We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boston” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lenox Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Lenox Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Lenox Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   61 Exeter Street at Boylston, Boston, MA 02116-2699 (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off Summer Stays!
Ranked #5 of 77 hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Boston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My family and I stayed here 6 days over new year and loved it. Great location, great service, great food,great time. There are two trolley stops very close by which was great as my wife can't walk too far. Right round the corner from Copley square it is in a ideal location. The Irish bar attached to the hotel had good food and fantastic service even on a very busy Hogmanay evening. Thanks.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,293 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,679
    460
    94
    44
    16
See reviews for
542
880
127
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This hotel has so much going for it, I don’t even know where to start!

The Lenox has luxurious rooms with old-world appointments like crown molding & tasteful wallpaper as well as thoughtful extras that make traveling that much nicer (hair drier, iPod dock, fluffy bathrobe, and an umbrella in every room!). The beds are comfy and the shower has perfect water pressure -- not to mention, I was delighted to find Aveda products in the bathroom. In the mornings, they serve Peet’s coffee in the lobby and gourmet hot chocolate in the evening.

The customer service is the best I’ve ever encountered: from the bell men to the front desk to the concierge. Everyone who works there is super professional and will go above and beyond to make you feel welcome. The staff comes in and turns down your bed every night, including delicious chocolate from a local company called Unreal (their tag line is: “Great tasting candy with none of the junk.”).

Location-wise, I loved the fact I could walk to the mall as well as some great local restaurants. Starbucks and Dunkin Donuts are within a block which was handy in the morning.

This hotel was easily one of the best I’ve ever stayed. I highly recommend you stay here next time you’re in Boston!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Fantastic location, outgoing/welcoming staff, vintage charm & hot bar scene....what more could you ask for when visiting Boston's Back Bay? I love this vibrant part of the city, especially weekends. We live in a nearby suburb, but every once in awhile we stay in the city to experience the downtown scene. Of course, even better in spring, summer & fall!!!

We had a hypo allergenic room, which was great. Only thing I might change is that pillows were a bit high for my comfort level, which is the reason I didn't give comfort level the highest rating. I did not ask if there were alternative options though. The room is old, but charming & clean! Size is large for such an old hotel. Love it!!!! Will choose again!!!!

Room Tip: We liked 11th & top floor. There is construction going on next door during the week, so ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, NH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

The service at this hotel is fantastic... The combination of location, price and service make The Lenox Hotel a true gem. My wife and I have had the luxury to stay at many high-end hotels and The Lenox stands out... specifically for the service. Pete at the entrance immediately makes you feel special and ensures your first impressions of the hotel are first class. There are far too many instances of superior service to list or explain. We rarely stay at the same hotel more than once so we can experience other places. The last two times in Boston, we stayed at The Lenox... That says something for this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

OK... so I thought I had to return my Enterprise car rental to the airport but Kevin (super sweet doorman) said he'd take care of it and get them to come pick it up and at no extra charge ! He managed the whole thing - I got to go to my room and unpack / relax. Then Nate - at the front desk - is also super helpful. What great staff.

Room 320: Smallish single Queen room but beautiful and completely functional.

The hotel is at a great location for anything you might like to do in Boston. I'm going to Turner's to get the best clam chowder in the world.

Room Tip: High floors have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed at the Lenox for three nights in early January while attending a conference The Lenox's location is excellent: convenient to the Hynes Convention Center, shopping on Newbury St., great restaurants, and the Prudential Center mall. There's an entrance to the Mass Turnpike practically around the corner, which is very convenient for those arriving by car and trying to avoid crawling through lots of city traffic. As most reviewers have noted, the staff is cordial and eager to help. One morning I forgot to remove the Do Not Disturb sign from my door and returned after 9 PM to discover the room had not been serviced. A note had been placed under the door stating that housekeeping had respected my wishes not to be disturbed but that I could phone for service if desired. No sooner had I hung up the phone than two housekeepers showed up to make the bed, clean the bathroom, change the towels, etc. I greatly appreciated this; in some hotels no housekeeping service is available after 5 PM.

The lobby of the Lenox is warm and inviting, with a roaring fireplace and aromatherapy candles infusing the space with a soothing aroma. My room was a standard double. On the positive side, it was relatively spacious; had a good-sized desk; and offered excellent lighting (a rarity in many hotels), including good tableside lamps and a small overhead chandelier. The mini-fridge was handy for beverages and snacks that guests purchase outside the hotel; none are provided, although bottled water is complimentary (thank you!). On the down side, the bathroom was a bit tight on space and the furnishings in the bedroom showed considerable wear and tear--scuffed furniture, slightly worn carpets, chipped paint. My voice mail was out of order, as I discovered, although the staff left a note under my door to inform me of the name (but no phone number) of the person who had been trying to reach me to leave a message. Another disappointment was the lack of an in-room coffeemaker. At the front desk they explained that this was related to the historic quality of the building (maybe the electric circuitry isn't equipped for this?). Free coffee and tea are provided in the lobby every morning but that's not much help if you're hoping to stay up late and work and were hoping to brew a cup of something caffeinated to help you stay alert. Note that some additional soundproofing between floors might be desirable since at times the footsteps of people in the room one floor above were audible.

I ate dinner twice at City Table restaurant in the hotel and would highly recommend this option. The first night (a Thursday) was quiet and I had very personalized attention from my waitress. The second night (a Saturday) was a mob scene, but in a convivial way. Service was still attentive despite the crush and, when the bar ran out of martini glasses, my waitress volunteered to bring my cocktail in an old-fashioned glass and comped the drink on my bill. The food was well prepared and there were many options: heavy or light dining; many entrees (including one vegetarian choice), etc.

Overall, the Lenox is a calm and inviting hotel that falls slightly short of 5 stars because of the need to refresh the furnishings in guest rooms but still manages to please with its efficient staff.

Room Tip: Rooms located away from the elevator seem very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed at the Lenox last weekend with my family of four. We were made to feel more at home than catered to. While getting us settled in the staff was asking about our children and our plans in Boston. Within an hour a gift basket with personal notes to our two boys arrived wishing them a fun time in Boston. Everything about the Lenox has a classic charm.. Nothing is over the top. The lobby’s bar “City Bar” has a really great feel and it’s clear that it’s popular with non-guests too. With so many options, we don’t normally eat breakfast in the hotel, but I’m glad my kids dragged me down in the morning. The restaurant “City Table” had amazing French toast with sautéed bananas. Even as we were checking out, the door man got hot cocoas for my sons as they sat by the fireplace. To sum up, the Lenox is simple elegance in Boston.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lenox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lenox Hotel

Address: 61 Exeter Street at Boylston, Boston, MA 02116-2699
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Boston
#4 Family Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#7 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lenox Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For more than a century, the Lenox has exemplified the quiet, classic elegance of a Boston landmark. Recently renovated, the hotel offers the full range of services for business and leisure travelers, all in the heart of Boston's Copley Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, Splendia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Lenox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenox Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lenox Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.