We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Room but thats it.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Boston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, Boston to your Saves list
The Langham, Boston
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   250 Franklin St, Boston, MA 02110   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dining Credit- Free Wifi
Ranked #23 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Nashua, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Clean Room but thats it.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2008

Let me say this upfront: we got a room there for about a quarter of the normal price on Hotwire.com. For that price it was a perfect bargain.

If you are going to pay the going rate for this hotel I would go else where.

Your money will get you a clean room (a little bit small but hey it is Boston) and polite staff and that is it. Just about everything else costs extra. For a premium quality hotel I was surprised that they didn't offer free internet access, had a limited cable offering, and the prices for breakfast in your room were ridiculous ($23 for toast and juice? you're kidding me right?). You'd think for the rate of a premium hotel they might have have at least upgraded the soaps or something.

If you want to stay in Boston and are looking to splurge on a stay look for another premium brand, the Langham wasn't any better than any of the higher end chains that cater to the business traveler (minus the amenities).

  • Liked — Clean, basic room
  • Disliked — Excessive prices based on reputation and a lack of amenities
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    819
    425
    112
    41
    29
See reviews for
254
564
51
327
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cape cod
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2008

My husband and I stayed here overnight and we were very pleased. The hotel is beautiful and the service is wonderful. We were so impressed by the nightly turn down service we left an extra tip for that specific maid. I expected the bed to be turned down from other reviews but what i did not expect was our clothes to be picked up and folded, my curling iron to be wrapped up and robes and slippers put out. They just went above and beyond, it was very nice. I do think some things there are a overpriced $14 Martini's (although there are 100 to choose from and very good) the dining room menu's are very overpriced especially for breakfast/room service, two eggs and juice were outrageslouly priced at around $29. Overall the rooms are clean and beds are extremely comfortable. Would highly recommend.....

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Pool was closed for refurbish
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
532 reviews 532 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 155 cities Reviews in 155 cities
531 helpful votes 531 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2008

I stayed here with a girlfriend during the summer and really liked this hotel. It sits directly in downtown Boston's financial district and if you catch this area on a weekend it is a ghost town. It is close to all the hot spots of Boston including blocks away from famous Quincy Market, the waterfront and the Boston Common. All within walking distance. The interior is very nice with upscale lobby and very nice restaurants. One of these restaurants has a Saturday afternoon chocolate bar and for thirty five dollars you can eat all sort of chocolate samples. The staff is nice although seemed a bit snobby for my taste. The check in process was painless, but in asking for help they acted disturbed. The rooms were very nice with a nice bathroom and very spacious. Seeing that this place is close by to everything, I would highly recommend it. Bring your wallet though, it is not the cheapest place in the city to stay.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2008

Stayed at Langham for a meeting. A conveniently located hotel, very well kept, nice staff. Room clean and QUIET! Helpful staff. Easy walk to AMTRAK which is nice. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2008

The location of the Langham is just perfect to get around and about in the city and is within 5-10 mins walk of Quincy market. Our deluxe room was located on one of the higher floors and was very spacious, it was clean and turn down was done every night, the slippers and the dressing gowns were handy for the visits to the pool which was well maintained, it was lovely to relax with some complimentary refreshments around the pool and then make use of the Jacuzzi, we didn’t venture to the gym!
The staff were really helpful throughout the hotel and in particular the concierge team really went out of their way to help and came up with some very good recommendations for Breakfast and Dinner. We had breakfast at the hotel on our last day and it was excellent. The Langham has a lovely atmosphere and is steeped in history, it is elegant and luxurious without being pretentious, and we really enjoyed the piano bar for cocktails where the staff were attentive whilst letting us relax and take in the surroundings. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malahide, County Dublin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2008

We stayed for 3 nights from 10 - 13th January 2008. What a lovely hotel. We arrived late on Thursday night. Check-In was swift and efficient. We were on the 8th Floor in a Double Superior Room. After we settled into our lovely room we went to the cocktail bar for drinks and something to eat. It was lovely. We returned on 2 other occasions. We were served by Nancy - a lovely lady who has been working in this hotel for 20+ years. Her knowledge of the history of the hotel and interest in her job was outstanding and it is people like Nancy that make this hotel a very personal experience. We had breakfast in the restaurant on 2 mornings. It is in a quiet location but within walking distance of most attractions. If you are staying in the hotel on a Sunday make sure to book your table for the Sunday Jazz Brunch. It is amazing - Oh My God - what a selection of top class food. We will definitely return to this hotel in the future.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, beds
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Haven, New Jersey
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2008

I have stayed at this hotel several times for business. My office is a short walk away so the location is very convenient.

The rooms are very nice - a tad small but clean and well-appointed. Room service menu is very good, as are the restaurants and the bar.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Boston

Address: 250 Franklin St, Boston, MA 02110
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Boston
#14 Family Hotel in Boston
#15 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#17 Green Hotel in Boston
#19 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#20 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Langham, Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a famous architectural landmark, The Langham, Boston offers a unique blend of history, charm and urban sophistication. The hotel is in Boston's financial district and within a 5 min walk to Faneuil Hall Marketplace. It is also steps away from the Boston Harbor, the North End, Boston's finest shopping district, major colleges and universities, theaters, and the Freedom Trail to name a few. The Langham, Boston is ideally located for both business and pleasure and offers three delectable dining options,the Reserve, a refined champagne lounge which serves a continental breakfast selection and offers dining from dawn until dusk with a menu featuring soups, salads and light entrees, along with beer, wine and champagne and the Langham's traditional British Tiffin Afternoon Tea. Bond is a premiere destination for cosmopolitan dining, cocktails and entertainment. Cafe Fleuri offers contemporary New England cuisine for full breakfast and Lunch (mon-fri)and our decadent Saturday Chocolate Bar and renowned Sunday Brunch. All guests at the Langham Hotel enjoy our signature Langham Turn Down service, plush robes and slippers, and full complimentary use of the fitness center and indoor heated pool and jacuzzi in our charming and intimate pool pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, BookIt.com, Splendia, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Langham, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Boston Hotel Boston
Langham Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.