We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded my expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Boston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Boston to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   776 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02199 (Back Bay)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Offer
Ranked #8 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Boston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded my expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I brought my my girlfriend here as a surprise after a nice dinner in Boston. I was able to check into the room early and set everything up for later. Everything about the experience was excellent, we both had a great time. The room was absolutely gorgeous and the bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear ThatIsCheese,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Mandarin Oriental, Boston earlier this year. We are pleased to hear that you and your girlfriend enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the best,

Alain Negueloua
General Manager of Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    60
    18
    7
    6
See reviews for
74
107
29
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with a friend in October 2012. This is our second visit, we gave them a second chance which is all I will say about the first visit. The hotel is beautiful as is the food but the service is appalling. Forgotten breakfast orders, plenty of apologies and promises about not so clean rooms but the piece de resistance was a hypo allergenic duvet which consisted of an old throw. This was pointed out in the morning only to be replaced with a blanket. Come on, go out and buy a duvet in Marshall's. even the holiday inn has these types of duvet for feather allergies. Badly handled and we will never return to this hotel. Avoid at all costs and go to the four seasons. They take the time to train their staff.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear chanelle d,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience with us at Mandarin Oriental, Boston. We sincerely apologize that your stays did not meet the standards that we endeavor to provide to each of our guests.

It is our understanding that our Front Office Manager was in touch with your travel companion during your stay and as a result of their conversation, our Resident Manager has attempted to make contact several times without success. Naturally, we remain anxious to connect with you as soon as possible. Please reach out to us directly at mobos-socialmedia@mohg.com with your telephone number since our Resident Manager would like to speak with you personally to resolve this matter.

All the best,

Alain Negueloua
General Manager of Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Rooms are sensational, service is exeptional and you can't beat the location. My wife and I stay at the Mandarin Boston every year for our anniversary, it's alway have a fantastic stay. My wife raves about the Spa.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Roy L,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stays with us at Mandarin Oriental, Boston. We are delighted to hear that you and your wife join us each year in honor of your anniversary. We look forward to helping you celebrate many more years of happiness and wedded bliss.

All the best,

Alain Negueloua
General Manager of Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Just returned from a 4 night stay at The Mandarin Oriental Boston and it was exceptional!

Upon arrival we were greeted by a helpful bell boy who took our luggage and lead us to reception. Check in was efficient and friendly. We were allocated our rooms, numbers 525 and 527; both of the Back Bay category.

The rooms were beautifully appointed with a view to the front of the hotel. Every conceivable convenience and comfort had been thought of. The rooms were large with walk in wardrobe, seating area, writing desk, large tv and mini bar.

Bathrooms were wow! Walk in shower, bath and separate toilet. Toiletries were luxurious. Fluffy towels and robes provided.

The bed was very comfortable with Frette bed linen, pure luxury!

Maid service was discreet and efficient.

Whilst there my partner and I used the gym and again it was without fault.. Each station having towels and water. Headphones (disposable) were supplied for tv/radio and fruit and cold towels for post workout.

Breakfast in the Asana restaurant was excellent. The menu was varied and the portions more than enough to start the day. Beverages were also replenished as required. Staff great.

I must pay special thanks to the staff at the Mandarin Oriental, especially Kelly the concierge and Tim the bell boy. Nothing was too much trouble.

Another nice touch of this hotel is the direct undercover access to the Prudential shopping Plaza.

The lobby area provided a welcome rendezvous for afternoon tea/drinks.

Superb location for sightseeing, shopping and restaurants.

A truly fabulous luxury hotel with a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Wonderful experience from start to finish.

Bravo Mandarin Oriental Boston!

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for Back Bay rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear discerningsingle,

It was an absolute delight to read about your recent experience with us at Mandarin Oriental, Boston. We appreciate your kind remarks very much and hope to welcome you and your family back to Boston in the near future.

All the best,

Alain Negueloua
General Manager of Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My conference was held at this hotel. From walking through the doors I was greeted as a valued guest. I have never felt so comfortable in a luxury hotel as I did here. I was always greeted by name and felt comfortable sitting in their elegant foyer. The room was superb with upscale furnishings and very comfortable couch and bed. The room was facing the back of the hotel and looked over a manicured lawn. The bathroom was the best I have experienced with tub and walkin showed along with seperate toilet closet. The very large room was without defect and spotlessly clean. In addition the hotel is internally connected to the Prodential Center, so no need to brave the cold if you wanted an evening stroll before retiring. This truely felt like my home away from home.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms would be a pleasure to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear westwindsor,

Many thanks for taking the time to post about your stay with us earlier this year. We are very appreciative of your kind remarks and look forward to welcoming you back to Mandarin Oriental, Boston in the near future.

All the best,

Alain Negueloua
General Manager of Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Just because I am staying at your hotel don't call me madame 100 times.... or repeat my name 100 times...other than that and skimpy on the large towels(unless asked) it was very good. The restaurant has a french press coffee that was very good. Love Boston

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

About a year ago, I had planned a conference for 40 people at the Mandarin in Boston. Everything went well, and Kara Churchman, the events coordinator was superb. After leaving I was sent an online review form, where I provided positive and constructive feedback. I was pleasantly surprised when someone followed up with me to extend the offer of another stay at the Mandarin in Boston at our discounted conference rate. What wonderful customer service!

My husband and I just returned this past weekend to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. We were upgraded to a Mandarin Back Bay room with an enormous bath and fabulous views of Back Bay. Also, when we returned to our room after lunch on the first day, a bottle of champagne and a chocolate cake was waiting for us. Instead of hitting First Friday in the South End, we enjoyed our champagne in our Mandarin robes and slippers cuddling on the comfy couch in our room. What a treat!

They only thing I could improve would be the pillows, which look fluffy and supportive, but flatten down to next to nothing. I used two, but it wasn't ideal.

The location of the Mandarin is outstanding. First, it's connected to the Prudential and Copley Malls. We walked everywhere: Fanieul Hall, the North End, MFA, and along the Esplande. The selection of restaurants in the area is outstanding. We ate breakfast at Trident Booksellers on Newbury, and dinners at Forum and Deuxave.

The staff is well versed in customer service and goes out of their way to make you feel special. The rooms are new, huge and well appointed. They even provide a yoga mat. The gym fitness center is well equipped. The onsite spa is truly special.

Stay at the Mandarin. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear MaineMOM2,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at Mandarin Oriental, Boston and for highlighting some areas that you particularly enjoyed. We hope to have the pleasure of your company for your next business meeting, the next milestone celebration in your family or for a Boston getaway.

All the best,

Alain Negueloua
General Manager of Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Boston

Address: 776 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02199
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Boston
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#7 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#19 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, luxurious hotel, Mandarin Oriental, Boston combines classic New England elegance with refined Oriental touches to create one of the most distinctive hospitality experiences in the region. Awarded both Forbes Five-Stars and AAA Five-Diamonds, Mandarin Oriental, Boston features 148 guestrooms and suites over 14 floors, delighting its guests with the finest facilities and service, innovative dining experiences and an unparalleled holistic Five-Star awarded spa. A short, 15-minute drive to Logan International Airport, Mandarin Oriental, Boston connects guests to the city's finest shopping, cultural venues and business institutions from its prime location in the heart of the chic Back Bay on Boylston Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Boston Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.