We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lenox Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lenox Hotel to your Saves list
Lenox Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   61 Exeter Street at Boylston, Boston, MA 02116-2699 (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 77 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
columbus ohio
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

The Lenox Hotel is convenient to everything. Park the car and never see it again. The trolley is close by for exploring Boston, but if you want to stay in the neighborhood there are many restaurants and shopping.
The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and had a refrigerator with bottled water.
My only complaint was the hot water. I had to let the water run for 5-10 minutes before it became warm enough to step in. This is probably due to the hotel being old but it's a waste of water and time.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,800
    489
    104
    44
    19
See reviews for
600
955
139
364
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at the Lenox Hotel three times now and always find it to be an excellent choice and hotels. The rates are a little high but all the hotel rates in this area of Boston are high. The staff is very attentive, rooms clean, and the hotel is run efficiently.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

The front desk staff was very attentive from the moment I called about my reservation. They provided me with the best customer service during my stay. Morning coffee is available in the morning and Iced Tea in the afternoon/early evening. Housekeeping the first day was awesome, the second day- ok. The hotel opened in the year 1900. It has a lot of charm and character but it is obvious old so their are some quirks like noisy plumbing, two small elevators and wedding receptions are held on the second floor. The location is on the "Back Bay" and it's great, conveniently located with lots of dining and shopping choices. About 10 minutes away from Chinatown and 15-20 minutes away from the Boston Convention Center. Use the house driver for comfortable airport pickups and drop off's and avoid the potentially shady cabbies.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I've stayed here many times in Boston, and it's one of my favorite hotels.

Located in the Back Bay near the Prudential Center/John Hancock Buildings and a street or two down from Newbury Street, it's a perfect location!

The building and the rooms are beautiful. It's kind of like an European boutique hotel. Rooms have a lot of space in them, with very comfortable beds and very nice bathrooms. Service is good and they are efficient. They also have a bar/club in the hotel and a nice restaurant.

A great hotel in a great location! Always a must stay when I'm in Boston!

Room Tip: Get a room on the higher floors. Better views and quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Usually, when abroad, I have problem with hotel as Italians 4/5 stars are very high in the mai towns . The Lenox is an historic hotel with a fashinating environment , familiar feelings , warm and fashinating forniture and lobby.
Rooms are well equipped except from the bathroom , a little bit old end the noisy air conditioning.
Employeers in the concierge and check in are top level, champions in kindness : thank you !

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My husband gifted me with a 2-night "milestone birthday" celebration in Boston at The Lenox. It was our second stay & everything was just perfect. The room was exceptionally clean, large, comfortable and had a great view of Boylston Street. Complimentary gifts were waiting in the room - a plate of delicious mini cupcakes, a box of Lindt chocolates & a chilled bottle of prosecco - my favorites! We had kept Nina's (the concierge) business card from our previous stay and she was full of great ideas for dining. When she made our reservations at the Atlantic Fish Company and Mistral Bistro, she evidently told them it was my birthday and they really made it so special for me and my husband. THANK YOU to everyone at The Lenox for making this such a special & memorable birthday celebration. Nina, Nate & Casey - you guys are the best!!!

Room Tip: King rooms are very spacious with large bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Having paid £550 for 3 nights room only we were very disappointed with The Lenox overall. Out room, 1107 was tiny and had such a small bathroom that two people could not stand in it at the same time. The Kiehl products were excellent but strangely no shower cap, cotton wool etc were provided. Nor were there tea or coffee making facilities in the room, a very basic modern amenity provided in hotels worldwide, even those in a cheaper category. Also used glasses and a cup were not removed when the room was cleaned. The location is excellent and the staff courteous and efficient. But overall the size of our room and lack of basic facilities was disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lenox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lenox Hotel

Address: 61 Exeter Street at Boylston, Boston, MA 02116-2699
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Boston
#4 Family Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#7 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lenox Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a hallmark Back Bay location, The Lenox is a family-owned, boutique hotel that expertly melds its century-old story with modern, luxurious accommodations. Priding itself on personalized, friendly service, The Lenox is situated steps from Copley Square - the perfect location for both business travelers and vacationers seeking an exceptional hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Lenox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenox Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lenox Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.