We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please don't call me madame” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Boston

Save Saved
You added Mandarin Oriental, Boston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   776 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02199 (Back Bay)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Daily Dining / Spa Credit
Ranked #6 of 77 hotels in Boston
Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Please don't call me madame”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Just because I am staying at your hotel don't call me madame 100 times.... or repeat my name 100 times...other than that and skimpy on the large towels(unless asked) it was very good. The restaurant has a french press coffee that was very good. Love Boston

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    238
    44
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
61
92
24
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

About a year ago, I had planned a conference for 40 people at the Mandarin in Boston. Everything went well, and Kara Churchman, the events coordinator was superb. After leaving I was sent an online review form, where I provided positive and constructive feedback. I was pleasantly surprised when someone followed up with me to extend the offer of another stay at the Mandarin in Boston at our discounted conference rate. What wonderful customer service!

My husband and I just returned this past weekend to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. We were upgraded to a Mandarin Back Bay room with an enormous bath and fabulous views of Back Bay. Also, when we returned to our room after lunch on the first day, a bottle of champagne and a chocolate cake was waiting for us. Instead of hitting First Friday in the South End, we enjoyed our champagne in our Mandarin robes and slippers cuddling on the comfy couch in our room. What a treat!

They only thing I could improve would be the pillows, which look fluffy and supportive, but flatten down to next to nothing. I used two, but it wasn't ideal.

The location of the Mandarin is outstanding. First, it's connected to the Prudential and Copley Malls. We walked everywhere: Fanieul Hall, the North End, MFA, and along the Esplande. The selection of restaurants in the area is outstanding. We ate breakfast at Trident Booksellers on Newbury, and dinners at Forum and Deuxave.

The staff is well versed in customer service and goes out of their way to make you feel special. The rooms are new, huge and well appointed. They even provide a yoga mat. The gym fitness center is well equipped. The onsite spa is truly special.

Stay at the Mandarin. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear MaineMOM2,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at Mandarin Oriental, Boston and for highlighting some areas that you particularly enjoyed. We hope to have the pleasure of your company for your next business meeting, the next milestone celebration in your family or for a Boston getaway.

All the best,

Alain Negueloua
General Manager of Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I like the MO because it is elegant, understated, great rooms and great service - this experience was no different.

We arrived during Hurricane Sandy and the staff were exemplary. For a start we had accidentally booked the wrong dates but this was quickly rectified and the same room type was found for us as smooth as silk. Our daughter's university visits had been cancelled due to the hurricane but the gentleman at reception took the trouble to find out which unis we had wanted to visit and sent up info packages on each to our room.

Both room and bathroom were spacious with lovely amenities (although I personally am not keen on their blood orange range). Great stay and great staff.

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet choose a room overlooking the garden square. Of course the higher up you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The Mandarin is a lovely hotel. The service is amazing. Everyone is helpful and extremely conscientious. We were celebrating two special occasions. I really wanted our celebration to be special and the hotel was amazing. We were upgraded and our room was huge. It was located next to the elevator which I normally do not like, but the room is so well laid out that I did not hear any noise from the elevator. The bathroom was absolutely gorgeous! It might be the best bathroom I have ever encountered. I would definitely stay again.

I scheduled several spa treatments and everyone at the spa was remarkable. All our treatments were excellent and the spa is fantastic. I would definitely go again and would encourage everyone I know to go to the Mandarin Spa. It would be perfect if there was a coed waiting room.

I really think that the only shortcoming is Asana. The food is only okay. For dinner, the presentation was unimpressive and the food was only okay. Though our allergies were listed, they were ignored and I was served a course that included one of the listed ingredients. The service and food at breakfast was sorely lacking.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

On arrival we were upgraded to the Dynasty Suite (amazing). We stay in many first class hotels, often in large luxury suites, but this suite was absolutely over the top.

It features a functional office, kitchen, dinning room for 8, living room for 12+, huge bedroom, high tech bathrooms, a dressing room the size of a hotel room, $30K ferrari sound system, fireplace, the list goes on.

As for the hotel itself, the location is great for exploring the city. Asan (sp?) Restaurant on site had a wonderful menu and was a great place to have a late night dinner after a late check-in. All dishes that we tried were skillfully prepared. The restaurant had a buzz for a Saturday night, so no point going elsewhere outside the hotel (we tried, but ended up returning to the hotel for dinner after seeing that this was likely the place to be).

Room service in the morning for breakfast was prompt and tasty. Missed out on the lobster omlette as it was sold out, apparently a hit at the hotel.

If you are considering this hotel for a special occasion, do yourself a favour and book the Dynasty Suite. It is sure to Wow even a seasoned snob!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewartsville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I rate this only based on my experience, since I can honestly say I do not stay in luxury hotels so I cannot compare it to others.

I really enjoyed my stay; most of my travel is for pleasure and I only stayed at this luxury hotel because of a conference my company sent me to, and brought my husband along for the experience. Although I’m sure there are people who expect and enjoy this type of service, this is not something I would pay for, but the higher price is justified based on the level of service and the high quality of the room. The room was spacious, with both a desk and a loveseat. The décor was upscale and well maintained. The bathroom was large with a choice of a waterfall shower or traditional multi pulse showerhead. The bed was very comfortable, high thread count sheets. An honor bar was in the room, overpriced as usual, but convenient if you just do not want to go get something. Our preference is for a frig and microwave (I did not check if that was available), but we were able to move some things out of the honor bar to place a couple bottles of soda and juice.

Upon arrival they provide complementary tea service (hot or cold). Each night they turn down the bed, and provide a linen cloth where they place the hotel provided slippers (or your own if they were by the bed). There was also provided a plush bathrobe and several complimentary items in the bathroom over and above the usual, I do not remember all the items, but it came in a pretty wood box.

The hotel was decorated with museum quality Asian art and was a pleasure to walk around.

The attention to detail and the service was unexpected. When you check out or check in the staff comes from behind the counter to personally hand you your keys/ receipt. We valet parked our car and the doorman remembered our name during our stay (we were there for 2 nights, but came in early and left later in the day). There is a free car service to anywhere within a couple of miles (you are on your own to get back) which was a nice touch when we went out to dinner.

There was a spa, which I did not use. However, I did use the fitness equipment – the usual except laid out with different rooms for the various machines making it feel more spacious.

We did not eat there, except for the lunch I had that was part of the conference. It was very good, sandwiches but with the extra touches that make it more than a sandwich. Fried pickles were especially good.

Only two things: with as much as the hotel was per night – they charge for Wi-Fi. They said they had very fast access, I did not see the difference. And the other is something just to get used to, although I suspect if we had been there longer they would have anticipated our need. You have call to get ice, there are no ice machines accessible for guests. But this I expect is the service that those who prefer luxury hottest expect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I spent three nights at Mandarin Boston , spotless hotel , luxury , great staff , brand new , perfect location the deluxe room is very good
They also have a "6 stars " Spa , best I ever been , best hotel in Boston

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Boston

Address: 776 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02199
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#3 Spa Hotel in Boston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#18 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Boston 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, luxurious hotel, Mandarin Oriental, Boston combines classic New England elegance with refined Oriental touches to create one of the most distinctive hospitality experiences in the region. Awarded both Forbes Five-Stars and AAA Five-Diamonds, Mandarin Oriental, Boston features 148 guestrooms and suites over 14 floors, delighting its guests with the finest facilities and service, innovative dining experiences and an unparalleled holistic Five-Star awarded spa. A short, 15-minute drive to Logan International Airport, Mandarin Oriental, Boston connects guests to the city's finest shopping, cultural venues and business institutions from its prime location in the heart of the chic Back Bay on Boylston Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Mandarin Oriental, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Otel, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Boston Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.