We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, affordable bakery!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flour Bakery

Flour Bakery
12 Farnsworth St, Fl 1, Boston, MA 02210-1224 (South Boston)
617-338-4333
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 2,835 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Bakery, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Dessert
Neighborhood: South Boston
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great, affordable bakery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We ate lunch here after the Children's Museum. The bread was DELICIOUS! The prices were shockingly affordable (kids items under $5, tea and coffee under $2). We enjoyed soup and sandwiches with our 14 month old.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    79
    18
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great bakery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

So, i've been very excited to visit, since imown the book, have tryed baking a couple of things, and LOVE them! The banana bread at the store is to die for, they have an excellent variety of tea, on the down side, we went on weekend and it was packed, hard to sit down an enjoy it, can only imagine during the week tough.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Love their double chocolate cookies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Flour is a bakery and sandwich shop. I've been to the Fort Point location as well as the South End. It is usually crowded with a long line for service, but it goes quickly. We've had some sandwiches there also and the breakfast pizza which were all good. They have seating inside and outside, but sometimes it is tough to get a table.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A hidden gem near the convention center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

What a find! We were staying downtown at a hotel near the trade center and didn't want to pay the exorbitant hotel brunch price, so we started looking around. The bakery is tucked away on a side street, but totally worth looking for. The atmosphere is warm and friendly--we had fun sharing a community table and chatting with strangers, the staff is nice, and the food is outstanding! So many tasty options, including a perfect lox sandwich. I only wish they had locations in the burbs.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Eat lunch here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Fantastic choice of sandwiches, great baked goods. In walking distance of Boston University Hospital.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flour Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Flour Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flour Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.