We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“over promised and under delivered” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston to your Saves list
The Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   138 St James Ave, Boston, MA 02116   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Charlottetown PEI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“over promised and under delivered”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

I was most upset at the treatment that I received at this resort. The staff were snooty and unresponsive. Many major problems with the room that didn't get fixed upon request and forced out of the room by annoying housekeepers at 8am, then at 9am, then at 10am. Not worth the amount they charge AT ALL!!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    947
    440
    159
    67
    29
See reviews for
323
568
71
454
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

My fiancee and I stayed here overnight on Christmas Day. My birthday was a few days away so when I placed my reservation I signed up for the the President's club. When we arrived we were given a free upgrade (we had requested ahead of time). When we got to the room, there was a bottle of champagne and box of chocolates with a birthday card from the manager. It was a very nice touch. The room was impeccable and very large. Our king size bed felt like an XXLarge bed - it was huge! The sheets and pillows were incredibly soft and the bathroom was very large and very clean. The bathroom amenities were all Herman Miller and there was plenty of shampoo and conditioner! My only criticism of the bathroom is that you couldn't pull the shower curtain all the way around the tub, even though the bar for it was there, it was just a little weird. There was a wide screen tv and two comfy chairs next to a non-working fireplace. The view was also very nice - see the pic. I believe we were in room 629, it faced copley square and the church, see the pics.

We had a reservation for the Oak Room downstairs and I stopped by the bar early to get a small bite and a drink. It was a little slow at the bar in terms of service, it was Christmas and they seemed short staffed. Dinner in the Oak Room was delicious and the portions were large. The service was fantastic and we never felt ignored. Our table was in a small, more private room in the restaurant. The main dining room was busy and a little too loud for me.

Maybe because it was Christmastime and the hotel was not that full so I did not hear doors slamming from the other guests at all at night like some other tripadvisor reviewers did. Our room, however, was across from the door used by the cleaning crew, so I did hear that door close a few times the next morning. By the way, there was and still is some construction being performed to the huge windows on the Dartmouth street side. The windows are to the Oak Room restaurant, but they just closed the curtains and we didn't notice when we were inside.
If I were staying today, I would not request a room on the 2nd floor dartmouth street side, it is not a great view and the construction might be a problem in terms of noise during the day.

Overall, I was satisfied and really felt like I was away on vacation a lot longer, that is how a beautiful hotel like this makes you feel.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

I stayed in the Fairmont this past weekend. This hotel is absolutey beautiful! From the architecture to the ornate details- it is a gorgeous hotel. The service was impeccable. Concierge and front desk are very helpful with anything you could want. The location is excellent! We walked to everything- restaurants, bars, and plenty of shopping is within blocks of the hotel. But- with all of that said, I would not stay there again for the simple fact that I did not get a good nights sleep either night. The first night I slept maybe 2-3 hours. Second night was better because we requested a fan to drown all of the noise. The doors to each room close very loudly- i feel like the door was slamming every 5 minutes. And because the hotel is old- the walls are paper thin so you can hear everything going on in the hallways and the roads below (and we were on the top floor.)
My sleep is precious to me, so if you are staying there i would recommend requesting a fan be delivered to your room- or you will not sleep well at all!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2009

The concierge service was great (Jim Carey) and he was helpful in securing NCAA tournament tickets for us! There is also a great dog in the lobby who adds to the great experience. Location is central, near shopping, bars, parks, major neighborhoods, and sites. Rooms and ambiance are older and temperature control was difficult.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

My fiance and I stayed at this hotel for just a fun weekend getaway. We absolutely LOVED the beautiful lobby of this hotel and the food was absolutely amazing. They served little baguettes with a soft blue cheese spread. I'm not sure what kind of blue cheese it was, but I've been craving it ever since!!! The location of this luxurious hotel is just minutes away from Quincy Market and not far from the aquarium. We liked our room and the service was amazing.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

I stayed here on my own for two nights in February 2009 for a conference and was extremely pleased.

The location is fantastic - it is right off of the Copley metro stop and directly adjacent to the Marriott, which is connected to a large shopping mall. Also, just a short stroll away (even on a chilly Boston winter day) from Boston Common and the Historic District.

My room was rather large and well appointed. The bathroom was very roomy and the shower had great water pressure. The bed was extremely comfortable and I slept like a baby.

The only less than glowing comment I can make relates to security, or rather, the appearance thereof. Since this is an older hotel, they don't have a system in the elevator where you need to use your room key to gain access to your floor. Also, while the room key was the standard modern card model, the door handle itself was still rather old fashioned and ornate. While this certainly fit in with the overall theme of the hotel, the result is that my door never seemed to close with a tight seal and I had the impression that breaking into the room wouldn't be all that hard if someone were so inclined.

Overall, though, my stay was very enjoyable and I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

Excellent hotel that lives up to all the hype from other ratings. The hotel is immaculate and the service was first class.
Room sizes are huge as are the beds.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston

Address: 138 St James Ave, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Boston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#13 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#14 Family Hotel in Boston
#14 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Copley Plaza has been a symbol of Boston's rich history and elegance since its gala opening in 1912. Centrally located in beautiful Back Bay, this luxury hotel is just steps from many popular historic sites, as well as the celebrated boutiques on Newbury Street. Our dedicated staff delivers incomparable hospitality, impeccable service and attention to detail to ensure your stay is perfect. Now, with the April 2012 completion of an extensive renovation of each of the hotel’s 383 well-appointed guestrooms and suites, the restoration of the ballrooms and public spaces, and the addition of a contemporary, rooftop health club, The Fairmont Copley Plaza shines more brightly than ever before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston Hotel Boston
Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston
Fairmont Boston
Boston Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.