We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lenox Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lenox Hotel to your Saves list
Lenox Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   61 Exeter Street at Boylston, Boston, MA 02116-2699 (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Orlando
Level Contributor
129 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I love the Lenox Hotel. It's a gorgeous, historical building in a GREAT location. I stayed here 14 years ago and it was just as wonderful this go around. My family of 5 stayed in a queen/queen executive suite w/ a fireplace and pull out sofa. Plenty of room. Although I was hoping for a view of Bolyston, I didn't specifically request one, and I should have. Our "view" was abysmal (my only complaint). Our room was not ready, but we did get a phone call as promised at 5:15pm when it was ready. They happily stored our bags.

The staff, concierge, housekeeping and doorman were so pleasant and professional. They offer turn down service every night (which we declined) BUT we gladly accepted the Lindt truffles they offered. DH happened to ask the housekeeper if she had a white chocolate one, which she didn't. A few hours later, they delivered a bag of chocolates, white included! It's those special touches that makes the Lenox Hotel a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank klpsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
San Diego
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We flew on the red eye across the country and arrived at the hotel at about 7 am assuming we would be way to early to check in but planning to at least drop off our bags. Not only did they let us check in to an available room but they upgraded us to a fantastic fireplace room. The room was big and roomy and clean and was the perfect place to rest after a long journey. This made such a great start to our trip :)
We had mentioned that this was our last trip before our baby comes and after dinner on our first night we returned to the room to find a sweet baby gift. It was such a nice touch.
We loved the clean, modern but comfortable decor, the location, the staff and everything about this hotel. If we return to Boston, we wouldn't bother looking to stay anywhere else.
Tip: Look into the Massport Back Bay shuttle to and from the airport. It's frequent and easy and it's stop is super close but there's not a lot of information out there on it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SDgeeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

If our 18th century shenanigans weren't enough of a source of shame, when asked at check-in by the delightful Erin yesterday, what she was most looking forward to during our New England adventure, my daughter replied "Ben & Jerry's".

So it really is quite extraordinary to return after a hard day's sight-seeing this evening to find a lovely note and two big tubs of ice cream waiting for us.

I would say they've set the bar too high for the rest of our trip but thankfully we'll be back for another two nights before returning home.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hildenbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport on Tay Scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Have visited Boston nearly 15 times now and we always stay at the Lenox. We arrived early from New York and checked in, we didn't expect to be able to get into our room until after 3pm but they very kindly said that they had a room available and we could get it straight away at 9am which was great. We were able to unpack get freshened up and then get going. The staff are so friendly and helpful, the rooms are beautifully appointed and the beds are super comfy. Hotel is near everything especially Newbury Street, Prudential and Copley Malls if you want to shop. Easy walk to the park and the common and you can get a Duck Tour just behind Shaws supermarket a couple of minutes walk away. We had dinner in Solas bar which is part of the hotel, food is great especially the fish and chips. Sad to leave but will be back in November with my mum and daughter for our 3 Gens trip - can't wait.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Lovely hotel centrally located near shops, restaurants, and parks. Super clean, extremely friendly, excellent service, great location, what more can I say? Check in was fast and we got a complimentary upgrade to a King suite with a street view when I asked if a room with a view was available. A few minutes after arriving in our room, we received a call from the desk asking if everything in our room was satisfactory. Needless to say, everything was superb! The Lenox just provides exemplary service at all levels. After a hot day out in Boston, walking into the lobby is like transferring yourself into a cool, calm oasis of elegance!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PennyLaneT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

From the moment my family arrived, we felt like part of the Lenox Family. Within minutes of our warm welcome at the front desk, the Bellman had a stuffed Lenox Lion for our little one. Once we arrived in our room, within 10 minutes they were delivering a bottle of wine and a childrens book. We haven't received a welcome like this at a hotel...probably ever. Great hotel, great location, no way I would stay anywhere else in Boston when we go again. The Lenox is the place to be!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oregonian_Adrift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Check in was a breeze and the bellman was very helpful in getting us a different room once he noticed how much luggage we had. Our original room has a very small closet. The frontdesk came up and took us to an alternate room which was much better. The bellman also suggest some local places for breakfasts and lunch. The concierge made wonderful dinner recommendations including Atlantic Fish Company which was right down the street and absolutely amazing. The rooms were not large,about what you'd expect from an old hotel, but very comfortable. The location was excellent as we could walk to about everywhere including the Fenway Park (about 20 minutes each way). One of the best hotel experiences we've had.

Room Tip: The room with two queen sized beds had much more room then the king.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#2 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 3,480 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#1 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 3,465 reviews
Downtown
Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Courtyard by Marriott Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lenox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lenox Hotel

Address: 61 Exeter Street at Boylston, Boston, MA 02116-2699
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Boston
#3 Family Hotel in Boston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#8 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lenox Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a hallmark Back Bay location, The Lenox is a family-owned, boutique hotel that expertly melds its century-old story with modern, luxurious accommodations. Priding itself on personalized, friendly service, The Lenox is situated steps from Copley Square - the perfect location for both business travelers and vacationers seeking an exceptional hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Lenox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenox Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing