now because it just feels like our home away from home! It is clean, cozy, close to everything. They are accomodating to the nth degree. The small but well equipped kitchen has provided us the abilty to whip up a fast yet homestyle meal when a restaurant was not an option at the moment. I can't say enough about the "feel" of the impeccably decorated room! It doesn't feel like any other hotel I have ever stayed in.....because it most def. is NOT! LOVE it there! Have another reservation coming up and looking forward to it immensly! Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Boston!

Room Tip: We always have requested the corner suite and it's just lovely! They also hook you up with disco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was our first time to visit Boston. We were visiting to celebrate our 13th wedding anniversary. At first we were apprehensive about booking a hotel without a front desk...but the hotel was charming enough in pictures and the location was great, so we booked our room. We were very pleased with the location of the hotel...it has a neighborhood feel, but is a great location for getting around the city. The room was really well decorated and had a nice comfortable feel. The kitchen was small, but it had all of the neccessary items we needed. Even though they do not have a "front desk", they do have staff to help you with anything you need. They were all very courteous and helpful with anything we asked them for. We took advantage of the shopping service, and they had all of our items we ordered there for us upon our arrival..a very nice touch. We also liked having the keyless entry at the front door. You are also given a code to get into your room. The fireplace was also a nice touch...you felt more at home and not llike you were staying in a hotel. We will defininitely stay here any time we are back in Boston!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a great location from which to explore Boston.

While there are some hotel and shopping centre restaurants in the immediate vicinity, it is not right in the tendy shopping and eating area of Back Bay, but it is right near an entrance to the Prudential Centre and you can walk staight through the centre and you come out in the heart of Boylston Street. Where you will find great places to eat, drink and shop.

It is close to the T on two lines, 10 minutes easy walk to Copley Square and 20 minutes easy walk to the info kiosk in Boston Common.

It is in a quiet lovely street, which ended up snow covered on our last night, which was really nice

Others have complained about noise. We experienced no noise, although our two bedroom apartment was on the top floor. The room was clean and well appointed. Not really to our taste, but that didn't detract.

Our only suggestion on the room is that there is space for a washer drier in the two bedroom apartment and there should be one. Many apartment style hotels of this type would have one. We knew when we booked that it had a shared laundry, so we are not complaining, just suggesting!

It has a small but functional excercise room. the Breakfast room didn't look inviting, but there is a well stocked 7/11 across the street, so we bought breakfast supplies and took advantage of the kitchenette and full refrigerator.

This is a low service hotel for independent travellers, but our contact with the staff to book taxi's and store our luggage as we were a bit early, was all good. Acess by code etc all worked well.

Our only complaint and it is a small one, was that the "public" areas of hallways and lifts floors were not as clean as they might have been. I would take half a point out of five off for this, if I could, but not worth a full point as the room itself was clean.

We would go back!

Room Tip: Not everyone can be on the top floor, but it certainly avoided the noise from above that others have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We loved everything about St. Botolph, from the self check-in to the soft bed and big shower to the touch-up cleaner service and privacy. As others have noted, the location is ideal, just a 2-min walk to the T and other great local features, including nearby diners and Barnes&Noble.

Some reviewers have complained about noise, which we didn't find a problem. We stayed in room 101, which is the first suite at the entrance and we didn't find noise (from hotel neighbours or the street) to be a problem at all.... but we are downtowners normally, so maybe we've grown accustomed to city sounds?

Also worth noting: there is a 7-Eleven right across the street, so you can pick up your morning paper by throwing a coat over your pajamas, and there is a nail salon less than 1 minute away. Kinda great when you're looking to just disappear from your regular life for a few days. It's a great red-brick neighbourhood too, with cobblestone sidewalks. Toronto definitely doesn't have that.

I highly recommend St. Botolph, especially if you want to chill without even hotel staff around to know you haven't changed your clothes for at least a few days.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The room was an attractive modern decor of black, white, tan. Easily sleeps 3-4. Very new and clean. Huge white and black tile shower. Gas fireplace made for a cozy pre dinner aperitif time before we went to eat at the nearby Legal Seafood. The location could not be better - timeless brownstone neighborhood lit up with holiday decor and literally just around the corner from Copley Mall, the Prudential tower, etc. The staff was very helpful and kind. Breakfast gave us decent expresso coffee - the most important element to getting the day started. I will definitely return!

Room Tip: Rm 100 was a value at 159 per night. It faced a quiet street - no noise. It was a Garden suite in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Great location within a block of the Old Town Trolley stop and the T station for the Prudential Center. I didn't realize the Prudential Center was simply a mall (albeit a nice one!), but we actually did eat there a couple of times in our 5 days' stay. All kinds of restaurants nearby, about a two block walk north of the Inn, past the Prudential Center at nearby Newbury Street, which is also homes to tons of shopping. I loved staying in an area with a residential feel because our room felt more like an apartment home than a hotel room. Seriously, people, you want to stay here. Oh, and no key to fool with! They give you an access code to your room and the front door.

Room Tip: We had room 403. Top floor, so no footsteps overhead to worry about. Loved having a couch in the bay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn At St Botolph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn At St Botolph

Address: 99 Saint Botolph Street, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#21 Family Hotel in Boston
#23 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn At St Botolph 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Inn @ St. Botolph, a luxury boutique hotel located in the shadow of the Prudential Center. With a keen nod to its namesake, the patron saint of travelers, The Inn @ St. Botolph in Boston's historic Back Bay wraps a wealth of luxuries in a tidy and affordable package for discerning travelers. Like its sister hotel, the internationally acclaimed XV Beacon, The Inn @ St. Botolph offers understated contemporary interiors graced with traditional styling and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TravelClick, Agoda, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Inn At St Botolph reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At St Botolph Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn At St Botolph, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.