We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Boston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, Boston to your Saves list
The Langham, Boston
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   250 Franklin St, Boston, MA 02110   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dining Credit- Free Wifi
Ranked #23 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
1,246 helpful votes 1,246 helpful votes
“Best location in the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for five nights in July 2013 in a deluxe room overlooking the park.

Check-in and out was quick and easy, the concierge staff were extremely helpful and the porters were always on hand to open doors and give a friendly welcome.

Our room was very large with a very comfortable ‘Langham Blissful Bed’, flat screen TV, plenty of storage space and two comfortable arm chairs. The bathroom was spotlessly clean, the shower was powerful and there were always a stack of soft towels. Our pre-arrival request for non-allergenic bedding had already been taken care of.

We didn’t eat in the hotel but did have a few drinks on a couple of occasions in Bond Lounge, which was well worth it just to be part of the opulence and history for a while.

The location is second to none – 5 minutes walk to Quincy Market, 5 minutes to Long Wharf, 10 minutes to the Common and the bottom of Newbury Street, 10 minutes to North End / Little Italy and 10 to the South Boston Bridge. A taxi to Logan International airport was 20 minutes tops and when it was time to leave we walked with our cases to the Alamo Car rental shop on Atlantic Avenue beside Long Wharf.

When in Boston we highly recommend: a day to Salem by boat; half a day exploring Cambridge and Harvard; half a day on the freedom trail; and plenty to eat and drink in the cool bars and restaurants in and around Quincy Market.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear luckystrike,

Thank you for your feedback of your stay with us at The Langham, Boston for five nights. I am delighted to read that you and your wife had a wonderful stay with us and especially loved our location within a 5 to 10 minutes’ walk from most attractions and sights. Thank you as well for complementing the friendly and helpful service you received from our colleagues. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham on your next visit to Boston.

Sincerely,

Richard Bussiere
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    822
    425
    113
    41
    29
See reviews for
254
567
51
328
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights at the Langham. We were a little dismayed that our room wasn't ready until almost 5:00pm, but other than this small glitch, our stay was wonderful. Everyone in the lobby is so helpful. If the concierge is busy, the bellman will try to assist you. Our room was very spacious. Nice linens and towels. Not that it is that important, but the Langham still puts chocolates on the bed at night. We had a newspaper at our door every morning and wi fi was included in our room rate. Nice touches are always appreciated. The hotel was quiet. It is convenient to Quincy Market, the North End and
south station. The bar on the second floor is gorgeous. Health club has nice equipment. There are always cabs available in front if you need to get somewhere not within walking distance. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear travilinmom1429,

Thank you for your review of your two night stay at The Langham, Boston during your visit to the city. I am delighted to read that despite your room not being ready for check in until 5:00pm, you had a wonderful and enjoyable stay. Our housekeeping department works hard to try and prepare all guest rooms for the check-in/arrival time, which begins at 3pm, however, especially with a fully committed hotel the prior night, this turnaround of rooms might result in a delay as in your experience. We are addressing this shortfall with the Front Office and Housekeeping team, to see how we are able to overcome this challenge in a fully committed hotel situation. In addition, I am pleased that you especially enjoyed the extra in room amenities as well as our location with walking distance to Quincy Market and the waterfront. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham, Boston in the near future.

Sincerely,

Richard Bussiere
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The man who trained Forrest Whitaker's character in The Butler must have trained the staff. They were ever so helpful but completely unobtrusive and not the least bit annoying. The location is central and right by the heritage trail. The building in the old Federal Reserve Bank was beautiful. The beds were the best. The Bond bar is almost otherworldly with skilled bartenders. We had a great time. The Priceline deal of $200.00 was reasonable. And we had none of the issues you sometimes do with Priceline. The WiFi is my only complaint. There is a charge to use it in the room. And it doesn't work so well. Also the internet connection for printing boarding passes in the business center didn't work.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear John N,

Thank you for your review of your stay at The Langham, Boston and your flattering comment regarding the service you received from our colleagues. I am delighted to read that you loved our Restaurant and Lounge BOND as well as our accommodations and location nearby the Heritage Trail. In reference to your comment on Wi-Fi, we do offer complimentary Wi-fi to our 1865 Frequent Guest Members, with any guest being eligible to sign up after their first stay with us as well as through several packages and special offers on our website. Additionally, we are in the process of reviewing our Internet and Wi-fi offer. Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham, Boston on your next visit to the city.

Sincerely,

Richard Bussiere
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stayed there on the night of my very own wedding which took place across the street from the Langham for convenience purposes and also because we wanted to splurge as newly weds. This happened to be a fantastic decision as this could very well be one of, if not the best hotel in Boston.

The staff is extremely friendly and attentive, and checking in a few hours early was a breeze. We ended up being upgraded to a suite, free of charge which was a nice gesture on their part, especially in the midst of a busy summer season but upon arriving, us newlyweds were quite exhausted and very much looking forward to getting some shut eye after a quick shower.

Having had checked in prior to our arrival in just a couple of minutes, we were able to walk right in and get settled in seconds and from the moment we stepped into the suite, we knew that we'd have a great overnight stay. The room was spacious and very tastefully decorated. The first room we stepped into very much was like a small lounge with a couch, a few chairs, a desk and a couple of coffee tables. We were a pile of delicious chocolates in a tiny bowl and a hallway which led to the bathroom and bedroom. Pretty standard stuff except for the fact that our windows overlooked the financial center and were at a 45 degree angle which was weird but absolutely awesome. The view was phenomenal, and we had a direct sight towards Post Office square. We decided to leave the blinds open which was a pretty good decision as the view really was amazing.

Now comes one question - How is the value? Hard to say in our case since we got way more than what we paid for but our stay was awesome and you can't really beat the location. You're just steps away from a few subway stops, and there's a permanent, long line of cabs in front of the Langham making everything very accessible. That being said, the nearby area dies down after 6PM forcing people to have to travel towards Fort Point or the Park Street area for more activity and bustle. Just something to keep in mind.

Room Tip: Book early, the hotel does a lot of business and does get busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Jeremy Krantz,

Congratulations and thank you for your review of your stay with us at The Langham, Boston for your Wedding. I am delighted that you and your wife had a memorable stay and enjoyed our accommodations and the view from your room onto Post Office Square Park. Furthermore, I am delighted that you found our location in downtown Boston and near to the public T stops ideal. Congratulations once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham, Boston in the near future.

Sincerely,

Richard Bussiere
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, USA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Located in the Financial District in Boston, this hotel is across the street from a nice, small park. Location is ideal if you need to be in Downtown (vs the Back Bay). Second stay in a year, both times room were very clean, amentites good, and room spacious. Staff very helpful; the concierge arranged a business dinner for 10 at a local restaurant that was quite excellen.t Two recommendations: checkout desk appeared to be understaffed on the morning of my departure, and Room Service breakfast, while excellent, is a bit overpriced. If you just want a bagel & oj, best to head out to the many local shops nearby with those items available.
This is definitely my hotel of choice for business travel to Boston.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Langham Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear mlh1234,

Thank you for your feedback of your stay at The Langham, Boston. I am delighted that your second stay with us met your expectations and you enjoyed our spacious and clean accommodations and in room amenities. Thank you as well for mentioning the helpful service you received from your colleagues. As an alternative to Room Service for Breakfast, we do offer a To Go Breakfast in our lobby lounge The Reserve which we have especially created for our Business guests to eat in or take with them. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham, Boston during your next visit.

Sincerely,

Richard Bussiere
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Langham is an excellent Boston hotel which is more than 150 years old. It is certainly modern in quality but classic in spirit. Langham’s décor and style are very unique – whimsical, Victorian, with elegant smile , I’d say. A small copy of classic edition of Alice in Wonderland you’ll find in your bedside drawer next to the Bible will probably illustrates this best.

The hotel is located in the heart of the city, not quite in the middle of action but within a moderate walking distance to North End, waterfront, Quincy Market, Boston Common, theaters etc; it is a $20 taxi ride away from the airport.

In our opinion, this resort is good for both romantic getaways and memorable family stays in Boston. It is not so good for you if you are looking for convenience budget lodging; however beware that such lodgings are not easy to come by in this part of the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear B_2NewHampshire,

Thank you for your review of your stay at The Langham during your visit to Boston. I am delighted to read that you had a memorable stay with us and enjoyed our accommodations and services, as well as our unique touch of whimsical with a copy of Alice in Wonderland. Thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham, Boston on your next visit to the city.

Sincerely,

Richard Bussiere
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Very comfortable bed, quiet room. When booking we had asked for a room on a high floor and we got one on the 4th with a dull view to an inner court (not a city view). Still, great location (you can go on foot nearly everywhere in central Boston) and good value for your money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Jamie M,

Thank you for your review of your stay at The Langham, Boston. I am disappointed to learn that we were unable to accommodate all of your room preferences during your stay, however I am happy that you found our accommodations comfortable and quiet. Additionally, I am glad that you found our location ideal and within walking distance of most sights and attractions in Boston. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Langham, Boston in the near future.

Sincerely,

Richard Bussiere
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Boston

Address: 250 Franklin St, Boston, MA 02110
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Boston
#13 Family Hotel in Boston
#15 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#17 Green Hotel in Boston
#19 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#20 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Langham, Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a famous architectural landmark, The Langham, Boston offers a unique blend of history, charm and urban sophistication. The hotel is in Boston's financial district and within a 5 min walk to Faneuil Hall Marketplace. It is also steps away from the Boston Harbor, the North End, Boston's finest shopping district, major colleges and universities, theaters, and the Freedom Trail to name a few. The Langham, Boston is ideally located for both business and pleasure and offers three delectable dining options,the Reserve, a refined champagne lounge which serves a continental breakfast selection and offers dining from dawn until dusk with a menu featuring soups, salads and light entrees, along with beer, wine and champagne and the Langham's traditional British Tiffin Afternoon Tea. Bond is a premiere destination for cosmopolitan dining, cocktails and entertainment. Cafe Fleuri offers contemporary New England cuisine for full breakfast and Lunch (mon-fri)and our decadent Saturday Chocolate Bar and renowned Sunday Brunch. All guests at the Langham Hotel enjoy our signature Langham Turn Down service, plush robes and slippers, and full complimentary use of the fitness center and indoor heated pool and jacuzzi in our charming and intimate pool pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, BookIt.com, Splendia, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Langham, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Boston Hotel Boston
Langham Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.