We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast or lunch "quick" stop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flour Bakery

Flour Bakery
12 Farnsworth St, Fl 1, Boston, MA 02210-1224 (South Boston)
617-338-4333
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 2,835 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Bakery, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Dessert
Neighborhood: South Boston
Westborough, MA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great breakfast or lunch "quick" stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I have mostly gotten food to go, but it has always been fantastic! The biggest issue I have is that the pastries are all large. I would like to get more variety, so I can try more flavors, but they are just too big. The lunch salads or sandwiches are made to order, so you can easily sub in or out a favorite cheese or veggie. The staff is very friendly and hardworking, and they do try to please you. The pastries are delicious and the real thing... croissants, brioche, scones... I think my favorite is the breton roll. They are famous for their sticky buns (amazing when warm!!), and poptarts. Just not a fancy restaurant, but if you are having company and don't want to cook, the take away is amazing. I grab a breakfast or lunch when I am going to have a long day, and with a pastry treat, am so happy even though I still have to get work done. Okay to eat by yourself there, good internet access. Attempting to be environmentally friendly too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    79
    18
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miramar, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Sticky buns”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

On early January, I went to Boston on a girl getaway. I was crazy to try the sticky buns from Flour. I arrived around 10 on a Sunday morning. Sticky buns are just amazing..! I'm glad there is no Flour here in S.Florida ;)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Makin' the bacon a breakfast must !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Even - in fact, especially - if you usually shy away from bacon, have their apple-smoked bacon, tomato and arugula sandwich (toasted.) Add a large and brilliant latte, and you're good till late afternoon. And if gluten is a no-no, they can handle that too. A no-frills, but bright, spotless place with friendly and efficient staff. Menu is nothing fancy and that's OK too, because they're serving up quality food in high quantities, so careful planning is a must.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whippany, New Jersey
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“ok at best .. . . ..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Appears to be a little over rated for my taste . . . Ate here yesterday, it was ok at best. Don't expect to much . . . . Just saying

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
432 reviews 432 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 156 cities Reviews in 156 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
“Tasty food but very sweet and heavy desserts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

The place is great, food is fresh and choice is excellent! Demand is pretty huge as at 4 pm they were out of many items for that respective lunch offer... Salads and sandwiches are amazing. Cappuccino is very nice and tasty, a bit too much roasted coffee. Sweets were a bit too sweet for my taste but definitely tasty. People serving there are super cool. Don't try to park the nearby lot because the guy there is rude.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flour Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Flour Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flour Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.