We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great sandwiches and baked goods” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flour Bakery

Flour Bakery
12 Farnsworth St, Fl 1, Boston, MA 02210-1224 (South Boston)
617-338-4333
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 2,815 restaurants in Boston
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Bakery, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Dessert
Neighborhood: South Boston
Saint-Lambert, Quebec, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“great sandwiches and baked goods”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This was a little gem close to our hotel - fresh, fresh - tasty. Something for everyone! The dark chocolate cupcakes were a little dry, but I'm a pretty picky baker myself...

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    151
    63
    16
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back....!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Found this place via TA and SO glad I did!!! Arrived in Boston and stopped here before driving to the Cape. Was overwhelmed with the menu and all of the pastry selections but employee Tim was very nice and patient in explaining everything to me. The place was busy, service was prompt and staff were friendly. The food was fresh, organic & VERY Good!!! I even stopped back by before returning to the airport and purchased a sandwich along with more goodies!!!!!

This place is a MUST visit if you're in the Boston area. Thanks again Tim for your exceptional customer service!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, RI
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Place for Coffee/pastry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Have been here before & always enjoy the extensive assortment of pastries & good coffee. Long sandwich menu as well. My wife was upset that she did not notice the short breakfast menu (quiche, etc) posted behind the pastry counter until after she ordered - it is a little overwhelmed by the rest of the menu. Popular place - get here early for a seat & to avoid the line.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“will always be down for some flour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

It's overpriced. But other than that the food really is fresh and decent. Also you feel good after eating it because it's relatively healthy and light.

Haven't tried many of the sweets but I loved all the bread puddings and the creme brulee was amazing.

Sandwich wise the mozzarella with pesto is good, and the hummus is underwhelming.

The two types of soup I've had are both okay but super salty. The two salads I've had are good but too expensive and not too filling.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Terrible salads”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I got the salad from here. I know it is not their specialty, but what I got was so below the minimum standard, that I feel obliged to comment.

The tomatoes in the salad were stewed - literally stewed tomatoes. Perhaps they were simply rotten, not sure because I basically through them out.

The rest of the salad basically consisted of sandwich fixings. Lettuce that was mildly rotten, onions, some cheese, olives, etc. Very unappealing.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flour Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Flour Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flour Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.