We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Hotel Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Boston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, Boston to your Saves list
The Langham, Boston
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   250 Franklin St, Boston, MA 02110   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 20% off!
Ranked #24 of 77 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Freeport, Maine
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The Perfect Hotel Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was my second stay at the Langham in Boston. Although it is in the financial district, it is a short walk to China Town and many other Boston attractions. It is luxurious, elegant and extremely comfortable. The staff is attentive and very professional. Our bed was amazingly comfortable with perfect pillows. We will be staying there again when we go to Boston.

Room Tip: The ninth floor is quiet, but when the hotel is full, the hot water isn't as hot as I like it to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Anne O,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Langham, Boston. I am delighted that you enjoyed your second stay with us and found our colleagues to be attentive and our accommodations elegant and comfortable. I thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham on your next visit to Boston.

Serge Denis
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    765
    408
    109
    40
    27
See reviews for
240
545
49
297
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Islip, NY
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

For our most recent trip to Boston, My Dearest decided to be a good corporate citizen (a/k/a sucker) and let the company travel office lodge us wherever they could get the best rate. Every instinct in me screamed that this was madness, but in a moment of weakness I let My Dearest’s silly wishes trump my hard-won instincts. The travel office installed us in the Langham, and my instincts were proven right.

First impressions were not good. The lobby at the Langham is a soulless expanse that reminded me, at least in spirit, of the waiting area at the Department of Motor Vehicles. The lobby lacks furnishings, décor, flowers, or any human touch whatsoever. Its perimeter is lined with a few ugly and uncomfortable chairs inhabited by hapless businessfolk balancing their laptops on their knees. People!! Were you asleep in Hotel Management 101 when the professor taught that a hotel lobby should be a comfortable and inviting location for people to meet, friends to gather, and guests to wait for their rooms or their rides? Or did you not show up for class that day?

What was probably a particularly dead space across from the lobby has been dressed up as a “new” champagne bar with chairs designed to give you back pain, tacky plastic chandeliers with sparkling white lights stolen from somebody’s Xmas tree, and a sad looking bar topped with bottles of champagne in ice buckets. During our entire stay I did not see a single person drink champagne there. No wonder. Apart from a Mormon Church, I cannot imagine a less inviting spot to quaff a flute of champagne!

Our room was small and cluttered with threadbare bits of cheap furniture. It lacked charm, taste, or any human touch. The closet was dingy and difficult to access. Still the room was, in its own crowded little way, functional: the bed was firm and comfortable and there was plenty of lighting.

The bathroom screamed Hampton Inn. Only one sink surrounded by a fake stone counter. An old bathtub with a Bath Fitter acrylic liner glued onto it. My mouth breathing daughter-in-law installed exactly the same thing when she renovated her bathrooms on the cheap. Just as it does at my daughter-in-law’s, the acrylic liner buckled when I stepped into the bath. The bathroom tiles were dated with visible gaps between them. Cheap taps and faucets. One of the tackiest plastic wastebins I have ever seen. Single ply toilet paper with fake quilting. On the plus side: (1) a functional illuminated make-up mirror; (2) a powerful hair dryer; and (3) an ample supply of towels. In politically correct Boston this is probably the only hotel without signs instructing you not to use hot water or towels when you bathe in order to save the polar bears.

To enhance the gloom in the bathroom were bars of black soap that grew a waxy gray film when they got wet. Eeeeeeewww!! The soap and the other product bore the label of Chuan Spa, which is part of the Langham Hospitality Group. So the hotel wants you to think they are giving you fancy spa product when in fact they are just giving you the house brand.

Many members of the hotel staff were superb. The gentleman who brought us room service meals was charming and efficient. Housekeeping responded promptly to my requests. The doormen were unfailingly helpful and polite. Whenever I handed them a small tip they paused to give me a sincere thank you. (My Dearest thought that the bowler hats on the doormen made them look like Laurel and Hardy, but I found the hats quite fetching!)

On the other hand the receptionist delayed our check in with needless chatter, issued us room keys that failed to work, and promised us daily newspapers that never arrived.

I sent My Dearest to the fitness center. He reported that, while small, it was spotlessly clean and well equipped and included a lap pool and Jacuzzi.

I planned to dislike Bond, the hotel’s main restaurant and cocktail bar. I am skeptical of restaurants that strive as hard as Bond does to broadcast that they are so much cooler than the rest of us. Every dollar dumped into the “Bond is So Hip” PR budget is a dollar less for the Bond food and drink budget. For once, my fears were misplaced. On a quiet night Bond is a pleasant spot for a drink and a light meal. The classic and creative cocktails are well crafted. The menu is eclectic with Asian, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, and New England touches. We are not talking Michelin star (or even Bobby Flay), but most of the food was enjoyable. Don’t tell the rabbi, but I recommend the lobster sliders. The service was attentive, courteous, and professional. The décor in Bond is garish and I fear that on a busy night the din would Roto Rooter the wax from My Dearest’s ears.

The Langham was not awful, but it fell well below my expectations. When My Dearest and I select hotels in the future, we will follow my instincts rather than his impulse to get philanthropic with his travel budget.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear tarrytown54,

Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay at The Langham, Boston. I am disappointed to read that your stay did not meet your expectations; however I am pleased to read that you found the service provided by our colleagues throughout the hotel to be “superb” and that you did enjoy your dinner at BOND, especially the lobster sliders. I thank you for your feedback.

Serge Denis
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The hotel prides itself on being a luxury hotel and it is. The staff is professional, the service is good. The rooms are nicely appointed. The bar is splashily decorated and the light dinner they provide is tasty. The breakfust buffet is also good. The only thing that is mediocre is the high tea. Though they use a teapot, the tea comes in a bag. The sandwiches were relatively tasteless. The scones, however were delicious. The only odd thing is that the surge protector installed to give business users extra plugs, at the nicely appointed desk, is plugged into a socket that goes off when you turn the main lights off so no charging while you sleep. You have to plug in everything on the other side of the room. A small point but a nuisance even for non business travelors. I actually had maintence change a bulb before I figured it out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear MEBesq,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at The Langham, Boston. We are delighted that you found our accommodations and services enjoyable. Regarding the Tea Service, we are proud to work with Harney & Sons Teas, which has developed a silk tea satchet that contains loose leaf tea. This is sometimes mistaken as a teabag, however we are delighted that you found our scones delicious. Thank you for your comment regarding the surge protector, our Engineering team is looking into this. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham Boston in the near future.

Serge Denis
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I made a last minute decision to stay here. I checked in late around 10:30pm. I didn't like the antics in the mostly empty lobby (which is very nicely decorated by the way). A man trying to check in with two women. Trampy women slinking around in an aimless way. Who knows what the deal was, but it did not sit well with me.

The room was a good size, but tired featuring that beige and cream wall paper that was common in upscale hotels in the 80s. The furniture was heavy and old. The bathroom was okay. Again, more 80s. The bed was really uncomfortable. I woke up with a sore back and I have a good strong back. I didn't linger in the morning. I checked out and showered when I got home later that morning as the tub/shower was not very inviting either.

Not what I'd call a luxury experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear JRBW1960,

Let me thank you for choosing The Langham on your recent trip to Boston. I am saddened to read about your disappointing experience while staying at our property. I would like to apologize for some of the shortfalls you encountered. I thank you again for your feedback and hope to welcome you back to The Langham on your next trip to Boston.

Serge Denis
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Just experienced The Langham for the first time, truly a memorable stay. This is a SOLID upscale hotel in Downtown Boston and an easy walk anywhere. The rooms are well appointed, the bath and towels are terrific and the pillows...I have to have them for my home now.
Everyone is cheery, helpful and not stuffy. We enjoyed the "chocolate bar" on Saturday (you had better like chocolate everything :)) it was nice with a DJ playing music. The Sunday Brunch is terrific, anything and everything you could want to eat. The Bond room is really elegant by day and I understand "hip" at night.
Will stay there again

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor overlooking the "post office park", quiet on the weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Pat R,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Langham, Boston. I am delighted to read that your first stay with us was a memorable experience and that you found our accommodations and services enjoyable, and our colleagues helpful. I have shared your comments regarding the Chocolate Bar and Sunday Brunch with the respective teams and am pleased that you found both terrific. On behalf of my colleagues and myself, we look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham on your next visit to Boston.

Serge Denis
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth uk.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Following a fantastic holiday in October 2012, that took us from Boston to Stowe in Vermont, we stayed at The Langham for our last night and day before flying back to the U.K.
We were upgraded at no extra cost and had a truly beautiful room, all the staff from the doorman, maids, front desk and management were a pleasure to speak with. Our only regret is that we could not stay for longer.
This was our first visit to Boston and we have fallen in love with all it has to offer, we will definitely return in the not too distant future.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear lynn3198,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us at The Langham, Boston in October 2012. I am delighted that you found your room beautiful and our colleagues a “pleasure to speak with”. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham for a longer stay on your next trip to Boston.

Serge Denis
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We have stayed here many times and we are never disappointed. It is a lovely hotel, well appointed rooms with well trained staff. It is sophisticated without being stuffy. It has a wonderful bar and restaurant as well. It has an excellent international feel with multilingual staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Langham Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear lilygirl2,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Langham, Boston. I am pleased to read that you continue to find our hotel lovely, our accommodations well appointed and our colleagues multilingual and well trained. I am delighted that you are returning guests and look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham on your next visit to Boston.

Serge Denis
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Boston

Address: 250 Franklin St, Boston, MA 02110
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Boston
#9 Family Hotel in Boston
#16 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#16 Green Hotel in Boston
#20 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#24 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Langham, Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a famous architectural landmark, The Langham, Boston offers a unique blend of history, charm and urban sophistication. The hotel is in Boston's financial district and within a 5 min walk to Faneuil Hall Marketplace. It is also steps away from the Boston Harbor, the North End, Boston's finest shopping district, major colleges and universities, theaters, and the Freedom Trail to name a few. The Langham, Boston is ideally located for both business and pleasure and offers three delectable dining options,the Reserve, a refined champagne lounge which serves a continental breakfast selection and offers dining from dawn until dusk with a menu featuring soups, salads and light entrees, along with beer, wine and champagne and the Langham's traditional British Tiffin Afternoon Tea. Bond is a premiere destination for cosmopolitan dining, cocktails and entertainment. Cafe Fleuri offers contemporary New England cuisine for full breakfast and Lunch (mon-fri)and our decadent Saturday Chocolate Bar and renowned Sunday Brunch. All guests at the Langham Hotel enjoy our signature Langham Turn Down service, plush robes and slippers, and full complimentary use of the fitness center and indoor heated pool and jacuzzi in our charming and intimate pool pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Langham, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Boston Hotel Boston
Langham Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.