We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boston's best: dinner and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mooo

Mooo
15 Beacon Street, XV Beacon Hotel, Boston, MA 02108
6176702515
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mooo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #62 of 2,846 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Bowdoin and Somerset
Transit: Green & Red Line Park Street T Stop Green & Blue Line Government Center T Stop
Description: Chef David Hutton offers a modern steakhouse with a warm decor and relaxed yet sophisticated atmosphere, including a full bar and award-winning wine list. Open seven days a week. Reservations recommended.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Boston's best: dinner and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Amazing food, outstanding service, great atmosphere; not much more you could ask for. We've been there on a buzzing Friday night with business friends and still felt private enough. This great steakhouse is one of the few with a rich offering for non meat enthusiasts as well. And you can only underestimate the rich whiskey selection they carry!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    110
    31
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Went there for lunch and our food was out of this world. We had their sirloin steak and a tuna salad!
Excellent food, will definitely return!...
And $25pp, great value for one of Boston's best restaurants...

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good value for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We come here about once a year or so to partake in their lunch time special. The steak tartar is very good and the ny strip is also well prepared. The service can be slow, but at our latest visit it was quite quick. Also the rolls are delicious! Outside of the lunch special, the value is about the same as any steak house in town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Value Prix Fixe Lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Three course lunch -- appetizer, main and dessert -- for $25, quite the value. The steak and the sea food for mains at lunch are excellently prepared and quality products. Service is efficient. While this place is crowded during restaurant week, other times is great for a quick business lunch. Conveniently located 1 block from Park Street station.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Hands down, one of the best steaks I have had in a long time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We came to Boston to meet up with some friends who ran the marathon and got married, so we were naturally looking for a celebratory meal somewhere. The consensus was steak and wine, so Moo was the choice. When we arrived we were immediately taken back by the feel of a Michelin quality restaurant, but without the usual snobbery. The staff was exceptionally friendly, and our waiter was extremely knowledgeable about the menu, all the way down to the exact ingredients in the sauces which accompanied the steaks. There were four of us, and we all ordered something different and everything tasted amazing. This is one of the few places I have been to where you can actually order a red wine reduction for your steak! Mind blowingly good!
There were four of us, and the total bill was around $500, which included four starters, four steaks, three sides, two bottles of wine, and some end of meal aperitifs. Great value, great venue, great food!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mooo also viewed

 

Been to Mooo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mooo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.