We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Gem of a Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lenox Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Lenox Hotel to your Saves list
Lenox Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   61 Exeter Street at Boylston, Boston, MA 02116-2699 (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 77 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
ireland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“What a Gem of a Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

Just back from Boston where we stayed for 6 nights in the Lenox Hotel and what a delight of a HOTEL IT IS. Our check in was so quick and we were in our room in less than 10 mins after arriving at hotel. As we were celebrating our anniversary they provided us with a beautiful bottle of wine and chocolates. Our room was cleaned daily and towel changed if required. A turn down services in the evening with chocolates and daily water.
There are 2 bars located at the hotel City Bar and Solas we did have food and drink in Solas and was very enjoyable. What stands out for me at this hotel are the staff nothing is too much for them and they are so polite at all times. We had friends with us and decided to take the train to New York we had an early start and did not get back till midnight when we arrived back to our room there was a hamper of goodies of crisps peanuts choc bars etc and a beautiful card from the staff hoping that we had a great day in NY and as we would be arriving back late and might be feeling a bit hungry they hoped there goodies would be of value to us. What a services and the only reason they knew about our day trip was that we spoke to the night porter and told him where we were going as we had left the hotel that morning at 5.45am. I can't say enough about this hotel and all GOOD. We are looking forward to a return trip to the Lenox soon. Thank You again for just making our trip so special.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,800
    490
    104
    44
    19
See reviews for
600
955
139
364
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

We stayed at The Lenox at the end of September 2010. We had a corner suite which was lovely and had a great view. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the staff were great; really friendly and helpful. The hotel is in Back Bay area and is a great base from which to explore the city. It's also a great area with loads of good restaurants and shopping. Thoroughly recommend this hotel and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

The Lenox Hotel is a great place to stay while in Boston. The hotel is in a great location, walking distance to Newbury Street and Copley Square. The service is the best, the rooms are very clean and the staff is very polite. The staff is there to assist you immediately and enjoys helping you. I would recommend this hotel to friends, family and co-workers for leisure and business.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pell City, Alabama
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

I was booked at this hotel as the hotel where I was booked overbokked and moved me to the Lenox. I could not have been happier! What a treat. Great room, excellent front desk service in checking in and checking out. I believe this was one of the best hotel experiences I have had in the US in a very long time.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, CA
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

My wife and I have stayed at the Lenox in the past, and we have always enjoyed it. But now (October, 2010) they seem to have new owners and the hotel is even better than earlier. The staff is extremely helpful and courteous, the rooms are beautifully maintained, and the restaurant is excellent. WE could not have been happier.

The location of the Lenox is excellent, because it is out of the main commercial districts of Boston. For a vacation experience, we would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

Just returned from 4 day stay @ The Lenox in Boston. Best hotel I've stayed at in a long time. Staff was beyond courteous, helpful, and friendly- every single one of them. Got a room upgrade for having to wait a little longer for the room to be ready without even asking. Expected to have to pay extra for a bottle of wine and snack basket I asked for ahead of time to celebrate 10th wedding anniversary and they did not charge me for it. Rooms very clean and nice. Great location for shopping on Newbury. Hotel Irish pub Solas was really good as well. Would go back again and again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

Four of us from 3 different states met for a quick girls’ overnight getaway to see “Wicked” and spend some time catching up in Boston. From the minute we arrived, we felt as if we were the only guests. Since it was still mid morning when we met in the hotel lobby, the front desk person cheerfully offered to safeguard our travel bags until we returned later for check in. Within what seemed only a moment, the bags were officially tagged and efficiently whisked away – only to reappear later at our rooms at the same time we did.

Our corner rooms were spacious, beautiful, quiet and immaculate. The décor is plush, but not overly so, giving the rooms an elegant but still cozy feel. The beds were extremely comfortable and luxurious. We had a nice view and plenty of daylight from our windows on both sides. The hallways are pleasantly decorated and exceptionally wide – no claustrophobia here!

The already positive atmosphere was further enhanced by amenities such as complimentary bottled water in the room, 24 hr room service, extra special toiletries in the bathroom, and turn down service complete with chocolates on the pillow. The coffee and pastry we ordered the night before arrived at our rooms in the morning fresh, and right on time.

The Lenox staff is a large team of congenial and very professional people who obviously take extreme pride in the quality of services they provide. This was evident by their stellar appearance and in everything they said and did. Their knowledge of the Boston area is extensive, and they will assist with any plans you may wish to make. Our extra special thanks go out to Cody. Without his kind assistance, our weekend wouldn’t have been nearly as wonderful. Cody, you are our hero!

A final note: AFTER checking out the next day, The Lenox again seemed delighted to check our bags and hold them indefinitely while we wandered about Boston until our departure times – an invaluable and unexpected service.

We cannot wait to make another visit to The Lenox!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lenox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lenox Hotel

Address: 61 Exeter Street at Boylston, Boston, MA 02116-2699
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#4 Family Hotel in Boston
#7 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lenox Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a hallmark Back Bay location, The Lenox is a family-owned, boutique hotel that expertly melds its century-old story with modern, luxurious accommodations. Priding itself on personalized, friendly service, The Lenox is situated steps from Copley Square - the perfect location for both business travelers and vacationers seeking an exceptional hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Lenox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenox Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lenox Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.