We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go Here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston to your Saves list
The Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   138 St James Ave, Boston, MA 02116   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate!
Ranked #20 of 77 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersSilver level
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Go Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

You can't beat the value of this luxury hotel - especially the gold level. The location is stellar. Staff was just great. Rooms were updated while keeping the historical feel of this grand dame of a hotel. Just walk into the beautiful lobby and know that you will be well taken care of during your stay.

Room Tip: Go for the Gold. If you are traveling with kids, go for a gold suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Manager at The Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hello, and thank you for your comments. I'm thrilled to hear that your enjoyed your stay, especially the additional amenities offered on Fairmont Gold! Thank you, again, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Jennifer Zajac
Area Manager, Internet Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    843
    406
    151
    66
    29
See reviews for
293
508
67
415
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed at the Fairmont for my daughter's surprise 16th birthday. We had two rooms, one for us and the other on the same floor for my kids. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The lobby is spectacular and not to mention the bathrooms in the lobby are amazing, all marble. Weird that I mention bathrooms but everyone who came out of there had taken pictures. Quite funny and definitely worth a mention. The hotel is centrally located to everything! Its right on Boylston street which is the main road for all attractions in downtown Boston . We walked to the North End and Fenway for a game and it was fairly close, and to Cheers on Beacon Street. All the cute bars and restaurants you find on your walk are so adorable with an abundance of burgers, seafood, you name it. Its about a 5 minute walk to the mall which is amazing. In the mall Legal Seafood Co is located which is a very well known seafood restaurant. If you want to do a duck tour, you can walk from your hotel and literally around the corner you will find all the duck boats lined up. We didn't have a chance to do that unfortunately but it seemed fun! We will be visiting Boston again for college visits and I will definitely be staying at the Fairmont again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Manager at The Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hello, and thank you for sharing your experience with us. I'm very happy to hear that your daughter's surprise birthday weekend was such a success! We certainly appreciate your compliments on our newly renovated lobby restrooms as well - they really are picture perfect! Thank you, again, for your post and we look forward to welcoming you back for college visits.
Warm Regards,
Jennifer Zajac
Area Manager, Internet Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I booked this hotel for four nights for our wedding anniversary in March. We actually had also considered The Taj but chose the Fairmont having stayed in their properties in Singapore and St Andrews, Scotland.

The initial contact was very positive with one of the managers upgraded our room in recognition of our anniversary. All fantastic and we also opted to pay for a late check-out as we had a late flight.

On arrival at the hotel you start to encounter what my friends in Boston consider the typical Boston welcome so perhaps we shouldn't have been too surprised. However, the concierge/doormen at this hotel could possibly ranked as one of the most unfriendly and unhelpful we have encountered anywhere. There is barely a greeting never mind any offer of assistance with luggage. Similarly, you are left to your own devices when trying to hail a cab. I am not sure what their function is really as there seems little for them to do.

With the exception of one or two staff, such as the person looking after the gym, the staff attitude at this hotel is very poor and not consistent with what we have found in other Fairmont properties. As I said, our friend put this down to the typical frosty Boston manner but it somewhat jars when you are in the business of hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Manager at The Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I'm very disappointed to hear about your experience. What you describe is absolutely unacceptable and certainly not up to our high standards of warm, engaging service. I'd like to take this opportunity to express our sincerest apologies, and to assure you that your comments have been shared with our General Manager in order to facilitate further internal review. I hope you will consider giving us another chance to "wow" you on your next visit to Boston. Thank you, again, for your post.
Warm Regards,
Jennifer Zajac
Area Manager, Internet Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Copley Plaza for our anniversary for four nights in March 2014. We had booked in advance and had mentioned to the staff in passing that we were celebrating that weekend. In view of our celebration, the front desk staff very kindly arranged for a room over looking the square (room 329) which was lovely and spacious. The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly as were the door men who always greeted us with a smile. Also, the one minor housekeeping request we made (champagne glasses!) was dealt with before I even got from the lobby to our room!

The rooms look to have recently undergone a refurbishment and are decorated beautifully with a contemporary styling. The bed was also very comfortable which made for some good nights sleep. The core "public" areas of the hotel have retained the classic features and it definitely shows off the history of the hotel as you enter the lobby. These points coupled with the hotel's mascot, Catie Copley, often found in the lobby really does give a great atmosphere.

Whilst Boston isn't a huge city, geographically, the location is perfect and gives easy access to both the Back Bay area and the main tourist sights down towards the waterfront.

Highly recommended and worth every penny.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the square are particularly spacious and of course have a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Manager at The Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hello, and thank you for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor. I'm so pleased to hear that you celebrated a wonderful, memorable anniversary with us, particularly that you were so impressed by my colleagues! I look forward to sharing your praise with the team. Thank you, again, for your post and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Warm Regards,
Jennifer Zajac
Area Manager, Internet Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed here for spring break with 10 family members, including grandparents and kids down to age 9. We reserved 5 rooms on the gold club floor and were delighted by the service and amenities. This beautiful old building is in a perfect location in Back Bay for exploring this interesting city. There is a subway stop half a block away, but mostly we walked and took cabs when the weather was bad.
The rooms are lovely and comfortable. Because of the age of the building, they rooms seem to vary in size and shape, which is nice. Our room had a large walk in shower and double vanity. My sons’ room was larger and had a tub and single sink. The beds were comfortable and there were plenty of outlets for charging your devices. The draw back for us was the noise from outside, but this would not be a problem if you have an interior room. The worst was the banging of doors in the hallway. Surely they can do something to cushion the doors so they don’t bang every time they close.
I can’ say enough about the excellent staff. The gold club staff was always attentive and knew everyone in our party. The doormen greeted us warmly and everyone was friendly to the kids and teens with us. Amanda in the gold club was especially helpful making sure we were in close proximity to each other and getting the bed preferences correct. She also directed me to nearby shopping when I realized one child arrived with no undies.
I would highly recommend the gold club floor. The breakfast offerings included healthy offerings like lots of fresh fruit, yogurt and oatmeal, as well as pastries and an egg dish each day. The afternoon snacks were really fantastic with hot and cold offerings such as ceviche, shrimp, veggies and cheeses. The lounge area was inviting and had a library area and fireplaces and plenty of comfortable seating. The staff worked hard to keep it clean during serving time and as soon as a table was vacated, it was clean and ready for the next guest.

Room Tip: 401 was large and had a faux fire place. It was a corner room at the end of the hall, which was nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Manager at The Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hello Liz,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I'm delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay overall, from your guest rooms to our central location. I look forward to sharing your comments with Amanda and the rest of the team on Fairmont Gold as I'm sure they will be equally thrilled. I have also shared your post with our Hotel Manager, Angie Clifton, as we appreciate your feedback on noise from the guest room doors. Thank you, again, for your comments, and I hope we'll get to welcome you back soon.
Warm Regards,
Jennifer Zajac
Area Manager, Internet Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

The location is amazing, right on Copley Square with beautiful view from our room, not too far away from Newbury Street and the rest of the downtown Boston. The staff members were exceptionally nice, pleasure to deal with them. The room was of a good size, large, with marble (but cold) bathroom supplied with plenty of towels, etc. The lobby is amazingly beautiful as well. The historic hotel carries a lot of panache, but be prepared to pay a lot. The lobby is equally beautiful; we had a chance to study it well, as we were sitting there for more than an hour. What we were not prepared for, was waiting for nearly 1.5 hours for our room. We even took care to “check in” online hours before our arrival, arrived precisely 15 minutes after the advertised by Fairmont check in time, but the delay between “your room is ready, we just need to check it’s condition” and getting a room key was amazing. To make matters worse, another unexpected problem developed around 10:30 p.m.. The noise started outside of our room and lasted for about an hour. Apparently a dozen or two of guests decided to start a party in the hallway. The happy noises lasted for an hour and were not interrupted by any noticeable intervention from the hotel’s staff. We were not trying to sleep and there was no reason to call and complain, but we are still amazed at the lack of supervision from the management. I have a feeling that next time I would choose to spend my money at another hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Manager at The Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hello, and thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I'm pleased that you enjoyed our central location, well-appointed guest rooms, and pleasant staff. However, I'm disappointed to hear about your check-in experience - what you describe is certainly not up to our standards of service. We certainly regret that your evening was disturbed by other guests - I do hope in the future you will feel comfortable alerting the Front Desk, as our managers on duty would have addressed the issue. Thank you, again, for your comments.
Warm Regards,
Jennifer Zajac
Area Manager, Internet Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

we had a fantastic time at this hotel.. apart from noise next door to our room...coming from a tv that was left on in the boston sypmhony suite. 2 nights the piano music kept us awake. but apart from that everything else was lovely..the staff were so nice and couldnt do enough for there guests.. esp. alex who was on duty in the lounge serving breakfast to the gold room guests. he was so nice and very pleasent..

Room Tip: we stayed in a gold room very pricey but was very elegant. we had a lovely view of the trinity chur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston

Address: 138 St James Ave, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Boston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#13 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#14 Family Hotel in Boston
#16 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Copley Plaza has been a symbol of Boston's rich history and elegance since its gala opening in 1912. Centrally located in beautiful Back Bay, this luxury hotel is just steps from many popular historic sites, as well as the celebrated boutiques on Newbury Street. Our dedicated staff delivers incomparable hospitality, impeccable service and attention to detail to ensure your stay is perfect. Now, with the April 2012 completion of an extensive renovation of each of the hotel’s 383 well-appointed guestrooms and suites, the restoration of the ballrooms and public spaces, and the addition of a contemporary, rooftop health club, The Fairmont Copley Plaza shines more brightly than ever before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splendia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston Hotel Boston
Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston
Fairmont Boston
Boston Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.