We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a bad exprience!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Greater Boston YMCA

Save Saved
You added Greater Boston YMCA to your Saves list
Greater Boston YMCA
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Greater Boston YMCA
316 Huntington Ave, Boston, MA 02115   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 14 Specialty lodging in Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“a bad exprience!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The room is tiny, and the only window we had was scary to use.
the bathroom are awful and crowded.
the atmosphere is nagitive. It isnt so close to anywhere in the city.

We left a day ahead of plan. just dont go there.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    11
    3
    10
See reviews for
Families
0
4
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is very much a hostel, not a cheap hotel by any means. BUT, if a hostel with private rooms is what you're after - great! It's very clean, staff are friendly and it's well located. We booked a twin room and it was basically a single room with bunk beds. It is a little bit dated and the rooms are quite hot, but again, you're not paying hotel rates, you're paying hostel rates. Bathrooms are clean and functional, albeit communal. Always had hot water available for showers on the floor we were staying.

Generally it makes a great base for seeing Boston - 5 minutes walk has you in the prudential centre, 1 minute has you at the nearest T (northeastern university).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koblenz, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I stayed at the YMCA for 3 nights and I have to say that it is not as bad as lot of people write and say.

My friend and I shared a room with a bunk bed. There was no Air Conditioner in the room wich was quite awful because it was very hot and stuffy. But we got a fan at the reception and after that it got better.
You share a bathroom with the other people living on your floor but the facilities are very clean (and yes the have warm water!).
The location is just prefect! The Northeastern T-Station is just a few steps away from the Hostel and you get a 10% off at the Dunkin Donuts on the opposite site of the street.
You have a free internet accsses in the Lobby and can use the Health&Welness center.
No it is not the Hilton but for a short trip it is very suitable: Close to the Center, not expensive, Clean, Friendly.
We would both recommend it but think of the fan in the summer!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

The building is quite old (I am not sure but it might have been the first YMCA in the US). Therefore you can't expect too much. Our room was small and very basic, but clean. However, it reminds more to a prison cell than to a hostel. If this doesn't matter because you do not plan to spend much time in the room it is OK.
The staff is very friendly and the location central enough to walk everywhere. Also you can take the subway.
You need to have a LAN-cable to access the internet. If you do not have it you can get it in a market across the street (8 $). With the cable the internet access is fast.
Important to know: No parking provided and parking in Boston is expensive!

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

The location is great. But you might not want to stay here, it's $50 a night and only cold showers on the floor where you actually sleep. You can use the gym to have a hot shower, but that's where the roaches come up through the drains. There are other places to stay on Huntington Ave.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Location is great.
Room was very hot (no a/c, or even a fan). No wireless internet but internet connection was possible with cable (reception didn't advise us). Lot of rules (no alcoholic drinks).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usk, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

I stayed here with friends for a couple of nights two weeks ago. Our room was narrow but decent with comfy beds and a desk and a chest of draws. It was clean as were the bathroom facilities which were pretty good. The staff were friendly and helpful. This place does not have a 'hostel' atmosphere simply because it isn't a hostel! It's more like uni dorms. I feel we got our money's worth.

What I liked about the place was that:
- It was close to the attractions.
-In a safe area and each room you could lock. Most of the people we encountered in the hallway were also students - saw no dodgy characters.
- You get free access to the health centre which has a large, well equipped gym and a 25 metre pool.

What I disliked:
-There were only 3 computers which got very busy and no wifi.

Overall, though, a very good stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Greater Boston YMCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greater Boston YMCA

Address: 316 Huntington Ave, Boston, MA 02115
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Specialty lodging in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Greater Boston YMCA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greater Boston Ymca Hotel Boston
Ymca Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greater Boston YMCA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.