We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classically Elegant Hotel with Superb Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Boston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, Boston to your Saves list
The Langham, Boston
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   250 Franklin St, Boston, MA 02110   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 20% off!
Ranked #24 of 77 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Classically Elegant Hotel with Superb Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

We loved the Langham! My partner and I stayed here last week during emergency construction on our condo and we were made to feel very welcome during a stressful time. We booked a room at $335 and were upgraded to a beautiful junior suite overlooking Post Office Square - a very nice surprise!

We found the hotel to be spotless and well-maintained. Our junior suite was nicely appointed and had a homely English feel. Internet connection was fast and reliable ($12.95(?) a day - pretty typical for a secure connection). Bathroom was spotless and smallish but the toiletries box with everything that one could have forgotten - priceless! Only complaint is that there was too much junk on the already small desk!

The bar... In a word, stunning! Possibly the best hotel bar we have ever visited. Huge crystal chandeliers, comfy loungy seating, stiff drinks (for a price) and polite bartenders - what more could one ask for?

The health spa is smallish but well done and designed. Pool area has lots of natural light and the workout rooms have brand new equipment and are again, spotless. Best of all, no access fee!

We easily recommend the Langham!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    408
    109
    40
    27
See reviews for
239
545
49
297
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

This hotel is particularly well situated and has well appointed rooms. In our experience,as world travellers,it does not provide value for money
Shortcomings...
1. There is not a quiet bar area where one can have a drink and good conversation. The only bar has a nightclub ambience,with very loud music,flashing lights and apparently largely non-resident clientele.
2. Most all budget hotels,inns and B&Bs provide complimentary wi-fi. How can the Langham justify a hefty charge for this service?
3. The restaurant is over-priced relative to the food provided.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

This was the first night of our honeymoon, and from the moment we arrived we felt special. Front of house was excellent, and as we had arrived early didn't expect to get checked in, but our room was ready, so our very helpful porter, Brian, gave us some pointers on "must see/do's" also some pointers on places to eat. We had a view of Post Office Square which was nice, as there is some green space there, rather than just a building across the street. Being in the financial district everything we needed was close at hand, and certainly no need to have a car here, as walking places was not a problem. I'd happily stay in this ex Federal Reserve building again!

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

We stayed here for three nights at the end of a trip around New England in the fall. On arrival we were very impressed by the hotel and staff, and our room was lovely, if slightly on the small side. We had a very nice view of the Post Office Square Park. The location was OK, but after exploring the town we decided if we went back we would prefer to stay in the Beacon Hill area, as that part of town seemed to have nicer places to eat in the evening. The leisure facilities were good, and I enjoyed swimming in the little pool, which I had all to myself!

However, we would not go back to this hotel due to the tremendous amount of noise coming from the functions they hold. The first two nights we were there the music was audible but finished about midnight, so didn't cause too much of a problem. However, the last night we were there is music was hyped up a few decibels, and didn't end until 2am. We had to get up at 5am to go to the airport, and so barely had any sleep. We complained to the reception staff, who were apologetic, but powerless to do anything. The Langham is clearly out to make money from these functions, but it is very sad that they do it at the expense of the paying guest.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

My husband and I were coming in to Boston for a wedding and decided to splurge. We did book through Priceline. The staff were all wonderful etc. and our room was small but acceptable, on the 9th floor which,again, was fine. We met our son for dinner and came back to the room to go to bed. The bed was as hard as a rock. We did not sleep...I became so desperate that I lined up the pillows and tried it that way. I guess in hindsight I should have called to see if they had another bed option. My suggestion would be to lie in the bed first and see before going out to enjoy the city. I can't remember having been so uncomfortable.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

We stayed here for three nights in October and the concierge here is the best I have ever encountered. They did everything from arranging for our rental car to suggesting places to sightsee and eat. The hotel itself is very nice, rooms are smallish but very comfortable. The beds were excellent. Great location! Next time I am in Boston, I am definitely staying here!
Make sure you check out BOND as well; very unique cocktails and decor.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbrae, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

When my company booked me into the Langham they told me it was the best hotel in Boston - and they weren't far off the mark. The room was a bit small for my taste, but extremely comfortable. Ordered room service my first night because on a Sunday night there was nothing open. Food was very good, and arrived in no time.

The bed was very comfortable and I fell asleep with no problem. Staff was very helpful in giving me directions around town and everyone there was pleasant. Although I only stayed there a couple of nights, it made my business trip a whole lot easier.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Boston

Address: 250 Franklin St, Boston, MA 02110
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Boston
#9 Family Hotel in Boston
#16 Green Hotel in Boston
#16 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#19 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#24 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Langham, Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a famous architectural landmark, The Langham, Boston offers a unique blend of history, charm and urban sophistication. The hotel is in Boston's financial district and within a 5 min walk to Faneuil Hall Marketplace. It is also steps away from the Boston Harbor, the North End, Boston's finest shopping district, major colleges and universities, theaters, and the Freedom Trail to name a few. The Langham, Boston is ideally located for both business and pleasure and offers three delectable dining options,the Reserve, a refined champagne lounge which serves a continental breakfast selection and offers dining from dawn until dusk with a menu featuring soups, salads and light entrees, along with beer, wine and champagne and the Langham's traditional British Tiffin Afternoon Tea. Bond is a premiere destination for cosmopolitan dining, cocktails and entertainment. Cafe Fleuri offers contemporary New England cuisine for full breakfast and Lunch (mon-fri)and our decadent Saturday Chocolate Bar and renowned Sunday Brunch. All guests at the Langham Hotel enjoy our signature Langham Turn Down service, plush robes and slippers, and full complimentary use of the fitness center and indoor heated pool and jacuzzi in our charming and intimate pool pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Langham, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Boston Hotel Boston
Langham Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.