We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved This Hotel!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lenox Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lenox Hotel to your Saves list
Lenox Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   61 Exeter Street at Boylston, Boston, MA 02116-2699 (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 77 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Ormond Beach, Fl.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Loved This Hotel!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2007

Arrived at the Lenox and was given a room upgrade. The room was wonderful, the bathroom large, the beds very comfortable.
The staff and the front desk were so helpful. The bellman courteous and helpful.
I was staying at the Lenox for just one night as my original reservation was for the Eliot, but they had no room that first night. So I stayed at the Lenox and wished I had never left. I checked into the Eliot the next day as I had a reservation there because it is closer to The Boston Conservatory.
Next time, I'll stay at the Lenox the entire time.
Better deal, bigger room, better staff, great bars.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,799
    489
    104
    44
    19
See reviews for
599
955
139
364
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2007

I stayed for 2 nights at the Lenox in Boston. The staff were great and I loved it there. The room was very large, nice furnishings and even had a working fireplace! If you call them prior to 11pm they will bring up the wood for you and light a fire.

Room - see pictures. very spacious, large closet, good size bathroom for US. Bed was king size. Bedding was very nice.

Security - doormen always on duty. no problems.

Room Service - had a breakfast of fruit plate and toast and very ample portions. Very prompt. None of their entrees are vegetarian - even the pasta is made with chicken stock.

Bath - see pics. Aveda tolietries - good selection. 2 bathrobes in closet.

Internet: Free wireless internet available in the room.

Environment - very green hotel. recycle paper, plastic bottles, cans. change the sheets every 3rd day of your visit unless you put a card on the bed, requesting otherwise. As a vegan this was very nice to see.

Shopping - right next door to Lord & Taylors. Also next to a couple of large shopping malls. Just a short walk / taxi to Boston Commons.

Taxi - a bit hard hailing a cab at 9am but the doormen were great chasing one down for us.

Would be very happy to stay here again.

  • Liked — Service, spacious room
  • Disliked — No vegetarian entree on room service menu
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2007

As soon as I arrived at the Lenox, I was treated exceptionally well. The staff were happy and helpful.
The hotel itself was beautiful and my room which was an executive double, was lush and extremely spacious.
I stayed there for 2 nights and ate in both of the restaurants.
On checking out, they let me use the main desk computer so I could check in for my flight online.
I would definately stay there again.

  • Liked — It was luxurious and a perfect way to end my trip
  • Tips/Secrets — If you can afford it, stay in an executive room or above - they're gorgeous
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2006

Stayed there for a night, and enjoyed hotel and the location. Walking distance to all the key places to visit in the city and the subway is a block away for the others.

Stayed November 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2006

Bostn hotels are implasuably expensive. The Lenox has a certain charm, the rooms are small but nicely done. Really central location. A better bet forthe money that the Marriot or Sheraton. If I go back on business I'll stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2004, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2006

When I was living in Boston as a college student almost two decades ago, I never really noticed the Lenox at the corner of Boylston and Exeter, even though I lived just 5 minutes away (on foot) from it. It is a rather low key property.

During this last trip, after reading a Fodor's review, I decided to stray from the safer choices of Ritz-Carlton and Fourseasons, to try out this low-key, "charming", historic property.

Indeed, the hotel is architecturally nostalgically charming, but it isn't in tip top physical condition. As a previous reviewer has noted, the hotel is "a little faded".

What was most unimpressive, however, was the service. Almost all of the hotel's staff seem to hate their jobs; they rarely smiled. While they weren't particularly rude, their service attitude was grouchy at best and weren't particularly helpful when asked for travel advice and/or recommendations. The doormen's daily dose of "smart" comments were also particularly annoying.

On the morning of the second day of our stay, we spilled some moisturizing lotion on the bedcover. We left the soiled part of the bedcover face up on the floor next to the bed. When we returned that evening, we found that the chambermaid hadn't cleaned the lotion off of the bedcover and had simply put the bedcover on the bed face down, with the lotion now soiling the sheets. This was particularly disturbing.

Lenox also goes overboard with its "environmental activism". It encourages guests, to the point of almost forcing it on them, not to change bath towels or bedsheets daily, in the interest of saving the environment. Bed sheets are changed once in 3 days, but guests are not informed beforehand. I only found out on the last day of my 3-night stay when I found a card hidden in a bedside table drawer telling guests that the Lenox is concerned about the environment and would only change sheets once in 3 days, unless requested otherwise.

Guests should be notified of this when they check in, not through a card hidden in a drawer. All this environmental activism seems more like a ploy to reduce operating costs to me. It's a real shame that they have to use the mask of environmental activism to achieve this.

One more tip for those who rent/bring cars with them: while car valet at the Lenox is free during the day, the hotel charges $38 for overnight parking. There are several car garages in the vicinity that charges less than half that for overnight parking. Otherwise, if you are an early riser, just park overnight in the streets for FREE. However, travelers should note when street cleaning days are, during which days, parking between 6am and 8am are not allowed. Also, FREE street parking ends daily at 8am Mon-Sat, so you would either have to move your car and valet it for free at the Lenox, or feed the parking meters.

My recommendation: stay at some other hotel while in Boston. For a truly charming historic hotel, with great service, if budget is not an issue, try the Ritz-Carlton in Newburry St would be my top choice. Another Boston hotel with great service: Fourseasons Boston. If looking for a hotel in the vicinity of the Lenox, try Marriott or Westin at Copley. For a less expensive alternative in the vicinity, try the Colonnade in Huntington Ave.

  • Liked — Convenient location
  • Disliked — Service!!
  • Tips/Secrets — Take your business somewhere else.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2006

We stayed at The Lenox for 4 nights at the end of October.
Hotel accommodation in Boston is relatively scarce and therefore not great value compared to other cities which we would say is the case for The Lenox too.
The hotel was clearly very beautiful once, but has been allowed to fade a little as the decor is now dated and a little tired. There are no coffee-making facilities in the room, nor a mini-bar/fridge.
Nevertheless, we enjoyed our stay here. The hotel was clean, the room was a good size with two double beds, the bathroom was nice with fresh flowers. The location is fantastic - Back Bay is definitely the place to stay in Boston.
Breakfast seemed expensive so we ate out in Boston - which is recommended - plenty of choice at a range of prices.
Regarding restaurants/bars in the hotel: we didn't try Azure; City Bar is okay but there are better places in Boston; we ate in Solas (Irish Bar) on our first night as it was convenient after our flight was delayed and we arrived quite late - it was fine and the food was good.
We never used the concierge service as we couldn't get to speak to them as others have mentioned below. We found the front desk helpful though - when we arrived we were allocated a room on the 3rd floor, when there was a wedding reception on the 2nd floor. It was extremely noisy but we requested to change and they sent someone up straight away to give us a new room.
Overall, a good hotel and we would stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No coffee-making facitilies/$4.50 for bottled water in the room (unrefrigerated)
  • Tips/Secrets — Avoid the 3rd floor - especially over weekends!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lenox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lenox Hotel

Address: 61 Exeter Street at Boylston, Boston, MA 02116-2699
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Boston
#4 Family Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#7 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lenox Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a hallmark Back Bay location, The Lenox is a family-owned, boutique hotel that expertly melds its century-old story with modern, luxurious accommodations. Priding itself on personalized, friendly service, The Lenox is situated steps from Copley Square - the perfect location for both business travelers and vacationers seeking an exceptional hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Lenox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenox Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lenox Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.