We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel in Boston” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Boston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, Boston to your Saves list
The Langham, Boston
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   250 Franklin St, Boston, MA 02110   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 20% off!
Ranked #24 of 77 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“A very good hotel in Boston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I loved this hotel and very much appreciated the furniture and the beauty of it as well as a very set of attentive staff. In particular Yan Yan Chen the housekeeper was excellent and kept my room spotless every day.
The only thing that prevents me giving the highest rating to this hotel is the fact that the bathroom whilst super clean was quite small without a proper rainforest or walk in shower - I know many hotels in the US do not have that but I think an hotel charging over 250 bucks should have that to get an excellent rating. In addition i would expect room service to be 24 hours rather than till 11pm again for an excellent hotel, and I would also expect the internet to be better although the IT support were excellent.
Location is great, and there are always taxis outside. The tv is very good and i particularly appreciate the HBO plus additional HBO stations. room service was good, laundry was good, and the writing paper and pens etc were a delight as well as the books about the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    766
    408
    109
    40
    27
See reviews for
240
545
49
298
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tripoli, Libya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Hotel, is superb, very elegant, very well located, the services and the amenities are excellent. The staff very professional.
Due to its rank, the limousine courtesy services shall be taken into consideration and activated.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Langham Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincs
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here with friends for 4 nights in September and loved the hotel There is not much happening close to the hotel but it is only a ten minute or so walk to Faneiul marketplace, Freedom trail and Waterfront which was fine.
We had a superior room which was very comfortable although not very big and we appreciated the turndown service. We found the staff very polite and helpful especially the 2 housekeeping girls. We didnt use the bar or restaurant so cant comment on them. We were disappointed to find the Sunday Brunch was not on while we stayed as we had heard so many good reviews. The indoor pool was really appreciated we managed to have a quick swim before we set out each day, and we.used to walk down in our lovely fluffy dressing gowns.
I would recommend the 2 day hop on hop tour off if it is your first visit to Boston we did full tour one day including a harbour trip and then just stopped of where we fancied the second day, including trip to Harvard.
All in all it was a lovely stay and would stay again if the price was right.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We have finally found our fav boston hotel.
My first stay at Langham in Boston, also first Langham experience outside of Langham Place at PEK airport. Now, bsed on the PEK location, I had high expectations. The L Boston exceeded in everyway.

I arrived at 7am after a red eye back from LAX. It was raining and I could not get a cab from South Station. Yes in hind sight, should have taken a cab... I walked into theLangham drenched. Not only did they get me a towel before I checked in, they even moved things around to let give me access to my a room! at 7am! This was a conf week and hotel was full. THis allowed me to freshen up and change before going to my conference. Normally, this would not be possible in most hotels, and would not be a big deal, but considering I was wet from the rain, this was a big help to me...

I am a gateway member and member benefits were in the room when I got upstairs.

Location is very convenient for all. 25min walk to convention center. 7 min walk to Omni Parker House (boston common), Quincy market. 10-15min from South station and Childrens museum. Location is similar to Hilton downtown (2 blocks away), but rooms, service, overall much better than Hilton (seems to be a trend here, Langham beating similarly priced and located Hilton, just like PEK). Intercon location is closer to Childrens museum, but all other stes are about a wash, service and rooms similar, but Langham just feels much more at home.

My family drove up from RI to join me a common occurrence when I have a room in Boston. Check in was easy for them. Asked my wife which of the recent downtown hotels we stayed at in the past 2 months in Boston, no hesitation with Langham being the best. My for year old chose L Hotel vs I and H hotel.

Made a mistake with parking. Valet is $42, which is normal for Boston downtown. Tried to save a few $$ self parking next door. $40/day no tip. BUT, thei day ends at 5am. So in 2m, out 1pm next was 2 days $80. Bet Langham would have charged me just the $42 + tip. Wont make that mistake again...

Lobby bar is nice, great seating for business and leisure. Dessert selection is small, but delicious. prices were reasonable as well.

Already booked another room for after thanksgiving trip. Not oftendo we love a hotel, this on we love.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The Langham, Boston was an oasis of calm in an otherwise hectic (but fabulous) trip to Boston in late October. From the effortless check in to charmimg goodbye several days later this hotel was as luxurious and warmly comforting as the fluffy bathrobes provided in my room.
The room style is old world Parisian, spacious and with lots of thoughtful modern touches to make your stay easy and comfortable. I was there for a wedding and housekeeping helped out with all sorts of items I forgot - from cellotape and scissors; iPhone charger adaptors and teaching me to use the coffee machine; to an excellent dry cleaning service. Nothing was too much trouble.
Located in the heart of Boston's financial district, it would be perfect should you be visiting on business but also worked for me as a tourist. It is also close to Little Italy and Chinatown and within walking distance to the harbour and the Boston public gardens. The valet parking service is also cheaper than using any of the nearby parking garages so do take advantage of it if you have a car there (as I did).
I have stayed at a few hotels in Boston and The Langham is definitely the standout.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My recent stay at the Langham was simply great. The hotel is clean, sophisticated, well staffed and comfortable. I was there during Hurricane Sandy and the steps they took to keep the clients informed and taken care of was exceptional. Its located well in the financial district and they make great efforts to ensure you are getting everything you need. The rooms were very nicely appointed and the services throughout the day in the room were excellent. They leave notes about the next day's weather at the turn down service. The security in the lobby makes you feel very safe and welcomed.
I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed here for only one night on a weekend to Boston and although it's one of the pricier hotels I've stayed in recently, the service and facilities are amazing and if you want to spend a little extra cash, it definitely is a relaxing way to do so. The beds are VERY comfortable and the rooms have all those little extra bits and pieces you expect in a high-end hotel. Really close walking distance to anything you need. The Bond bar inside the hotel is a must for pre-dinner drinks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Boston

Address: 250 Franklin St, Boston, MA 02110
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Boston
#10 Family Hotel in Boston
#16 Green Hotel in Boston
#16 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#20 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#22 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Langham, Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a famous architectural landmark, The Langham, Boston offers a unique blend of history, charm and urban sophistication. The hotel is in Boston's financial district and within a 5 min walk to Faneuil Hall Marketplace. It is also steps away from the Boston Harbor, the North End, Boston's finest shopping district, major colleges and universities, theaters, and the Freedom Trail to name a few. The Langham, Boston is ideally located for both business and pleasure and offers three delectable dining options,the Reserve, a refined champagne lounge which serves a continental breakfast selection and offers dining from dawn until dusk with a menu featuring soups, salads and light entrees, along with beer, wine and champagne and the Langham's traditional British Tiffin Afternoon Tea. Bond is a premiere destination for cosmopolitan dining, cocktails and entertainment. Cafe Fleuri offers contemporary New England cuisine for full breakfast and Lunch (mon-fri)and our decadent Saturday Chocolate Bar and renowned Sunday Brunch. All guests at the Langham Hotel enjoy our signature Langham Turn Down service, plush robes and slippers, and full complimentary use of the fitness center and indoor heated pool and jacuzzi in our charming and intimate pool pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Langham, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Boston Hotel Boston
Langham Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.