We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Boston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Boston to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   776 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02199 (Back Bay)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Offer
Ranked #10 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Oak Bluffs, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I leave in Martha's Vineyard which is located in Cape Cod, an hour and a half away from Boston. I visit Boston often and know a bunch of hotels in the area. But this was the first time that I stayed on Mandarin. I had a really good time! Best staff ever! Very clean, and best hotel that I ever stayed. it's warm, luxurious and a lot more! The Concierge was amazing and very helpfull as well.
I would def. come back to this hotel again!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tetezinha171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Mandarin Oriental, Boston is delighted that you had an excellent experience and we are honored you consider our hotel and staff to be one of the best. We are glad to hear you had such a good time and enjoyed our warm and luxurious accommodations. We would love to welcome you back from the Cape again soon for a second visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Hotel has excellent location close to Boston Common, Newbury St etc. We stayed in standard room which was big enough, massive comfortable bed, bathroom was OK as well. Service was good, breakfast a la carte - it could be better, that's for sure. In general hotel is OK but I expected something better like in Far East esp that it is one of the most expensive hotels in Boston - defenitely not the best one.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Mandarin Oriental, Boston appreciates your feedback and for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted you enjoyed our convenient Back Bay location, our service levels, accommodations and our comfortable beds. We are disappointed to hear that the hotel did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is appreciated; it allows us to continuously strive to be better so that we can achieve our best. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The Mandarin Oriental is my go-to hotel during frequent trips to Boston. In a word, consistent. Always clean, warm, welcoming and luxurious. The complimentary chocolates and lemongrass ginger tea from Tea Forte that are brought up mere minutes after settling into the room are always anticipated and enjoyed. The location is great, Atlantic Fish right across the street and great shopping connected directly to the hotel. I've been highly disappointed by other major brands in the city and have no need to ever look elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leeloo013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Mandarin Oriental, Boston is always delighted to hear from our loyal guests who frequent Boston. Thank you for your kind review, we are so glad we can continuously offer consistent service and a warm, welcoming and luxurious environment. We will be sure to continue to deliver the lemongrass ginger tea and chocolates that you so thoroughly enjoy. We look forward to welcoming you back to the city and are honored you consider Mandarin Oriental, Boston your home away from home and your “go to” hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

A long weekend trip was booked as a birthday treat, and being great fans of the Oriental in Bangkok we chose the MOBO.
For $700 a night for a superior room ( not incl breakfast) I have to say it was disappointing....
The room was beautiful but the service was at best "relaxed".
Don't expect the luxury of the Bangkok hotel, no fresh flowers in your room, no fresh fruit, no smiles at every turn.
Too expensive compared to what you get for your money.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank KJG75017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Mandarin Oriental, Boston appreciates you taking the time to share your comments in regards to your birthday weekend. We always enjoy hearing from fans and guests who experience other Mandarin Oriental Hotels worldwide. We are pleased that you enjoyed our beautiful guestrooms but are disappointed to learn that we did not meet your service expectations. We have recognized your preferences and will be sure to include them the next time we get to welcome you back to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Somewhat strange how this MO just doesn't match the ones I know from Asia. Great concierges overall, and then one that simply appears to be harried and can't really help you. We had booked a spa appointment 5 pm and were served 20 minutes late. We had spacious suite, all fine, professional room and laundry services. Not sure I'd book again for the price we got

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. We always appreciate hearing from guests who have been able to visit other Mandarin Oriental properties worldwide. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our spa facilities and hotel services, but we are disappointed to learn that your spa appointment did not start on-time and that some of our colleagues were not able to provide you with the service excellence we strive for. We do appreciate you sharing your feedback and look forward to your return to Mandarin Oriental, Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I stayed here for a week whilst on a business trip 3 weeks after the horrific events at the Boston Marathon. What an amazing hotel and city. I couldn't speak any higher about the staff in the hotel, the standard of the rooms or the cleanliness.

Top hotel!

Room Tip: Higher up the better in my opinion!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Mandarin Oriental, Boston is honored to be part of the local Boston community as together we remain “Boston Strong.” We are delighted to hear that our Mandarin Oriental, Boston colleagues provided exceptional service during your stay. The pleasure would be ours to have you return, and hopefully soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allendale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My stay overall excellent, with just a few minor quibbles that leave this hotel just short of other MO and high end hotels I have stayed at. The hotel is centrally located on Boylston with high end shopping and lots of restaurants and bars nearby. It is attached to the Prudential Square mall with even more shopping and restaurants inside. Valet parking is $48/night. Check in was warm and friendly, and the welcome tea brought to your room was a delightful touch. The hotel was full during my stay, and there was always a line (although short) for the front desk staff who did seem harried. That being said, the staff were unfailingly polite and helpful. As others have noted, you need your room key to access your floor. Because the hotel was full, I was assigned a wheelchair accessible room which likely colored my view of the stay. The furniture in the room was a bit dented (likely due to wheelchairs), there were no pens in the room, and there were some minor issues with the shower. The bed was comfortable, the temperature of the room was good, and the room was quiet. Complementary water bottles in the room were also appreciated. The fitness center is relatively small, but extremely well equipped. I did not use the hotel wireless internet so cannot comment. Breakfast at Asiana was above average, but not worth it considering the price. This place is definitely a notch above most of the hotels in Boston with a great location. Once again, the stay was excellent, but just short of transcendent, which is what you expect from a Mandarin Oriental.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank BTmaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for your detailed review of our Mandarin Oriental, Boston property. We are delighted that you experienced a warm and friendly check-in and enjoyed the welcome tea. It sounds like you were also able to take advantage of our centralized Back Bay location. We do apologize that there were no pens in the room upon arrival and that there were issues with your shower. I can ensure you that these issues have indeed been looked into. We would like to thank you for all of your comments, they are much appreciated. On behalf of the entire team at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, your feedback will continue to help drive us to be our best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,877 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#2 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 3,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Courtyard by Marriott Boston Copley Square
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,499 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#1 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 3,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Boston

Address: 776 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02199
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Boston
#4 Business Hotel in Boston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#8 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#11 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, luxurious hotel, Mandarin Oriental, Boston combines classic New England elegance with refined Oriental touches to create one of the most distinctive hospitality experiences in the region. Awarded both Forbes Five-Stars and AAA Five-Diamonds, Mandarin Oriental, Boston features 148 guestrooms and suites over 14 floors, delighting its guests with the finest facilities and service, innovative dining experiences and an unparalleled holistic Five-Star awarded spa. A short, 15-minute drive to Logan International Airport, Mandarin Oriental, Boston connects guests to the city's finest shopping, cultural venues and business institutions from its prime location in the heart of the chic Back Bay on Boylston Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Boston Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing