We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the Lenox” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lenox Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Lenox Hotel to your Saves list
The Lenox Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   61 Exeter Street at Boylston, Boston, MA 02116-2699 (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 77 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great stay at the Lenox”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed here three years ago, and it was every bit as enjoyable this time! Every staff member is friendly, professional, and genuinely happy to help. They go out of their way to provide great service. Our junior suite was very spacious, clean, quiet and comfortable for our family of four. We had breakfast in the restaurant a couple of mornings, and the service was friendly and efficient. The location is perfect. Definitely a gem of a hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,739
    471
    101
    44
    18
See reviews for
580
928
134
350
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I love the Lenox Hotel. It's a gorgeous, historical building in a GREAT location. I stayed here 14 years ago and it was just as wonderful this go around. My family of 5 stayed in a queen/queen executive suite w/ a fireplace and pull out sofa. Plenty of room. Although I was hoping for a view of Bolyston, I didn't specifically request one, and I should have. Our "view" was abysmal (my only complaint). Our room was not ready, but we did get a phone call as promised at 5:15pm when it was ready. They happily stored our bags.

The staff, concierge, housekeeping and doorman were so pleasant and professional. They offer turn down service every night (which we declined) BUT we gladly accepted the Lindt truffles they offered. DH happened to ask the housekeeper if she had a white chocolate one, which she didn't. A few hours later, they delivered a bag of chocolates, white included! It's those special touches that makes the Lenox Hotel a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We flew on the red eye across the country and arrived at the hotel at about 7 am assuming we would be way to early to check in but planning to at least drop off our bags. Not only did they let us check in to an available room but they upgraded us to a fantastic fireplace room. The room was big and roomy and clean and was the perfect place to rest after a long journey. This made such a great start to our trip :)
We had mentioned that this was our last trip before our baby comes and after dinner on our first night we returned to the room to find a sweet baby gift. It was such a nice touch.
We loved the clean, modern but comfortable decor, the location, the staff and everything about this hotel. If we return to Boston, we wouldn't bother looking to stay anywhere else.
Tip: Look into the Massport Back Bay shuttle to and from the airport. It's frequent and easy and it's stop is super close but there's not a lot of information out there on it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

If our 18th century shenanigans weren't enough of a source of shame, when asked at check-in by the delightful Erin yesterday, what she was most looking forward to during our New England adventure, my daughter replied "Ben & Jerry's".

So it really is quite extraordinary to return after a hard day's sight-seeing this evening to find a lovely note and two big tubs of ice cream waiting for us.

I would say they've set the bar too high for the rest of our trip but thankfully we'll be back for another two nights before returning home.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport on Tay Scotland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Have visited Boston nearly 15 times now and we always stay at the Lenox. We arrived early from New York and checked in, we didn't expect to be able to get into our room until after 3pm but they very kindly said that they had a room available and we could get it straight away at 9am which was great. We were able to unpack get freshened up and then get going. The staff are so friendly and helpful, the rooms are beautifully appointed and the beds are super comfy. Hotel is near everything especially Newbury Street, Prudential and Copley Malls if you want to shop. Easy walk to the park and the common and you can get a Duck Tour just behind Shaws supermarket a couple of minutes walk away. We had dinner in Solas bar which is part of the hotel, food is great especially the fish and chips. Sad to leave but will be back in November with my mum and daughter for our 3 Gens trip - can't wait.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Lovely hotel centrally located near shops, restaurants, and parks. Super clean, extremely friendly, excellent service, great location, what more can I say? Check in was fast and we got a complimentary upgrade to a King suite with a street view when I asked if a room with a view was available. A few minutes after arriving in our room, we received a call from the desk asking if everything in our room was satisfactory. Needless to say, everything was superb! The Lenox just provides exemplary service at all levels. After a hot day out in Boston, walking into the lobby is like transferring yourself into a cool, calm oasis of elegance!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

From the moment my family arrived, we felt like part of the Lenox Family. Within minutes of our warm welcome at the front desk, the Bellman had a stuffed Lenox Lion for our little one. Once we arrived in our room, within 10 minutes they were delivering a bottle of wine and a childrens book. We haven't received a welcome like this at a hotel...probably ever. Great hotel, great location, no way I would stay anywhere else in Boston when we go again. The Lenox is the place to be!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lenox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lenox Hotel

Address: 61 Exeter Street at Boylston, Boston, MA 02116-2699
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Boston
#4 Family Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#7 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lenox Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For more than a century, the Lenox has exemplified the quiet, classic elegance of a Boston landmark. Recently renovated, the hotel offers the full range of services for business and leisure travelers, all in the heart of Boston's Copley Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Jetsetter, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Amex, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Lenox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenox Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lenox Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.