We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly front desk and awesome location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   280 Friend Street, Boston, MA 02114 (Formerly The Hotel at Boston Garden)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #67 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
121 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Friendly front desk and awesome location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Had a quick in-and-out in the city, and loved this location. The parking was a bit expensive, but then again, what parking isn't in the city? There was a mix-up with a friend's reservation, and Jean up front took care of it no prob. In the morning, the next attendant was kind and gave us brekkie recommendations. Room was great!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us. We are pleased that you had a good stay and that Jean was helpful. It was great to hear that our recommendations, the room itself and our location were all great. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    105
    61
    27
    19
See reviews for
65
86
16
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marthas Vineyard
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We just stayed there a couple of nights ago. I can't say enough about how friendly the front desk staff is. From the moment we walked in the door, throughout our stay and upon our checkout.

We rented a King Bed Suite. I was a little surprised that the kitchen area had nothing stocked. No plates, glasses, silverware, etc. Not even a bottle opener. My husband went down to the front desk and the person working was kind enough to give him his own bottle opener off of his keychain. Of course we returned it to him later that evening.

We do wish that it was made clear to us to put up the privacy sign before we went to bed that night. Beginning very early the maid service kept opening our door, rather loudly and realizing the security bar was closed. We were kind of shocked that there wasn't a knock first, and she kept at it about every 15 minutes until I hung up the sign. The bed was comfortable so its too bad. So much for sleeping in after a late night at the Celtics game, which by the way is literally a 1/2 block away.

A quick walk to the North End was pleasant and we found Mike's Pasties that we always hear the rave about. After I ate a canoli, I understand the rave :)

Back to the hotel, all in all it was a good stay. The front desk made us feel welcome and comfortable. The price was the best around by far. For just a couple dollars more, the valet parking was a huge convenience. The hotel itself could use some refreshing and updates but again the price can't be beat. Our bathtub was stained and we opted not to shower the next morning until we got home. The elevator is a little rickety and a lot of the ceiling tiles in the hallways were either missing, broken or had wires hanging out. Even with all that, I would stay here again if we have any other events at TD Garden to attend.

Room Tip: For a couple extra dollars we spent, having the suite was worth it. It was still small, but had a k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay and providing us feedback! It is feedback like yours that help us to address any issues and get better for our guests. I really appreciate the kind comments regarding the staff and will be sure to share them with the team! Also regarding the few issues that took place, they are being addressed with the staff and will be corrected. Our new elevator is 99% complete and we are doing a lot of positive things to the hotel in the next couple of months. Please come back and see us soon and thank you again for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid-Michigan
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

PERFECT location for spending time in North End eating at Mike's, Giacomo's, etc. or sightseeing on Freedom Trail incl. USS Constitution. Rest of Boston readily accessible. T stop across the street. Taxis also across street. Short cab ride or manageable walk to Boston Common. 5 min to Science Museum. Also perfect for Boston Garden. Our room had great view of Garden chaos after Celtics game. Kids liked sitting on ledge and looking out below.

Hotel obviously an older building. Perhaps apartments at one time. Some furnishings older and structure needs more TLC than a new one. That said, the room was very spacious with kitchen items and large closet. Bathroom very nicely remodeled. Many Boston hotel rooms are cramped by comparison.

Breakfast as good as any at HI Express - better than most, in fact. No shortage of food nearby for lunch and dinner. CVS drug store right nearby.

Brought a few minor housekeeping oversights to manager's attention (Amy) and she graciously comp'ed an additional night and our parking.

So, if you want North End location and lots of value with responsive staff, don't hesitate to stay here. Families with kids will appreciate space, two sinks, fridge, etc.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Hello and thank you for sending feedback on your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that the location was great for your needs and that the staff was responsive and helpful. I am also glad that Amy was helpful with assisting with the issues you brought to her attention. Our number one goal is to make sure that our guests are happy, comfortable and satisfied while staying with us. Please come back and visit us again soon! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

If you have business at the Federal building or need close access to Boston Garden this is the place.

The staff is awesome, the building is terrible. The building is in major general disrepair. Water stains, dangling light fixtures, and worst of all SLAMMING door closures. We got virtually no sleep our first 3 nights here due to doors SLAMMING all hours of the night. Stay on the top floor.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear MidAltitudeWalkabout,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. I am pleased our location suited you well and glad you found our staff commendable. Please accept my sincere apology for the noise challenges you encountered during your stay. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving the quality and service we offer to our guests. I hope that you will give us the pleasure of hosting you again on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
münchen
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Wie Booked reward points. It was my First hotel in USA, so I must say those are not German standards. But the room was very spacious, clean and breakfast satisfying (still trying t figure out the thing was presented as omlett, must be smthg American style:-))).
The hotel is located just 5 minutes walk from the heart of the downtown, 15 minutes from uss constitution. Just few steps from next metro station, 30 min from airport. Just very strategically placed.
People were nice and helpful.
One negative - maybe not the most trustful neighborhood at first sight. At second is though really quite ok.

All in all a good start to our us trip.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for being a loyal Priority Club member. We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and that the location was very convenient for your travels. The omelet you speak of could be the cheese omelets we provide or our fantastic pancake machine which is a big hit ! Both are great additions to the breakfast bar. Thank you for your comments regarding the friendliness of the staff. I will be sure to share with them!
Thank you again and we hope to see you next time your travels bring you to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

The good:
- staff was helpful when I needed to send/receive multiple faxes for work
- room was relatively quiet for downtown in a big city
- well-located with the Garden down the street and Boston Commons a one-mile walk away

The bad:
- printer in business center was broken
- in corner of hotel, there are entrances to multiple rooms in small space, so its close quarters and you can hear doors opening and closing
- my room was small, dark, with windows so high up that I could barely open/close the shades
- reserved a room with king bed, but the "king" was actually a queen.
- LOTS of renovations going on inside with plastic draping and painting. Basically, the hall is a mess and one of the two elevators is out of commission.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear AttorneyOnTheGo,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. We appreciate your wonderful comment regarding our location and our staff.

However, I would like to offer a sincere apology regarding the business center and for the dark room. We will address this points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

After monitoring the reviews of this hotel on Tripadvisor for about four months, I was wondering if I'd made a mistake in booking this hotel. We cashed in a years worth of Priority Club points for a four night stay at this hotel for a mini vacation (first-time visitors to Boston). I was pleasantly surprised by the entire hotel experience! I really don't understand what all of the negative reviews are about! From the minute we arrived, the staff was pleasant and quite helpful. The common areas were nice enough but a little worn. Our room was updated with nice quality linens, and it was very clean. The fridge was an added bonus! I imagine this hotel gets a party crowd most of the year due to the location, so it does look a little more weathered than most urban Holiday Inn Express locations we've been to. The street isn't much to look at, but we actually enjoyed a couple of the bars next door. We stayed at this hotel based on it's location, and we weren't disappointed. It's an easy walk from all of the major tourist destinations. However, it's right next to the T station for those destinations too far to walk to. We fell in love with the North End and spent most of our time there for meals, etc. It was a very easy walk from this hotel. We were allowed to have a late check-out, and the front desk arranged for transportation back to the airport via a car service for us!!

Room Tip: Get a room in the back of the hotel. The street is really lively on the weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for your comments and recently choosing to stay with us! We understand that you have many hotel options and we appreciate that you chose to stay at our hotel. Thank you for the kind words regarding the staff as we pride ourselves on customer satisfaction! We hope you will return soon. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to provide a comfortable place away from home.

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden

Address: 280 Friend Street, Boston, MA 02114 (Formerly The Hotel at Boston Garden)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi and hot breakfast. Located across from North Station and the TD Garden making us the closest hotel to the Garden, home to both the Celtics and the Bruins. Boston is a walking city and the hotel is central to all the historic neighborhoods and attractions you want to visit. The hotel is in walking distance to many of Boston’s historic sites, Faneuil Hall, Paul Reveres house, Boston Harbor, Beacon Hill and the Freedom Trail. With many great restaurants and attractions also in easy reach this hotel in Boston’s North End is an ideal location for your next visit.Business travelers appreciate that the hotel is near the financial center, the Government Center, Massachusetts General Hospital, Spaulding Rehabilitation Center and Massachusetts Eye Ear Center. Boston is home of many of the world’s finest colleges and the hotel is located in within minutes of many of them; Harvard, Yale, Cambridge, MIT and Boston College.Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston Garden has an unbeatable location with valet parking and complimentary hot breakfast, 24-hour fitness room, business center and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Boston Garden
Holiday Inn Express Boston
Holiday Inn Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.