We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston to your Saves list
The Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   138 St James Ave, Boston, MA 02116   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate!
Ranked #18 of 77 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great location and Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel is very well located so its easy to get around Boston by foot and sight see.
We got a great discount rate and our room was very spacious( but zero view)
The only quirk for me is being so high end, there is no Wifi and a $15 per day charge.
Unlike the Marriott which we frequent often this is included in the hotel rate along with better beds.
Staff was awesome and helpful at all times.
I would definately return.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Manager at The Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Hello Lucy,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay overall! I'd like to take this opportunity to point out that WIFI is complimentary to members of our loyalty program, Fairmont President's Club, which is also free to join and includes many additional benefits. Thank you, again, for your post!

Warm Regards,
Jennifer Zajac
Area Manager, Internet Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    798
    392
    148
    65
    26
See reviews for
281
488
67
395
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at the Fairmont Copley Plaza to celebrate my husband's birthday and what a celebration it was! We were able to use a "suite upgrade" and it was so Sweet! We had the JFKennedy suite, corner of the 6th floor, overlooking Copley Plaza and Boylston Street. Fabulous!!!
The staff could not have been more accommodating and the hotel itself is a marvel. Even the waitress in the restaurant who was regrettably over-worked, did the best she could to serve her many guests. Perhaps a bit of help for her (on Sunday lunch and Monday breakfast - same woman) would make everyone's experience better. But we really loved our stay. We took the T all over Boston and the Copley location was very central and easy to manage. Bed was super comfortable, shower was great, towels and bathrobes very luxurious. Such a special stay...right down to visiting with Catie the hotel mascot and beautifully behaved Labrador Retriever.
Highly Recommend!

Room Tip: Join the President's Club (for free) and USE the upgrades and extras!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Manager at The Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Hello,
Thank you for your post! I am so thrilled to hear that you and your husband had a lovely birthday celebration with us and enjoyed the beautiful JFK Library Suite. It sounds like we were the ideal home base for exploring Boston. Thank you, again, for your comments and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Jennifer Zajac
Area Manager, Internet Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The staff is terrifically friendly and helpful, and they were very knowledgeable about the area. The hotel is absolutely gorgeous, and the rooms are very comfortable and spacious. My husband and I stayed here for the weekend, and I stayed for an additional week for work. The room was very functional for both purposes. We booked under the conference rate; as such, the luxury was at a much discounted price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My husband had booked the room as he had work in the area but I came along with our 4 month old. They knew we would be needing a crib. We got to town a bit before 3 and asked if the room was ready and they said there was no crib yet but they could give us a room. We proceeded to a room the size of a shoebox and don't even know how we could have fit in with the crib. The bellman that was helping us gave us a look recognizing that this was clearly not a choice room (I believe it was 311) and we called the front desk. They said for $25 we could upgrade from a queen to king room. This gave us probably 3x the space. Was a no brainer to us. Once we did that our stay was enjoyable and the lobby of the hotel is gorgeous. Location is also very convenient for most things.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Manager at The Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Though you were unhappy with your initial room, I'm pleased to hear that my colleagues were able to quickly accommodate you with something better suited to your needs! Thank you, again, for your post and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Jennifer Zajac
Area Manager, Internet Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Nice place to stay. Not sure it's worth the price but it is in the center of Boston. Beds were extremely comfy! Shower was great! I forgot something in my vehicle and the valet staff was very understanding about retrieving my car so I could grab the item-then re-parking it with no hassles! Stayed in the Gold King room. Hallways were a bit noisy but the complimentary evening hors d'oeuvres and breakfast were yummy! The staff was very helpful. Shout-out to Alex & Denise for their outstanding service!

Room Tip: If you're going to pay the price it's worth staying on the 'Gold' floor(s). Complime...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Manager at The Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Hello,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us here on TripAdvisor. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay - especially that you found my colleagues on Fairmont Gold and our valet team so helpful! We appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back to Boston soon.

Warm Regards,
Jennifer Zajac
Area Manager, Internet Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flanders
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Good hotel although somewhat old. Superbly decorated reception area. I got a complimentary update to the Gold floor, including complimentary breakfast. Nice room, small bathroom, wifi. Room well equiped. The hotel is next to the Hancock building. Nice area to stay with some good restaurants within walking distance. Not too difficult to start the freedom trail (just cross the park) and good connection by tram to visit the museum of fine arts. Freedom trail and museum are a must.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Great location in the centre of a fabulous area of Boston, close to shops, restaurants, transport and parks. Fantastic staff - really helpful and welcoming, even when busy. Lovely room, albeit snug. I would give it 5 stars if we'd had a superking sized bed.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Manager at The Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Hello,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us here on TripAdvisor. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially that you found my colleagues so welcoming and helpful. We appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back to Boston soon.

Warm Regards,
Jennifer Zajac
Area Manager, Internet Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston

Address: 138 St James Ave, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Boston
#9 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#15 Family Hotel in Boston
#16 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Copley Plaza has been a symbol of Boston's rich history and elegance since its gala opening in 1912. Centrally located in beautiful Back Bay, this luxury hotel is just steps from many popular historic sites, as well as the celebrated boutiques on Newbury Street. Our dedicated staff delivers incomparable hospitality, impeccable service and attention to detail to ensure your stay is perfect. Now, with the April 2012 completion of an extensive renovation of each of the hotel’s 383 well-appointed guestrooms and suites, the restoration of the ballrooms and public spaces, and the addition of a contemporary, rooftop health club, The Fairmont Copley Plaza shines more brightly than ever before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Amex, Priceline, Splendia, Venere, Otel, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston Hotel Boston
Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston
Fairmont Boston
Boston Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.