We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Friendly Meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Melting Pot

The Melting Pot
76 Arlington St, Boston, MA 02116-3901 (Back Bay)
617-357-7007
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Melting Pot is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #638 of 2,847 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Back Bay
Cross street: Arlington and Columbus
Transit: Stops Green Line to Arlington
Brookline
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Family Friendly Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We just recently went to the Framingham location to celebrate my niece's birthday. It was a really nice meal. It was my first time at this restaurant and we all enjoyed it very much. It is apparently my 16 year old nieces favorite place ever! She was in heaven; which is great since it was her birthday.

The quality of the food was good. I could have done without the batters that they brought to coat the meats in but - it was no big deal since you try them and then don't use them again if you don't like them.

The service was also very very good. We liked our server very much as she was friendly and knowledgeable. It was clear that she was a professional and we found her to be a great help throughout our meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    38
    15
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“A different experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I brought my family here to eat and it was a good experience. While I was not big on the food and how limited you are with the oils you cook with, it is a great experience. If nothing else, you should go for the dessert. Now THAT is something to talk about.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fantastic fondue experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Quality of food was great. Had swiss cheese, Caesar salad and chicken for the meat fondue. I was so full unfortunately I couldn't fit in chocolate fondue dessert. Apparently you can have half price choc fondue 5-7pm if you sit at the bar. I plan to go back and try it! The staff were lovely, though disappeared off for quite long periods of time. The booths were very comfy. Beware, they chill the red wine!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markinch, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“a place for fondue fans”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

overall we were happy. Menu seems overly complicated for a first time visitor but having navigated it would be far easier next time to know what to order and what not to order. We were a group of 4 and found the cheese fondue sized for 1 or 2 and the chocolate fondue sized for 1 or 2 was plenty for all 4 of us. The entrees are not such good value for money however as the portions are small and the price expensive for what you get. The waitress was very chatty and helpful and the atmosphere friendly. If you are a fondue fan go there but if you just want a meal there is probably better value to be obtained at neighbouring restaurants. For us a 3.5 rather than a 3 or a 4 but if we go to Boston again we would go there again and next time around will be easier ordering and getting full value

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“FUNdue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Love the Melting Pot. I just went for my first time about a week ago with my boyfriend and we had a blast. Though a pricy night out, it was wonderful for a special occasion. Contrary to what some say, I thought there was plenty of food. However, we partook in the Big Night Out for two, which was a four course dining experience.. We are both BIG eaters and love a bang for our buck. For the quality of food, ambiance, and service we got, we were both very pleased and we both work in the Hospitality Industry so can be rather picky. We loved the romantic atmosphere, having our own private booth.

The first course was the cheese fondue and it was delicious! For two people, we both thought that there was A LOT of cheese. Second course was salad which was nice and light to eat after the heavy cheese fondue we had just devoured. The only qualm I had throughout the entire evening was that our salad came out very quickly, and we were still working on the cheese fondue. Though we still had two courses left, we were quite full.

Our waiter, Chrissy, was phenomenal when we told her how full we already were and allowed us to wait on the next course for a good 15-20, checking with us to make sure we hadn't changed our minds and wanted the food out sooner. This was fantastic because once the broth was brought out, it still had to boil and sit for a while, giving us the time we needed to digest. The entree course had small portions of each, but there was such a large selection that the smaller portions were much welcomed. We had two lobster tails, buffalo chicken, 4 shrimp, 4 mushroom sachetti's, beef sirloin, and bbq pork tenderloin. Also served with that platter were potatoes, broccoli, and mushrooms. The different dipping sauces were divine and fun to experiment with.

Dessert was heavenly- chocolate fondue, crunchy peanut butter, and raspberry puree. Unbelievably delicious and served with a piece of cheesecake, 4 rice bitesize krispy treats, 2 bitesize pieces of poundcake, 2 bitesize brownies, 2 oreo covered marshmallows, 2 graham cracker covered marshmallows, sliced bananas, and sliced strawberries. It was incredible. Though not a meal we can often afford, we will definitely be back soon for at least 1 course!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Melting Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Melting Pot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.