We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this inn so close to everything with gorgeous decor and excellent conplimentary espresso!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn At St Botolph

Save Saved
You added The Inn At St Botolph to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn At St Botolph
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   99 Saint Botolph Street, Boston, MA 02116 (Back Bay)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 77 hotels in Boston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love this inn so close to everything with gorgeous decor and excellent conplimentary espresso!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the inn at st botolph for northeastern's parents weekend. It is right across from the prudential center and a short walk to the school. We arrived early in the morning and they held onto our bags for us. We had a nice cup of espresso while we waited for our daughter then we walked to south end creamery (amazing brunch and cocktails!)

The inn was a wonderful home base for us with a gorgeous tiled glass enclosed shower and comfy bed with fine linens. We enjoyed the free wifi. The room had a kitchenette and desk area - very roomy. For that particular fall weekend the rates were considerably less than hotels in the area - so we not only loved it and preferred it to a hotel, we also got a great deal!

This is an inn and not a bed and breakfast. It has a self service espresso machine and a fridge full of juices and yogurts, plus cereals, etc. The cupboard has an extensive choice of loose teas that we enjoyed one evening after a walk in the cold.

We liked the freedom and convenience of the coded entry.

The staff was friendly and accommodating. We can't wait to stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    262
    95
    18
    7
    2
See reviews for
68
166
42
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Spent a week on holiday at this hotel which has some terrific features but also some that need improving.
The positives
- great location, lovely part of Boston, 2 min walk to Prudential Centre, T line, shops and lovely streets to explore
- space of suites is a nice change from tiny hotel rooms, kitchen is well equipped, nice shower
- friendly and helpful staff
- windows that can be opened, even if it means more street noise

The negatives
- serious problem of lack of soundproofing between rooms. We could hear people in the adjacent suite - talking (not shouting), television, coughing, snoring, as well as thudding footsteps from the floor above. Can't image how you would survive with a crying baby or amorous activities next door.
-decor and furnishings which may seem stylish, were uncomfortable. Two-seater couch and hard armchair in lounge area were excruciatingly uncomfortable, and with the large screen TV mounted high on the wall, we had cricked sore necks in no time. Four poster bed in the small bedroom was ridiculous and a hazard - we had to be very vigilant to avoid colliding with the posts when negotiating around such a small room.
- heating/cooling fan was one speed only, and very noisy and breezy when on. We hardly used it as the weather was mild, but it would have been very unpleasant and impossible to escape the gale if we had needed to use it.

On balance, the positives probably outweigh the negatives, but be aware that you are at the mercy of noise from next door and above. Bring earplugs - they may help.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I have just come back from a long weekend in Boston and cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. The location is truly perfect - close to the subway, easy walking distance to shops, restaurants, Prudential Tower, (& a great diner, Thorntons, just around the corner) - and in the most beautiful, charming street. The room was spacious, clean and beautifully presented and the staff are really helpful. Truly would come back to this hotel again, and would recommend it to anyone wanting something smaller, quieter and individual without losing any of the comfort or luxury of a large hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Harmony, Indiana
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

After calling several Boston hotels that were either booked up or too pricey, we found this one thanks to Trip Advisor. Our studio suite was $329 per night. While this is not economy/budget pricing, the accommodations, amenities, and the prime location, make this is a lovely place to stay. The inn has a total of 16 suites, some are studio and others are one bedroom and two-bedroom executive suites. This is a unique inn located in a wonderful, upscale, residential neighborhood lined with brownstones. We easily walked to Faneuil Hall and Durgin Park restaurant in 30 - 40 min. Several coffee shops are within an easy walk.

Our studio suite was tastefully decorated and included a queen size 4 poster bed. Also a kitchenette which included a refrigerator, small cooktop, microwave, & the appropriate glassware and dishes, etc. A 42 inch flatscreen TV and access to Internet service was also at our disposal. There was also a small loveseat and comfortable chair and a small kitchen table with 2 chairs. The bathroom included a shower only, but was clean with plenty of towels. This is a keyless entry inn which requires an entry code for not only the front door but to your room. Daily continental breakfast is available in the lounge. A small fitness center and a business center are also at your disposal. The staff in the office was exceptionally helpful. There is no parking at the inn, but public parking is nearby in the Prudential parking garage. Discount coupons for parking can be found online. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors may be quieter than street level. Although, compared to Newbury Street, it was not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Califon, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Delightful small hotel with a Back Bay neighborhood feel just around the corner from the Prudential Center/Copley Square and a walk away from everything Boston. Friendly staff, impeccable yet unobtrusive service. Parking is not adjacent, but that's what roller luggage is for.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

I loved it! Everything was beautiful about it! The room, the shower, the bed and the whole set up. You feel like you are at home but away at the same time! It was just a relaxed area a corner store right near the hotel! Overall I loved it!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The Inn @ St Botolph was a charming, well run hidden gem! We had a quiet room on the 4th floor. The decor was very tasteful, and the kitchenette very well equipped. It is in a very lovely tree lined street within very easy walking of Copley Square and perfectly placed to walk to the museums, Boston common, Beacon Hill and the Freedom trail.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn At St Botolph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn At St Botolph

Address: 99 Saint Botolph Street, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#22 Family Hotel in Boston
#28 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn At St Botolph 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Inn @ St. Botolph, a luxury boutique hotel located in the shadow of the Prudential Center. With a keen nod to its namesake, the patron saint of travelers, The Inn @ St. Botolph in Boston's historic Back Bay wraps a wealth of luxuries in a tidy and affordable package for discerning travelers. Like its sister hotel, the internationally acclaimed XV Beacon, The Inn @ St. Botolph offers understated contemporary interiors graced with traditional styling and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Inn At St Botolph reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At St Botolph Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn At St Botolph, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.