We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent for what you pay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greater Boston YMCA

Greater Boston YMCA
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Greater Boston YMCA
Save Saved
You added Greater Boston YMCA to your Saves list
316 Huntington Ave, Boston, MA 02115   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Boston
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Decent for what you pay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

When we first arrived it reminds you like a school/college - there's wooden floor boards everywhere, a tiny jail like elevator and the decor is very bland. The room we got given was a great room, very spacious with separated rooms inside for four people. However, our friends were also in a room for four people, and theirs was a box - so it's luck of the draw! For what we paid, it was decent accomodation and did the job. The people on the front desk were very helpful and always cheery. Would stay here again.
Pros: safe area, nice room, friendly staff
Cons: no breakfast, location (it's slightly out the way - but the subway makes it very easy to get to)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    11
    3
    10
See reviews for
Families
0
4
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Island
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

No air con but you rent a fan for a deposit. The bed had a plastic covering, not very comfortable either. Quite noisy and a bit far out. But there is a train station near by. Personally I would pay more and stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The room is tiny, and the only window we had was scary to use.
the bathroom are awful and crowded.
the atmosphere is nagitive. It isnt so close to anywhere in the city.

We left a day ahead of plan. just dont go there.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is very much a hostel, not a cheap hotel by any means. BUT, if a hostel with private rooms is what you're after - great! It's very clean, staff are friendly and it's well located. We booked a twin room and it was basically a single room with bunk beds. It is a little bit dated and the rooms are quite hot, but again, you're not paying hotel rates, you're paying hostel rates. Bathrooms are clean and functional, albeit communal. Always had hot water available for showers on the floor we were staying.

Generally it makes a great base for seeing Boston - 5 minutes walk has you in the prudential centre, 1 minute has you at the nearest T (northeastern university).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koblenz, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I stayed at the YMCA for 3 nights and I have to say that it is not as bad as lot of people write and say.

My friend and I shared a room with a bunk bed. There was no Air Conditioner in the room wich was quite awful because it was very hot and stuffy. But we got a fan at the reception and after that it got better.
You share a bathroom with the other people living on your floor but the facilities are very clean (and yes the have warm water!).
The location is just prefect! The Northeastern T-Station is just a few steps away from the Hostel and you get a 10% off at the Dunkin Donuts on the opposite site of the street.
You have a free internet accsses in the Lobby and can use the Health&Welness center.
No it is not the Hilton but for a short trip it is very suitable: Close to the Center, not expensive, Clean, Friendly.
We would both recommend it but think of the fan in the summer!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

The building is quite old (I am not sure but it might have been the first YMCA in the US). Therefore you can't expect too much. Our room was small and very basic, but clean. However, it reminds more to a prison cell than to a hostel. If this doesn't matter because you do not plan to spend much time in the room it is OK.
The staff is very friendly and the location central enough to walk everywhere. Also you can take the subway.
You need to have a LAN-cable to access the internet. If you do not have it you can get it in a market across the street (8 $). With the cable the internet access is fast.
Important to know: No parking provided and parking in Boston is expensive!

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

The location is great. But you might not want to stay here, it's $50 a night and only cold showers on the floor where you actually sleep. You can use the gym to have a hot shower, but that's where the roaches come up through the drains. There are other places to stay on Huntington Ave.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Greater Boston YMCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greater Boston YMCA

Address: 316 Huntington Ave, Boston, MA 02115
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 180
Also Known As:
Greater Boston Ymca Hotel Boston
Ymca Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greater Boston YMCA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.