We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Boston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Boston to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   776 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02199 (Back Bay)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Offer
Ranked #8 of 77 Hotels in Boston
San Francisco, California, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

This hotel is in an excellent location and very well maintained. Rooms are comfortable and I love the bathroom. Good products in the bathroom and already have items that you may have forgotten, I.e. Toothpaste and mouthwash. The service level is excellent. The staff was friendly and helpful. The TV had every channel including premium channels. I some of the best nights sleep. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Mandarin Oriental, Boston would like to thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you were able to pamper yourself with our Shanghai Tang amenities, while enjoying a restful night’s sleep in the comfort of your guestroom. We are also pleased that you found our colleagues to be friendly and helpful. Thank you again for the high recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    60
    18
    7
    6
See reviews for
74
107
29
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

If you want to stay at the best hotel in Boston you have two choices. One is the the Liberty which is more noisy and "party style". And Mandarin which is one of the most relaxing hotels I'v ever stayed in. Also its location on Boylston street is the best. Mandarin, world wide, never disappoint me. We have stayed twice here (just before we moved to Boston permanently) and the experience was wonderful in any possible way. The spa is the best in New England, with tropic showers and great amenities. The rooms, decorated in eastern style are super comfort, and beautiful, its the top of the luxury scale and it is, above everything else, relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear ron I,
Mandarin Oriental, Boston is honored to be top of your luxury scale and one of your favorite hotels in the city. We are delighted that you had a relaxing and comfortable experience with us and enjoyed our convenient location on Boylston Street in Back Bay. We are also pleased that you were able to experience the tropical showers and luxury amenities in our award-winning spa. Thank you for sharing your kind feedback and we hope to see you again soon for your third visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

LOCATION

The hotel is located next to the Prudential Center, a fantastic shopping destination in Boston. The center’s unique layout blends business, restaurants and stores. This means that a variety of great dining and shopping options are steps away from the hotel’s door.

ROOMS and BEYOND

The Mandarin Executive Rooms have niceties not usually found in hotel rooms. For example, the room size is a bit larger than average at about 660 square feet, and has a roomy closet with a dressing bench. The working space is well stocked with writing supplies, including bookmarks. Bath amenities are spa-quality Red Flower brand and smell heavenly. The linens are Frette. If you love them (you’d be crazy not to), there is a Frette shop just off the lobby. Bear in mind, though, that the price of Frette echoes its quality. Bostonian Frank Nicholson’s interior design firm created a city escape in this hotel with a sophisticated palette. You’ll notice just a hint of Asian influence and very subtle Art Deco design details. It all feels brand new.

The room view is called “residential” on the website, which I don’t believe does it justice. This part of Boston is charming in every way. The view of row houses and the beyond cityscape was captivating.

There are two massive suites at the Mandarin Oriental Boston, the Oriental Suite and the Dynasty Suite. David and I were given a tour of the 2,600 square-foot one-bedroom Dynasty Suite during our stay. The entire hotel is luxurious, but the suites are opulent. The Dynasty has a design touch I rarely see even in the best hotels in the world, silk wall coverings. The wood-paneled study, dining table for 8 and gas fireplace tell me that this space could be a home away from home for a small family (the room next door can be connected for those traveling with children) or an incredible place to hold a small meeting.

THE SPA at MANDARIN ORIENTAL BOSTON

My stay was complete after a trip to the spa. I opted for a facial, but the sum of my visit was much more than one treatment. Guests of the spa are encouraged to arrive 45 minutes early for a more immersive experience. Here, you must leave the world behind and step into a new one. To symbolize this transition, I was asked to remove my shoes in the spa’s beautiful entrance and replace them with the provided slippers. After a hot cup of tea, I was taken to the lockers and then back to my incredible treatment room.

My therapist, Elisha, brought me more tea to warm me from the inside and then I settled into the heated bed, which was elevated at my knees and shoulders to cradle me perfectly. After a brief consultation, she decided to change the facial from the one I reserved to another (the Aromatherapy Associates Facial) to suit my needs. My face was cleaned and pampered and my arms, neck, shoulders and scalp were gently soothed to the soft music. Pressure point therapy was integrated at certain points. I have never felt so relaxed and had to fight off sleep. I’m quite sure I nodded off for a few minutes, actually. When I asked Elisha how often her clients can’t help but take a nap, she said with a smile, “Always.” The treatment ended with the ringing of Tibetan Tingsha cymbals. Fascinated by the idea of cleansing a room with sound, I bought some on the way out as a gift for my husband.

Because the spa is the only Forbes Five-Star spa in the state, I had high expectations. It met each one and exceeded them all. Elisha is hands-down the best massage therapist in practice. You must try this experience.

MY RECOMMENDATION

I love this hotel and its ethereal spa. There isn't a better place to stay in Boston.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Lori M,
Thank you so much for your amazingly kind review. Mandarin Oriental, Boston is ecstatic that we were able to provide you with a 6-star experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed our convenient location close to shopping and dining on Newbury Street, our “roomy” guestrooms, the work space supplies, the Frette linens and our Shanghai Tang bath amenities. We are so pleased that Elisha was able to provide you with a relaxing spa experience and that our award-winning spa exceeded your expectations. We are so glad you loved the hotel and the ethereal spa and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Came here for two days of business meetings. Restaurant and bar currently undergoing renovation. Breakfast served in lobby plus room service only options but excellent food. Top notch spa with huge breadth of treatments. Very nice walking neighborhood around with lots of trendy dining and shopping options on Newbury St.. Would have rated higher with restaurant open.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear BusyBerliner,
Thank you for selecting Mandarin Oriental, Boston for your recent business trip. We are delighted that you enjoyed our award-winning spa, our convenient Back Bay location - steps from Newbury Street and our Lobby Lounge and In-Room Dining. We hope you will be able to visit with us again once our highly anticipated restaurant, Bar Boulud, Boston, opens in September.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndhurst, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Recently visited Boston and based on a thorough search on Tripadvisor decided to stay at Mandarin Oriental. One of the best travel decisions I have made. The hotel is elegant in every way. Right from the moment you enter the wonderful lobby, you feel happy about your decision. The front desk staff is great and very helpful.I interacted with Monika and Eugenia and both were excellent.

I stayed on 8th floor in the Mandarin Back Bay Room with King Bed and everything was picture perfect. From the furniture, to the work area, to the seating area, to the walk-in closet and finally top of the class restroom. The room has a lot of space in general in addition to the numerous storage cabinets. The in-room dining is one of the best with a great menu and an awesome drinks selection. I was also able to customize some dishes to my liking thanks to Natalie and Jackie.

I read so many great reviews about the Spa at Mandarin Oriental and all of them were absolutely right. The spa experience is one of a kind at this hotel. Thanks to Kenny for the great work. Access to the shops at Prudential center from the 4th floor of the hotel just adds to the ease and comfort of staying at this hotel. And if that's not enough, the numerous restaurants, bars and coffee shops in walking distance help. This was my first stay at Mandarin hotel and I think I found my new favorite.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
On behalf of the entire team at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, we are honored to be considered your new favorite Boston hotel, and that staying with us was one of the best travel decisions you have ever made. We are delighted that our colleagues were able to provide a superior standard of service and that you enjoyed our specious guestrooms, our award-winning spa and our convenient location attached to the Prudential Center. We appreciate your review and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Very good location, near shopping etc. good service esp. the concierge. But you have to pay for everything including wifi. That's ok if you are on company expenses, however, if not, can empty out your wallet pretty quickly. Top tip - the complementary water is revolting - best to get your own !!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Mandarin Oriental, Boston appreciates you taking the time to share your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed our convenient Back Bay location on Boylston Street and the service that our concierge team was able to provide. Mandarin Oriental, Boston does provide our guests with some of the fastest Internet service in the city at speeds of 1Gbps. We are disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy the complimentary water but we do appreciate your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

A terrific experience - not to be missed! You have never expereinced luxury until you stay at the Mandarin Boston. Pricey but worth it!! The staff truly cares about each guest. They are a great combination of professionalism AND not pretentious.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
On behalf of the entire team at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, we truly appreciate your kind words and your feedback. We are delighted that you had a terrific experience and that our colleagues were professional, caring and made you feel comfortable and at home. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Boston

Address: 776 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02199
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Boston
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#7 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#19 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, luxurious hotel, Mandarin Oriental, Boston combines classic New England elegance with refined Oriental touches to create one of the most distinctive hospitality experiences in the region. Awarded both Forbes Five-Stars and AAA Five-Diamonds, Mandarin Oriental, Boston features 148 guestrooms and suites over 14 floors, delighting its guests with the finest facilities and service, innovative dining experiences and an unparalleled holistic Five-Star awarded spa. A short, 15-minute drive to Logan International Airport, Mandarin Oriental, Boston connects guests to the city's finest shopping, cultural venues and business institutions from its prime location in the heart of the chic Back Bay on Boylston Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Boston Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.