We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Unforgettable Wedding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Boston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Boston to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Boston
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Avenue de Lafayette, Boston, MA 02111   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #47 of 77 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersGold level
Greenville, South Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“An Unforgettable Wedding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

When we decided to get married in a location that recognizes same-sex marriage, Boston, MA seemed the obvious choice: major airport, lots to do, and, very importantly, family ties to the area.

As members of the Hyatt Gold Passport Program, we opted to explore what Hyatt properties could offer. We picked Hyatt Regency Boston because of the attractive photos on the website and because of the friendliness of the catering staff. Because we had not actually visited the hotel, we were nervous about our choice.

Two months before the ceremony we made our first visit to the hotel to meet with Christine, one of the catering managers. Christine walked us through our options (there were many!) and together we developed a plan for the rehearsal dinner and the wedding ceremony.

When we arrived at the Hyatt the day before the ceremony, Christine met us at the desk and throughout the event, took care of our every need.

After the ceremony, our photographer made use of several locations on site, including the grand staircase, for wedding pictures.

Because of the attentiveness, generosity, and kindness of the staff of Hyatt Regency Boston, our wedding wasn't just an event to remember. Instead, it was an UNFORGETTABLE one!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    760
    386
    136
    56
See reviews for
412
589
119
490
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed there from 7/5-7/10. We were on the 21st floor and liked our room. The hotel always smelled nice and looked clean. The staff we encountered were wonderful. We had 2 minor issues the day we checked in where our room keys did not work and someone had to come twice to fix the problem and there was a mixup where the person at the valet area left our luggage in the trunk of the car instead of bringing it up. Because of those things happening we were given a $150 voucher to use at the hotel restaurant. We liked all the meals we had at the restaurant and the 2 nights we did room service. We found the hotel to be pretty quiet as well. We had our dog with us and it is close to Boston Common so she had a nice place to do her business. A lot of attractions were in walking distance and sometimes if we were too tired to walk most cab rides cost about $10 from there. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

Stayed in one of the Lafayette Suites with wife and baby. Check-in was fine; room was OK but rather ordinary. Small mini-bar fridge with sensors absolutely packed with stuff - so no room for any personal storage eg. milk for baby. They initially wanted to charge us to bring up another fridge but relented in the end.

I must agree with another reviewer about the room service charges - automatic 18% gratuity plus a 'delivery fee' of about $4. It's either one or the other. Why don't they just add on a 'removal of plates fee' and 'dish washing fee' too. Breakfast was uninspiring with somewhat limited selection from the buffett but the service was good.

Unfortunately the same can't be said for housekeeping. As we were heading out for lunch, we met with one of the housekeepers who was cleaning a couple of doors down. Explained that we'll be back in 3 hours as the baby needs to sleep then. She said she'll clean our room next. Upon return 3 hours later, room not done yet and it seems like they were also done with this floor. If my baby wasn't asleep I would have called them back.

Check-out was also sub-par; she seemed annoyed that I asked a question about the invoice. In summary, I think you could definitely do better at a different hotel. Unfortunately for us, hotels in Boston were fully booked due to Graduation Week and also a number of conferences in town.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Check your bill
Pros: great location, room service pizza is excellent.
Cons: starting to feel outdated, confusing entrance, very tall lumpy uncomfortable bed, heavy lumpy pillows, nickel and dime everything (sensor operated fridge which doesn't even refrigerate, gratuity automatically added to room service, no free wifi), useless cleaning staff (they swept crumbs under the ottoman), not enough water pressure, the gym is so far that you get your workout just getting there and back, very rude impolite staff (arrogant, and supervisors just as bad).
I'm surprised they don't charge to use the elevator.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We stayed here for the 4th of July weekend. We booked through expedia and we got a good rate. I must admit I was a bit disappointed in the overall stay. Front desk checknin staff was not cordial or hospitable at all. Our room was small unlike other reviews. We were on the 22 fl but no corner, so be aware all the rooms are not spacious. Location was good as we walked almost everywhere. So to sum this all up, this stay was just ok, nothing special. We would not stay here again, but liking or not liking this hotel really depend on your individual expectations in a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastCoast
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

We booked the hotel last minute for 4th of July holidays/anniversary celebration for 1 night. To avoid dealing with additional charges, we selected "Balance" package that (according to Hyatt's website) included breakfast, valet parking for hybrid car, 2 reusable bottles and tot bag. When we arrived at the hotel, the front desk discovered that there is a massage session added to our package which they "have never seen in their lives". I guessed that it might've been because it is our anniversary but they had no idea and it was just for one person. We did receive an upgrade to a suite from a corner room - it was a great gesture by the front desk person but massage has never materialized as it had to be booked in advance with an outside party...

The room was very nice and spacious with a good city views. Bedding is comfortable, bathroom amenities and towels of a standard Hyatt quality. Internet is $10 per day - even for Hyatt Gold program members. Buffet breakfast in the hotel - nothing extraordinary but good selection and good quality. Wait staff at breakfast - excellent! Dining at the only hotel restaurant was much better than expected. More on the gourmet side then your regular hotel restaurant dishes. Service in the restaurant - probably the best service in the whole hotel - very good! Health center: sauna did not work in the women's room, pool was overcrowded and had cold water, steam room - zero visibility (my husband slipped and cut his knee), no personnel at the pool or health center at all...

Back to the "mystery massage package" - I ended up calling front desk who asked me how they can make up for the massage that never happened and offered a bottle of wine or champagne with a cheese platter. I selected the wine and an hour later they brought a bottle of wine with some fruits (not cheeses) and asked for a signature and asked (yes) for tips (suggesting to change a big bill we had). At check-out time - $60 charge appeared on our bill for room service - they did take it off when I related the whole story about "massage" to them, but the fact itself does not play in the hotel management favor. And we never got the reusable bottles and a tot bag that was originally included in the hotel package - they told us that "each location is different and we don't have any bottles for you"...

Overall, the hotel staff seemed a bit clueless and unsure of how to serve customers. The location of the hotel is closer to Chinatown and Financial District. It is a walkable distance to the most attractions. Security within the hotel is not the best - if I was alone, as a female traveler, I would not feel safe entering the main entrance and then going to the 3rd floor on the elevator that did not have a secure hotel guest only card. If I had to stay in Boston again, I would pick a different place.

Room Tip: just ask for a room away from an elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWFoster, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
Thank you for your review regarding your holiday stay at the Hyatt Regency Boston. We appreciate you taking the time post a lengthy review; we have passed on your comments to hotel management to review & counsel our staff towards excellency. We are glad you were able to use some of the hotel amenities; with regards to the gym we have repaired the women’s sauna which was out of service for repair. We are sorry to hear that your husband hurt his knee in the steam room; though our gym is not staffed there are several emergency phones located throughout the pool area & gym area if a need arises. As for the mystery package; the package elements were incorrectly built in our computer system & the massage was not part of the package. As it was hotel error & we apologize for this issue. We have counseled the manager who sent up the amenity as this shouldn’t have been charged to your room.
On behalf of the Hyatt Regency Boston, we thank you for your review and we apologize for the service you received. If you could please contact us directly at qualitybosto@hyatt.com so that we can follow-up personally with regarding this stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

The Hotel is a typical city chain hotel. Reception staff were unfriendly with little or no
personality, their English was not the best either! The buffet breakfast at $20 a head and self service was a joke. The food was poor, cold and unappetising, not even worth $5 a head! When we came to check out after our two night stay they added a $8 tip to our breakfast bill which they eventually deducted, having first found the card slip with no tip signed by me, not a good parting gesture.

However it was when we arrived home. I found that they had charged my credit card with $329.62 so I sent an email to them. Two days later i received a reply and my account was credited.The email contained the following words by way of an apology 'You may rest assured the matter has been addressed with proper staffing to avoid future re occurrence'.

We will, understandably, NOT be staying at this Hyatt or any other Hyatt in the future!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Boston

Address: 1 Avenue de Lafayette, Boston, MA 02111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Boston
#10 Spa Hotel in Boston
#31 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#32 Family Hotel in Boston
#38 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#50 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the city's downtown destination, Hyatt Regency Boston, where luxury and convenience collide. Steps from Boston's most desirable area-attractions such as the Boston Common, Faneuil Hall, and Boston's famous shopping destination, Newbury Street, the hotel sits at the edge of the city's excitement. Tour the Freedom Trail, visit the Museum of Fine Arts, or catch a game at historic Fenway Park, all just minutes from Hyatt Regency Boston. Experience Boston's exhilarating 24-hour neighborhood and burgeoning restaurant scene that includes our casually chic restaurant, Avenue One. Relax in our heated, indoor saline pool, stay energized in the StayFit Gym, and unwind in the eucalyptus steam room. Convenient to the Theater District, the Financial District and attached to Macy's for convenient shopping, our downtown Hyatt hotel is also a 10 to 15 minute walk to the South End, Back Bay, the Charles River Esplandade, and is connected to the "T," Boston's mass transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Amex, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Priceline so you can book your Hyatt Regency Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.