We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay at the Langham Boston” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Boston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, Boston to your Saves list
The Langham, Boston
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   250 Franklin St, Boston, MA 02110   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dining Credit- Free Wifi
Ranked #23 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very nice stay at the Langham Boston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We really liked this hotel. It got a bit loud in our hallway at night (6th floor) so we switched rooms the next day. The next morning we woke up to the sounds of doors slamming because they're difficult to close in this hall / floor (4th floor). We had the Chocolate Buffet which was good but I don't think I would ever pay that kind of money to do it again.

Parking was cheaper in the parking lot to the left of the hotel (under the park). It was $9 per day on the weekends and I would suggest that if you're going for the weekend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear AJ C,

Thank you for your feedback of your stay at The Langham, Boston. I am pleased to read that you had a memorable stay with us and found our accommodations comfortable and our Chocolate Bar enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham, Boston in the near future.

Sincerely,

Richard Bussiere
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    819
    425
    112
    41
    29
See reviews for
254
564
51
327
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

This was by far the most luxurious hotel I have stayed in Boston. The entrance and bar areas are grand, staff so courteous and friendly. Rooms are massive and extremely comfortable. It had a very traditional feel but with a modern twist. Will return albeit top end prices.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Jonandandie,

Thank you for your flattering review of your recent stay with us at The Langham, Boston. I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay with us and found our accommodations spacious and luxurious, and our colleagues courteous and friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham, Boston on your next visit to the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We loved the hotel. The staff were very welcoming and helpful The room was very comfortable and clean and had everything we could have needed. the TV did not work and they came very promptly to repair this.The position was superb to walk to all the sites and restaurants. The swimming pool and sports centre were wonderful. Our only critisism was the breakfast where we were very unlucky with slow service. We thought that the food, when it came, was very poor value. I had two mini croissants for 9 dollars. We tried to find somewhere near by for breakfast on the second morning with no luck and so had to go back again and found the same problem. But we loved everything else about the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear PippaTrogs,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at The Langham, Boston. I am pleased to read that you loved your stay with us and found our colleagues helpful and welcoming and our accommodations comfortable and clean. I am disappointed to read that you were dissatisfied with your breakfast and that you felt that it was of poor value. Our Concierge is always available to recommend an alternative breakfast restaurant or café should you wish to eat outside of the hotel. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham, Boston soon.

Sincerely,

Richard Bussiere
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Both myself and my husband stayed here for two nights in March 2013, only sorry I am writting this review now. The Langham was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in, its location is central to everything and all within walking distance.

The hotel has beautiful rooms, spacious and very comfortable beds. We paid for breakfast each day, which was fine and we were able then to have the full choice, which there was a very large choice. We also eat on one of the nights in the Bond Restuarant and it was excellent maybe a little expensive but well worth it.

Overall a great impression and wonderfull staff.

Will be back hopefully in the not too distance further.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Vonnie5,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Langham, Boston this past March, and for considering our hotel one of the best hotels. I am delighted that you had a memorable stay with us and found our accommodation beautiful and spacious, and the hotel ideally located in Downtown Boston within walking distance of local sights and attractions. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham, Boston in the near future.

Sincerely,

Richard Bussiere
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I spent 4 nights here, rooms are clean and big, beds are very confortable, location is perfect to visit boston.

now the nightmare: Walls are paper thin, there was a wedding I couldnt sleep, I called front desk 3 time they did nothing about.

The main problem was when I checked in, they made a mistake with my credit card, they were suppoussed to charge 200 usd but they charged 2000usd without my authorisation and they didnt told me anything (they knew they made a mistake but just didnt say anything about it... thas crazy!), I went to my room and I had and sms from my bank saying this (maybe they thought I wasnt going to realize they took 2000 USD from my bank because they charged my card while checking in and they did't say anything, what a shame!) so I went down to the front office, there was no manager (it was saturday) they blocked the credit in my credit card so they left me in Boston with no money, They said problem will be solved in 24 hours and apologize. Sunday no manager, there must be a joke but it wasnt, Monady was labor day, no manager, I had to call my bank to increase my credit and that cost me money. they told me on monday that they have been talking with American express to release the money they put on hold and that it will be released thuesday. Nothing happend on thuesday, talking with accounts manager on thuesday he apologized and said the money will be realeased in 24 48 hours. Friday monday (6 days after their mistake) they released the 2000 USD they put on hold without my authorisation. Salim [--] made the mistake, Russell [--] (front desk manager) was at home, Salim called him and Russell did nothing because he was in his day off. the only person who talked to me was Thomas [--] Director of banquets, very kind guy told me to have a free meal because they blocked my credit (I dont want a free meal, I want my money back). ther was nobody in charge of this luxury hotel in 3 days, can you belive it? and when the account manager appear on thuesday they were not able to do anything, can you belive it?

I'm waiting for my phone bill because they are going to pay all the international calls I had to make because of their fault.

I had travell a lot and this was by far the worst experience in a luxury hotel. see my other reviews and place I have visited. STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE, location is excellent but theres nobody in charge and employees run like a headless chicken trying to solve a problem they are not qualified for. the apologize like a hundred times but they didnt do anything in order to solve a 2000 usd problem.

worst ever stay in a hotel in 35 years and I have more than 500 reviews in trip advisor.

hilton and marriot are also very close to quincy market freedom trail and all the places.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, NJ USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed at The Langham, Boston on Sept 23rd while traveling on business. Happened to be a bit under the weather, so I needed a good nights rest. The hotel was extremely nice. Check in was a snap, staff was very accommodating and the room was spotless. I stay in a lot of hotels while traveling on business, and I think this may have been the cleanest bathroom I've ever seen. Got a great nights rest in the extremely comfortable bed and woke feeling much better in the morning. Great stay overall. FYI - Boston very dead on Monday nights...absolutely nothing going on in the financial district right around the hotel!!

Room Tip: Stated in room 458
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Yankees2008,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us at The Langham, Boston. I am delighted that you had a restful night’s sleep with us and found our accommodations clean and comfortable. Although we are located within Downtown and the Financial District which does becomes quiet in the evenings, allowing for a peaceful night’s sleep, we are within a 5 minute walk from Faneuil Hall and Quincy Market and the vibrant North End and Waterfront with its many restaurants, stores and bars. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham, Boston soon.

Sincerely,

Richard Bussiere
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed at The Langham for one night on business September 19, 2013. The hotel is beautiful, steeped in history and very well located, however, the price for accommodation at this level in many other world class cities (New York, Toronto, London - I've been to all) is about half of what the Langham charges. It was about $400 for one night, and breakfast (which was indeed tasty, but again, overpriced) was about $27. Boston overall has very expensive hotels - even a "standard" hotel like a Holiday Inn is over $200 and closer to the airport (not well located). I hope the next time I visit I'll be able to find a better value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear mefirstfitness,

Thank you for your feedback of your stay at The Langham, Boston. I am pleased to learn that you found our hotel beautiful and our hotel ideally located. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Richard Bussiere
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Boston

Address: 250 Franklin St, Boston, MA 02110
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Boston
#14 Family Hotel in Boston
#15 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#17 Green Hotel in Boston
#19 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#20 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Langham, Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a famous architectural landmark, The Langham, Boston offers a unique blend of history, charm and urban sophistication. The hotel is in Boston's financial district and within a 5 min walk to Faneuil Hall Marketplace. It is also steps away from the Boston Harbor, the North End, Boston's finest shopping district, major colleges and universities, theaters, and the Freedom Trail to name a few. The Langham, Boston is ideally located for both business and pleasure and offers three delectable dining options,the Reserve, a refined champagne lounge which serves a continental breakfast selection and offers dining from dawn until dusk with a menu featuring soups, salads and light entrees, along with beer, wine and champagne and the Langham's traditional British Tiffin Afternoon Tea. Bond is a premiere destination for cosmopolitan dining, cocktails and entertainment. Cafe Fleuri offers contemporary New England cuisine for full breakfast and Lunch (mon-fri)and our decadent Saturday Chocolate Bar and renowned Sunday Brunch. All guests at the Langham Hotel enjoy our signature Langham Turn Down service, plush robes and slippers, and full complimentary use of the fitness center and indoor heated pool and jacuzzi in our charming and intimate pool pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, BookIt.com, Splendia, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Langham, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Boston Hotel Boston
Langham Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.