We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you for the pampering...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lenox Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Lenox Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lenox Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   61 Exeter Street at Boylston, Boston, MA 02116-2699 (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 77 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Thank you for the pampering...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

From the minute I stepped out of the taxicab, I was treated like a queen, from every single staff member of the Lenox Hotel. No request was too large. The intimate atmosphere, friendliness of the staff, lovely room and excellent bar all combined to make my stay superb. Thank you to Ashley, Nina, Jonathan and Mallory for a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,712
    464
    99
    44
    18
See reviews for
574
909
134
347
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I came to Boston for 2 days on business and stayed at the Lenox because of it's proximity to where I needed to be. I chose the hotel due to it's high rating, and got a good price.

The hotel is not very big, but that is good.... it's in a great location right on Boylston near the Pru. You can walk to a lot of the attractions in Boston, but also close to public transportation if so inclined.

I parked my car with the valet, which at $45/night wasn't cheap, but heard that nearby parking garages are in the $30/night range, so not too bad considering I didn't have to park or get the car myself. The valet service was fast when I needed to get my car, and they always were polite and attentive.

The room was a little small, but it served it's purpose. It was clean, the bed and bedding were nice and comfortable. It had a large walk in closet, which is actually great, because you can put all your luggage/clothes in there and not have to worry about keeping them around the room.

The bathroom was small as well, but was well appointed and had good products in it.

I ordered in room dining for breakfast on the first morning, and it was delivered on time and was quite good. Day two I went down to City Table (the hotel restaurant) and had breakfast there. It was also very good. The prices were not bad at all considering it was downtown Boston.

All in all, I had a very pleasant stay at the Lenox and would certainly come back when I am in Boston again and want to stay in the Back Bay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

What an experience!!!!!! We spent 2 nights in the Lexon in November 2012 and couldn't ask for more. Despite the age of the building, the lifts are very quick. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and the City Bar was very cosy but the most efficient service by our waitress Kristy ever, we were never waiting for anything, made us feel like VIP's which is always nice when you are away from home. The hotel is also an easy walk from most attractions and cool eateries.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I previously stayed at the Lenox last year on a business trip and gave it a glowing 5-star review. When it came to returning back this year (on a business trip again) I was looking forward to staying here again. However, I didn't such a great experience this time around. I'm not sure if this is a sign of standards slipping or if it means I just got lucky last time...

First up, the room was much, much smaller than before (despite it being the same type). I guess it's just the luck of the draw which one you get. I really could've done with more closet space - it was tiny - not even big enough to squeeze in my medium-sized suitcase. The bathroom was also small too and felt a bit claustrophobic.

Also I had a problem with the TV which was never really resolved. It wouldn't switch on at first, then when it did, it would intermittently come on and go off. I quickly reported and they sent up an engineer. After trying various things he eventually brought me a "new" TV which worked for the first evening, but the same problems returned the following evening. I didn't have an hour to wait to get it fixed again, plus I was only there for one more night, so I didn't report it. This wasn't such a big deal as I didn't spend that much time in the room but, to be honest, the whole thing felt a bit sloppy (especially since the engineer assured me it was a new TV).

Room service was another negative. Not a huge selection, way overpriced (I paid $30 for a sandwich and a beer) and when it arrived it was dry and rather tasteless. Needless to say I only ordered this one night... My advice would be to eat downstairs at the restaurant or the bar. The food is delicious!

The good points: the room was spotlessly clean, the toiletries (Aveda) were great, and the peanut M&Ms at turn-down and free coffee/tea in the lobby were nice touches.

Overall, it's still a good hotel. I was just let-down after having such an excellent stay last year. And it did make me consider whether I got lucky and it was just a one-off. For that reason, I don't think the Lenox would be my first choice again next time I'm in Boston.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land O Lakes, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

First I want to thank all the staff at The Lennox for making our short stay in Boston very memorable. From check-in to check-out everything was the best. We would definitely stay here on our next visit to Boston.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield MA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The great reviews we had read of this hotel were true. Everyone was friendly so it had more of a feel of a small inn. The three restaurants, bars, were much more inviting than the typical hotel fare. We did not catch his name but the doorman( we think) guided us to two seats at the City Table bar( after asking a woman to move over one) and then told the bartender our drinks were on him.We go to Boston fairly often and the price would be the only thing to hold us back from staying at the Lenox on a regular basis.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appledore, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I hve recently returned from a third stay at The Lenox in Boston, Boston is a vibrant, interesting and civilised city and The Lenox is ideally positioned to enjoy every aspect of the place. We walked to the river, for a pleasant stroll before unpacking. There are two huge malls a few minutes walk from the hotel, Boston Library is almost next door, the subway station is closer still and there is a massive supermarket nearby too. The welcome upon arrival is warm; the staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly and can provide any information needed to enhance once's stay. The rooms are comfortable and the reception areas particularly pleasant. We will be back.

Room Tip: We have stayed in three different parts of the hotel and each has been equally convenient and comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lenox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lenox Hotel

Address: 61 Exeter Street at Boylston, Boston, MA 02116-2699
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Boston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#4 Family Hotel in Boston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#7 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lenox Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For more than a century, the Lenox has exemplified the quiet, classic elegance of a Boston landmark. Recently renovated, the hotel offers the full range of services for business and leisure travelers, all in the heart of Boston's Copley Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Lenox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenox Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lenox Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.