We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal Hotel & Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Boston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Boston to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   776 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02199 (Back Bay)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Hotel & Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed in a lot of high end hotels but never one as accommodating with such an exceptional staff as The Mandarin Oriental in Boston. There was no request there were not prepared for. The rooms are decorated beautifully, the bed was just perfect. The shower has a wonderful with a Rain head at the top and a hand held with message setting. Alex will greet you at the door with enthusiasm each time you return to the hotel. Not 1 staff member was ever seen without a genuine smile and a greeting each encounter. Another great feature is the house car. They have a Mercedes and a driver who will drive you to a Boston destination. Make sure you reserve this as soon as you can for any reservations or planned activities as they tend to book up. There is nothing negative I can say about this establishment. A wonderful stay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    61
    23
    8
    6
See reviews for
79
117
31
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Maybe it was the Egyptian chamomile tea upon arrival that set the stage for the entire stay, but the staff just seemed to know what I needed even before I did. No frustrating encounters with lobby or business room printers for the boarding passes—they printed the for me and delivered them to my room. One less hassle is always a good thing when traveling and the Mandarin staff make it their business to make sure you are not hassled. Also, I usually sleep poorly in any hotel, but I managed to sleep soundly and comfortably here. My room was marvelously quiet. All of this comes with a price of course, but one worth paying for peace of mind and pampering.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montvale, NJ
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Mandarin Oriental -From Hong Kong to Boston and everywhere in between, the hotel chain with the most fantastic service across the board, the Mandarin. The Boston hotel is no exception to the rule. It’s great for the business traveler or Boston visitor. The rooms are very well designed and amenities are fantastic. My company held a client event in the main ballroom and the comments from clients were very complimentary. The service, food and ambience were spectacular.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

we had a great stay - super location - affordable price - the room was very clean - the front desk helped us with all of the little issues. we will come back :) the sheets were crisp and clean - the bathroom was sparkling not a single sign of mold anywhere - you just can't go wrong wtih this place. the rooms are very spacious as well - we enjoyed are room and have already booked for this summer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We came to Boston for a family excursion and were blown away by this hotel. We enjoy staying at Four Seasons, Ritz Carlton and other five star hotels. This property and managemt team far exceeded our expectations. The bedding was like sleeping in a cloud. The room was spacious and clean.
We stayed in room 532 which did not have a good view but the interior was immaculate.
To top it off, they brought up home made cookies and milk around 4:00 our first day!

Room Tip: Did not visit the spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

You just can't go wrong here. From the moment you check in until the moment you leave, everything just seems to flow.
The rooms are amazing. Bathrooms fantastic.
Don't expect much from breakfast. They charge you too much for average food. Go across the street and have breakfast.

Overall, great. I would totally go back.

Leo Daflon

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowe, Vermont, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Fabulous room and amenities. Quiet, a good size, and with upscale furnishings.

Service was great, if a little omnipresent.
Room service prices were alarming.....$32 for bacon and eggs!

Parking is ludicrous, even for Boston, $48 a night.

Excellent location for strolling.and a really good situation for getting to any place in downtown Boston

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Boston

Address: 776 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02199
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Boston
#4 Business Hotel in Boston
#7 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#16 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#17 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, luxurious hotel, Mandarin Oriental, Boston combines classic New England elegance with refined Oriental touches to create one of the most distinctive hospitality experiences in the region. Awarded both Forbes Five-Stars and AAA Five-Diamonds, Mandarin Oriental, Boston features 148 guestrooms and suites over 14 floors, delighting its guests with the finest facilities and service, innovative dining experiences and an unparalleled holistic Five-Star awarded spa. A short, 15-minute drive to Logan International Airport, Mandarin Oriental, Boston connects guests to the city's finest shopping, cultural venues and business institutions from its prime location in the heart of the chic Back Bay on Boylston Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Boston Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.