We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding! Highly Recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lenox Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lenox Hotel to your Saves list
Lenox Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   61 Exeter Street at Boylston, Boston, MA 02116-2699 (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
“Outstanding! Highly Recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

It was our first stay at The Lenox. From the moment we checked in, service was top notch, friendly and consistent. The front desk offered us a round of drinks on the house at check-in (not a bad start) and promptly delivered them to our room. We had a corner suite with lots of windows. The room was a nice blend of classic furnishing, but with modern touches where needed (big, flat screen tv). We had a plumbing issue with our sink, but it was fixed promptly. The bar, pub and restaurant were all unique and the food/drinks at each were great. For a small hotel, the food options were more than adequate. You can walk to most everything...great shopping (Newbury St), restaurants and sights right outside the hotel. Ashley the concierge was fantastic. We loved all of her restaurant suggestions and she got us in last minute at a couple busy spots. She even sent me home with gifts for my kids (who weren't with us). I would definitely recommend this to even the pickiest traveler and will surely stay again if I'm lucky enough to return to Boston!

Room Tip: I asked for a corner room when booking. It was spacious, had great views and nice windows that open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,893
    514
    107
    46
    21
See reviews for
639
989
143
385
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for two nights. The location was great - lots of restaurants and shops around. The service was great and everyone seemed very friendly and attentive. We needed to make a last minute change to our room type and they ended up upgrading our room to a suite at no extra charge. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I love this European-style hotel, but you have to endure some poor service. The location is great, and the rooms are lovely, but there isn't an impression that anyone is running the shop. As a result, you may be surprised at service lapses or just downright rudeness. The bar, BTW, is very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This was the perfect place to have our wedding. The location is amazing. The hotel is stunning and the staff is FIVE STAR. We made so many requests, including last minute and every one of them was taken care of. We were treated like you would hope to be treated on your wedding day. I wouldn't change a thing. Our wedding coordinator, Alison, was amazing. I was not the easiest person to deal with at times, and she could not have been more understanding and patient with me. Each individual working on the staff was so kind to us, but it really felt natural and easy, not forced and fake. The food was absolutely fantastic. I would do it all over again in a heartbeat. Thank you so much for making our wedding so special. We will see you guys soon! _

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

After a long flight the most important requirement of a good hotel is a comfortable bed. The bed I slept in was perfect and if I could beam it back to my home I would have done. Add very polite and friendly staff, in every department and the holiday is off to a good start. Quite often when you only book in for one night at a hotel it's as if you are not important enough for the staff to try too hard. Not the case at the Lenox, in fact the opposite was true. Would certainly rebook if I am in Boston again. A unique, not formulaic hotel, with character and charm.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Staff were all really nice and welcoming. Rooms were a good size and we had a really nice view of the city. Beds were really big but weren't the comfiest I've slept in! Not the worst either though.
Location was great right near a lot of shops and restaurants and close to public transport and boston public library. Great area felt very safe and relaxed!
Hotel is a bit older but that adds to the charm!
Ate at the bar/restaurant that joins onto the hotel and food was pretty good.
Would stay here again if I am ever in Boston!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porter ME
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Amazing! My husband and I spent a weekend in the city trading in our country setting for a taste of city life and we where not disappointed ! The hotel was great from the check in to check out! Very polite and helpful staff. Our room was very nice, fireplace king room that we got for a great rate on line. Bathroom was somewhat small, but who goes on vacation to stay in a bathroom? Bed was nice, big tv with lots of channels, great city views, impeccably clean, overall nice room!
Enjoyed breakfast both mornings at the city table restaurant attached to the hotel. Michael (not how he spelled it ) was our server both mornings very pleasant and truly interested in our stay and how our day was. Visited again for dinner Saturday night, food was good, service wasn't as good as the the morning, our server was apparently celebrating her birthday and was somewhat distracted from the job at hand. Not a huge deal, but enough that the gratuity that we left was a reflection of her distraction. Didn't get to try the City Bar it was full house by the time we got done of dinner, but looked nice, maybe next time. Would definitely recommend to anyone. Walk to everything, and take in the city and all it has to offer!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lenox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lenox Hotel

Address: 61 Exeter Street at Boylston, Boston, MA 02116-2699
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Boston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#4 Family Hotel in Boston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#8 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lenox Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a hallmark Back Bay location, The Lenox is a family-owned, boutique hotel that expertly melds its century-old story with modern, luxurious accommodations. Priding itself on personalized, friendly service, The Lenox is situated steps from Copley Square - the perfect location for both business travelers and vacationers seeking an exceptional hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Lenox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenox Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lenox Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.