We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Updated grand hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston to your Saves list
The Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   138 St James Ave, Boston, MA 02116   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate!
Ranked #22 of 77 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersSilver level
McLean VA
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Updated grand hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

They have done a very fine job of renovating this centrally-located Boston classic. We stayed in a king-sized room, which was spacious and had a nice view over Copley Square. Because it is an old hotel, there are some quirks, such as a bathroom that is a bit too narrow and a a clothes closet that was much too small. Oddly, there is also no fan in the bathroom, though they have installed a fogless mirror. But the bar downstairs is lovely and you get a thrill every time you walk through the hotel lobby.

One disconcerting thing when we left--the doorman tried to get us to take an unmarked "taxi" with a flat rate to the airport (higher than the actual cost of a taxi ride.) It's surprising a hotel of this quality would let someone have that kind of scam on the side.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    845
    408
    151
    66
    29
See reviews for
293
509
67
416
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My wife & I recently stayed at the Copley for a couple of nights for our anniversary & because it was a big deal we booked a suite, which turned out to be sumptuous, spacious & elegant. We needed the space because we had over a dozen people over one afternoon for drinks & the staff couldn't have been more accommodating. We were pleasantly surprised as well to receive a basket of very nice goodies. The Copley is sui generis, its lavish public spaces are redolent of 1912 Boston, but the suite was quite modern & equipped with all the amenities. (OK, you have to pay for wi-fi & future generations will laugh at that, but I've seen that elsewhere.) The location couldn't be better--even in frigid January you could get to the Prudential Center practically without feeling winter's bite. By the way, the Oak Bar has been rehabbed, to the horror of oldsters in raccoon coats, but the place has a lively buzz now & it's a great place to have a drink. I'll admit, this was a special occasion--the 50th--& I'm hardly Diamond Jim Brady let alone Tom--so we went pricey on this one, but it was worth every dime.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Internet Marketing Coordinator at The Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hello, and thank you for your post. I’m thrilled that you and your wife enjoyed such a lovely anniversary with us! It’s great to hear that our staff made you feel so welcomed and even surprised you with a basket of treats to celebrate the occasion. Thank you again for your comments – perhaps we’ll get to welcome you both back for your 51st!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed here with a bunch of friends (8 guys on a party weekend) and frankly, was surprised they were so cool letting us stay. We weren't worthy of the great accommodation provided, and the location was pretty good too.

Our room - 3 to it - was very comfortable. Yes, it was a bit stuffy when we stayed mid-summer, however no complaints on the room. Large and spacious...bathroom was pretty small, but so what.

The other guys had a bit darker of a room, thus may not have appreciated the place as much. The hotel's lobby and style was very appealing. If to nitpick, yeah the carpeting was a bit worn, but really nothing worrisome.

Copley's a pretty great location too. We walked to Fenway for the game, and the subway was around the corner when going to the brewery (only about a 20min ride). Downtown/Wharf area was a bit of a hike when walking, but it was summer and you're going through the Common, etc...

There's no nightlife in the area, but a decent shopping strip about a block over that was bustling. Great neighbourhood. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Great visit on new years eve. Perfect location for first night or a wedding! Large, spacious rooms with good size bathrooms. We found all their employees to be genuinely kind and helpful. Easy access to Logan airport from this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a great weekend stay at the Fairmont Copley on Jan. 12, 2013. We had great service while checking in and we were given a wonderful, large deluxe room on the 2nd floor. The updated decor of the Fairmont is elegant and the room's large marble bathroom was to be admired. Although the Fairmont may have lost some of its past glamour and charm, it is great to see the updates. The service of its staff was warm and very welcoming.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amherst, ma
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

For several years I have stayed at the FCP between Christmas and New Year's. Although I missed last year (2011) I was psyched to return this year (Dec. 2012) because of the hotel's top-to-bottom refurbishment.

The refurbishment, in my view, has taken away the stuffy old-Boston charm of the rooms (the rich blues, the striped fabrics) and replaced it with generic hotel-beige. I think the designer might have been striving for "spa-like, soothing neutrals," and perhaps this has been achieved--at the expense of the Copley's soul.

But the real knife-in-the heart renos are in the public spaces. Gone are the Oak Bar and the Oak Room. In their places is one cavernous room, stripped of the dark, clubby, romance of the old oak rooms. In this garishly lit cafeteria-sized behemoth are small tables with canvas director's chairs. Think seaside resort. Think California casual. Think Automat. Think anything you want--except "real Boston." The only remaining scrap of former glory is the "Library," which has been re-fitted with more chairs and is no longer the oasis within an oasis it had been.

I stay on the Gold Floor, which has also changed. The complimentary breakfast and appetizers are great as always, as is in the honor bar. And the sitting room is comfy as ever (though also fallen victim to the dreaded beige). But the special touches are gone. At the honor bar there is no longer a snack mix to enjoy with your drink. I was actually looking forward to sitting down with my martini and a small bowl of this addictive treat. No such luck. A small corner to cut--but one that folks like me really miss. Also gone are the terry slippers, which came in very handy during previous stays. It's the Gold Floor, for goodness sake! Keep the slippers! Finally, in the room there are no longer assorted magazines (just a glossy for the Fairmont chain) or tiny Italian hard candies. What all of this tells me is that the guest is not at the center of the FCP/Gold Floor experience any more--a few pennies extra profit is.

Having said all of this, I will be back. The staff is wonderful, and the Copley holds too many wonderful memories for me to just abandon it. But visitors to the city of Boston looking to wallow in the Boston-ness of it all have lost a treasured place to do that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Internet Marketing Coordinator at The Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hello, and thank you for sharing your feedback with us here on TripAdvisor. I’m very sorry to hear that you were disappointed by your recent stay. I shared your post with our Fairmont Gold Manager, Constance Carman, who would like me to assure you that the guest is (and always will be) at the center of the Fairmont Gold experience. While our renovation has indeed brought about many aesthetic changes, exceeding your expectations in every way remains our top priority. To that end, kindly drop us an email before your next visit (COP.goldDL@fairmont.com) and we will do our best to honor your preferences! Thank you again for your comments, and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I spent 1 night in this hotel, having a short stop-over in Boston. Generally, I like it very much, especially hotel's retro-style. It looks even more formal than expected, with all brightness, reach and beauty interior, impressed building overall. Room was equipped with all necessary things, including iron board and counter, which are 'must have' in business trip.
I was fully satisfied with accommodation at Fairmont.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston

Address: 138 St James Ave, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Boston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#14 Business Hotel in Boston
#14 Family Hotel in Boston
#14 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Copley Plaza has been a symbol of Boston's rich history and elegance since its gala opening in 1912. Centrally located in beautiful Back Bay, this luxury hotel is just steps from many popular historic sites, as well as the celebrated boutiques on Newbury Street. Our dedicated staff delivers incomparable hospitality, impeccable service and attention to detail to ensure your stay is perfect. Now, with the April 2012 completion of an extensive renovation of each of the hotel’s 383 well-appointed guestrooms and suites, the restoration of the ballrooms and public spaces, and the addition of a contemporary, rooftop health club, The Fairmont Copley Plaza shines more brightly than ever before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston Hotel Boston
Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston
Fairmont Boston
Boston Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.