We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best bakeries in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flour Bakery

Flour Bakery
12 Farnsworth St, Fl 1, Boston, MA 02210-1224 (South Boston)
617-338-4333
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 2,670 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Sandwiches, Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Neighborhood: South Boston
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“One of the best bakeries in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Flour makes some of the best desserts in Boston. I highly recommend the homemade "Oreos" - they are just divine (and better than real Oreos).

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    84
    19
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Sandwiches!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

My company has gotten take out from Flour a couple times and they make some of the best sandwiches I have ever had! I would definitely recommend to anyone who is looking for a tasty lunch!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“The best casual restaurant/bakery I have ever tasted!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We visited the Fort Point location of the Flour Bakery during our recent visit to Boston. We are from NYC and have a plethora of good bakery/snack/lunch options, but nothing that compares to the overall quality and great vibe of Flour.

Besides some of the most delicious and delectable sweet treats, cakes, pastries and other goodies, they offer a broad menu of amazing breakfast, lunch and even dinner options. They also offered a wonderful menu of side dishes to compliment any Thanksgiving menu.

We sampled several sandwiches, a frittata, and many sweets including the amazing Boston Cream Pie, which is more like a Napoleon dipped in wonderful Chocolate. The entire feeling of the place was warm, with the most polite and helpful staff, and friendly and easy going customers.

Owner Joanne Chang overseas the entire operation and quickly responded to my request to pre-order Thanksgiving sides. Her great cookbook is also offered there. This is a must go to when visiting Boston. They have three locations in all. Too bad they are not in NYC!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Favorite Lunch Place in Boston!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Flour has got great service, great staff, great food & great atmosphere! One of my favorites in Boston for breakfast, lunch or just a healthy snack!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Sticky Buns are out of this world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Everyone should visit this place just for their sticky buns. This is not place were you can expect great or fast service as it is not geared for business but their baking is just fantastic.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flour Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Flour Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flour Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.