We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful weekend at Fairmont Copley Plaza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston

Save Saved
You added The Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   138 St James Ave, Boston, MA 02116   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off room rate!
Ranked #21 of 77 hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hartford,CT
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A wonderful weekend at Fairmont Copley Plaza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2005

We enjoyed every moment at the Copley Plaza where we celebrated our 3rd wedding anniversary. Everyone of the staff was helpful, friendly, courteous and professional..the valet parker, the doorman, the guest registrar, the bellhop, the room service waiter and the concierge. The bedroom and bathroom were recently renovated and very elegant. The bathroom had both a beautiful tub and a separate
glass/tile shower.
Previous reviewers have stated that the mini-bar is expensive as is the room-service breakfast. It's true, but the charges are the norm for any hotel in this class and price range. You can simply choose not to use them.
The quality of every aspect of the hotel and the professionalism of all the staff
will keep us coming back in the future and we would recommend it to anyone without any hesitation or qualifications at all.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    677
    347
    137
    59
    25
See reviews for
241
414
59
353
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2005

Just returned from spending three glorious days at the Copley Plaza and were impressed from the moment we arrived and entered the extremely grand lobby area.
We were part of a group of 40 travellers and others in the group complained that the rooms were small but we had no complaints, with a spotless and very spacious corner room with two queen beds. The bathroom was marble and again with all the mod cons.
Try to get down to breakfast early as the Oak Room isnt particularly large. Service can be fairly laid back and the waiters dont seem to cope so well when things start getting busy.
No other complaints and we found it the perfect luxury base for a city break. Its also ideally located for all the shopping malls and attractions that Boston has to offer.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2005

We stayed here in September 05 and had a wonderful huge room with large adjoining bathroom overlooking the square. The reception rooms are magnificent. This hotel had all the little extra touches that you would expect from a Fairmont. Breakfast in the Oak Room was very good and substantial with very efficient service. Check in too was efficient. The hotel is very convenient for sight seeing, the Prudential tower being a couple of blocks away, the Hancock tower next door and the Boston Public Library accross the street. We were overcharged by $200, but this was quickly rectified to our satisfaction. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2005

WOW!!! My daughter and I spent the weekend at the Fairmount Copley Plaza on the President's Club Floor. WOW!!! This hotel has so much class and grace. The bed was the most comfortable ever, including my own at home. Our room, basically a standard room, was huge, which is nonexistent in the newer chain hotels. The bathroom had been refurbished with beautiful black marble and had every toiletry provided, top of the line. We had a beautiful view of Copley Park from both the bedroom and the bathroom. The hotel is conveniently located adjacent to a lot of shopping and restaurants, but being on the club floor with the snacks and beverages, we only ended up eating out twice. The staff is usually what give a hotel it's character and the staff here is first class all the way. Treat yourself and plan a visit!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2005

Well, I certainly had high hopes when I saw the lobby of the hotel - it was absolutely stunning upon arrival. Unfortunately the lobby (and the hotel's location) were the only things I can rave about.

For $475 night, I expected a clean, non-smoking room....nothing extravagent, considering the Boston prices are so high...what I found upon arrival was pet hair on the chair / bed, and smoke wafting in through the vents of my room. The bathroom was exceptionally small (to the point where you couldn't really have any items on the sink, and it's tiny size could truly only accomodate one person). The shower was old and moldy...tile cracked in the bathroom...clearly not my idea of a "recent renovation". I'd comment on the view, but there was none.

After a call to the front desk, we were upgraded to the "Club-level" which meant a slightly larger bathroom, and a larger room. As the bell-man let us into the room, we discovered 8 pillows lying in the middle of the room. Was there a party going on prior to our arrival? The room was very dusty, and clearly hadn't been used in a while. There was still smoke drifting in through the vents, but not as bad.

The Club level breakfast is quite lame...a few muffins and bagels and fruit. Honestly, the setting was nice, but the food was not noteworthy.

Upon leaving I was told I couldn't have a receipt for my room (as it was paid for on my Corporate Expedia account). I have never had that experience before - they are always more than happy to print off a receipt for me. Now that I am home, I just recently opened my Visa bill, and gues what - another separate charge of $385 in addition to my Expedia bill. I am curious to see how long it will take them to straighten that out.

Perhaps my visit was just a fluke, but be warned that the hotel is old, old, old, the rooms are not charming and have no view, and the bathrooms are the worst I've ever stayed in...if you must be in this part of Boston, do yourself a favor and stay at the Westin. It's by no means extravagant, but it's better than the Fairmont.

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2005

We have just booked rooms for our third visit this year to the Fairmont Copley Plaza. Staying there is reason enough to travel to Boston. The Gold Level is the best "club level" we have tried.
The Gomes Family.

Stayed August 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2005

Last hotel of our holiday and what a treat. Despite manic Boston traffic and no available kerbside parking, the valet immediately took our car away, relieving us of a potential headache. We are labrador people and after nearly two weeks, were missing our pair, so my wife was delighted to be greeted by Katie the black lab at the entrance!

Check in was excellent - fast and courteous. It has to be said that the staff of this hotel are maybe the greatest feature. We had booked a room upgrade, so were on the third floor overlooking the busy Dartmouth St. Being relatively high up meant that we were not disturbed by traffic noise, though - Boston drivers please note, your car will move without the horn sounding!

What did disturb us though was the unasked for wake up call and the lack of apology for the mistake. Also, we were apparently below the hard floored club room, so noticed some heavy footsteps. Both complaints were well handled by the front of house management and, whilst a new room was offered, we didn't want to move.

The room itself was very large and had comfortable seating, so beautiful for relaxing in after a long day walking the streets of Boston. The bed was vast and very soft - luxury. Again, the upgrade was worth it. The bathroom was a bit pokey and had no shelf space - strange in a luxury hotel.

We didn't eat dinner in the hotel, but did enjoy their breakfasts. As with any hotel of this standard, not cheap, but served with exactly the right degree of formality. It was a real pleasure to walk in and savour the experience each morning.

All in all then, a fantastic hotel and well worth another visit in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston

Address: 138 St James Ave, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Boston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#15 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#15 Family Hotel in Boston
#15 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Copley Plaza has been a symbol of Boston's rich history and elegance since its gala opening in 1912. Centrally located in beautiful Back Bay, this luxury hotel is just steps from many popular historic sites, as well as the celebrated boutiques on Newbury Street. Our dedicated staff delivers incomparable hospitality, impeccable service and attention to detail to ensure your stay is perfect. Now, with the April 2012 completion of an extensive renovation of each of the hotel’s 383 well-appointed guestrooms and suites, the restoration of the ballrooms and public spaces, and the addition of a contemporary, rooftop health club, The Fairmont Copley Plaza shines more brightly than ever before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your The Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston Hotel Boston
Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston
Fairmont Boston
Boston Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.