We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated and very disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Boston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Boston to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Boston
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Avenue de Lafayette, Boston, MA 02111   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast for Two
Ranked #55 of 77 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Overrated and very disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I chose this hotel for a conference visit, based on the quality of the Hyatt in San Francisco. What a mistake! The hotel does not deserve it's 4* status; only the size of the rooms merits the status! The front desk staff were nonchalant at best and just plain unhelpful at other times. The lobby is annoyingly located a floor above the street and involves taking the slow, antique elevator. Forget rushing anywhere. The main elevators are also slow and busy. The breakfast is also really disappointing and closer to what one would be offered at a Best Western. The location of the hotel is convenient albeit in a dingy, side-street. I asked for an upper-floor room which meant I wasn't facing brick walls out of the window. The rooms are very clean and comfortable but there's no free wi-fi in the rooms and the TV sets are dated and limited. There are too many small irritations to list here but this hotel is not worth the cost. There are several other similarly priced hotels nearby.

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor if, like me, you don't like facing other buildings. The location is in a t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily S, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Hi Little_Leo, Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent stay. I sincerely apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. Please know that even small irritations, like the ones you experienced, are not tolerated here at Hyatt Regency Boston. I hope that the next time you find yourself in town that you give us a second change to show you true authentic Hyatt hospitality. All my best, Emily qualitybosto@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    685
    358
    123
    52
See reviews for
362
523
107
417
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milledgeville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Nice hotel with easy check-in, great location and a very fair price compared to other hotels of equal quality. Easy walking distance to the Commons and most historical attractions. We asked for a corner room up-grade and was given the up-grade at no extra cost because we were celebrating our anniversary.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily S, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Hello, Gl M, Happy anniversary! Thank you for going out of your way to write this review about your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Boston. We’re happy you were able to take advantage of our close location to amazing Boston attractions and so very nice to hear that our team went above and beyond, anticipating your needs, so that you could celebrate a very special occasion. We hope you will join us again for your next visit to Boston. Best, Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

As a Hyatt Gold member, I stay at a fair few Hyatts. This is a weaker one, with dated fairly small rooms and sub-optimal service [TV not working, "droopy shower", crunchy towels and a dis-courtesy robe (i.e. with holes)]. Curiously, none of the rooms come with mini-safes, which surely should be standard at this level. The 2cm gap under the door to the room leads to interesting noise at all hours of the day and night.

Overall, one should be able to find a far nicer hotel in Boston

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily S, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Hi Andrew, Thank you for providing feedback about your stay. I apologize about the opportunities you experienced in your room. These issues are currently being addressed and we hope that we have a chance to better serve you in the near future.. Please do not hesitate to reach out to qualitybos@hyatt.com and we will make a note in your profile so that we can better serve you. Best, Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The best part of this hotel experience was the service. Staff were amazingly attentive.

Location is right at the end of the Boston Commons, so its central and convenient

Room was clean and well appointed. They brought me foam pillows and a teakettle at no charge.

The desk area didn't have a plug! There was one plug under the desk that supplied the phone and the lamp, and that was it. No power strip for the computer, camera, kindle, phone, etc. Perhaps they don't get a lot of business travelers

My major beef is that the only tea they served was Tazo. Tazo does not make a decaffeinated tea that is not herbal/flavored. I can't have caffeine any more (the old ticker doesn't tolerate it), but I still want a real cup of tea. For the price they charge for one cup of Tazo they could buy an entire box of decaf tea (Bigelow decaf English Breakfast is my fav and comes in sealed foil packets) just to please me and throw it away when I leave and still not lose money. They would never dream of serving decaf coffee only in a flavor and not plain, yet they think its OK to do that with tea! I had to bring my own teabags and they did let me use an electric teakettle.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily S, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Hello princesspuppymommy, Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and provide feedback about your stay. We truly appreciate your recommendation and would be more than happy to accommodate your tea request the next time you stay. Please email qualitybosto@hyatt.com so we can make a note on your profile! As you mentioned, we are very fortunate to be so centrally located and are so glad that you were able to navigate the city with ease. We look forward to seeing you again, Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

A good hotel centrally located in Boston - with centrally I mean it's a five minutes walk away from the subway and also the big public garden. The breakfast selection was really good and tasty, the bar is very nice, the staff is absolutely friendly and the rooms were modern, clean, huge and comfortable. We didn't have the best view but that's not always important.

So the hotel was perfect for our city trip - good restaurants are nearby as well, I can only recommend to visit "Back Deck", they server delicious burgers and finger food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily S, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Hi mattsiefert, We are absolutely thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful stay and breakfast here at Hyatt Regency Boston. We pride ourselves on our great guest experience and location, and are fortunate to have so many great restaurants like Back Deck so close by! Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback; we hope to welcome you back to our hotel and great city soon! Best, Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights on business in October 2013. I was able to complete my check-in on line, and my room was ready for me when I arrived at 1pm, which was nice. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The restaurant and bar were both good and reasonably priced (for a hotel). Service was also good. The layout is a bit strange in that you enter as street level, but the check-in/reception area is on the 3rd floor. The hotel overall feels slightly dated, not that it's falling apart, but some areas could use some TLC.
The location is described in several reviews as excellent, but I don't agree. I guess it depends on what you're looking for in surrounding areas. Chinatown is very close, as is the financial district, but I would have preferred more shopping and restaurants within walking distance--I felt a bit "removed".
The staff was great--concierge, bellmen, reception, bar, all of them were really helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily S, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hello, Sheri77, Thank you for going out of your way to write this review about Hyatt Regency Boston. We’re thrilled to hear that you were able to take advantage of our web check-in and found that your room was clean and comfortable. I will pass along your kind words regarding our associates. They are all exceptional team members that are dedicated to delivering authentic service and hospitality. We hope to welcome you back for a future stay in Boston. Best, Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

great location downtown area, walking distance to most places. layout of the hotel is a little odd, need to take an elevator up to the lobby and then another elevator to the rooms. lobby area was nicely decorated, the room i stayed in was a bit older looking than the lobby layout.

one of the older hyatts ive stayed at, but location is very good, would stay again

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily S, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hi Will! Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Boston. Our building was originally a hotel and a mall, so when Hyatt bought the building, we worked hard to keep the integrity and the history of the building intact. We are very proud of our recent renovations to the common areas and the lobby and are working to update our rooms as well. We'd look forward to having you back soon! Best, Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Boston

Address: 1 Avenue de Lafayette, Boston, MA 02111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Boston
#11 Spa Hotel in Boston
#32 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#43 Family Hotel in Boston
#48 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#49 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the city's downtown destination, Hyatt Regency Boston, where luxury and convenience collide. Steps from Boston's most desirable area-attractions such as the Boston Common, Faneuil Hall, and Boston's famous shopping destination, Newbury Street, the hotel sits at the edge of the city's excitement. Tour the Freedom Trail, visit the Museum of Fine Arts, or catch a game at historic Fenway Park, all just minutes from Hyatt Regency Boston. Experience Boston's exhilarating 24-hour neighborhood and burgeoning restaurant scene that includes our casually chic restaurant, Avenue One. Relax in our heated, indoor saline pool, stay energized in the StayFit Gym, and unwind in the eucalyptus steam room. Convenient to the Theater District, the Financial District and attached to Macy's for convenient shopping, our downtown Hyatt hotel is also a 10 to 15 minute walk to the South End, Back Bay, the Charles River Esplandade, and is connected to the "T," Boston's mass transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.