We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay - fantastic location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newbury Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Newbury Guest House to your Saves list
Newbury Guest House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   261 Newbury St., Boston, MA 02116   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great stay - fantastic location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Having spent 3 days in the hustle and bustle of NYC it was refreshing to stay in Newbury Street with its much more relaxed atmosphere. Having a room overlooking the street and directly above a restaurant I did worry about noise but the receptionist assured me this would not be a problem and over our 3 night stay it wasn't. The rooms are a good size and are clean and comfortable and the breakfast in the adjoining Creperie was good. The location is perfect, both for exploring Newbury St and the Back Bay area, but also for exploring further afield. There are plenty of restaurants in the vicinity and we chose to stay on Newbury Street to eat on all 3 nights. When we visit Boston in future we will definitely want to stay here and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    180
    43
    20
    14
See reviews for
62
195
24
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The location of the hotel was fantastic. Newbury street is beautiful, littered with small, boutique, privately owned shops. The hotel itself was fine but after reading reviews on various sites I expected a little more. The staff were polite and professional but I didn't feel like I'd walked into a family ran guesthouse somehow. I was surprised that they didn't have coffee making facilities in the room too although you could usually get some from the reception area. Nothing too bad but nothing to make me love it either!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

What a fantastic place. Clean,neat,comfortable,friendly, centrally located. Nice morning breakfast. Stayed here to see Boston and could not have found a better place! Close to trolley(couple of blocks) which we used to get all over city to see sites. While on trolley driver pointed out places of interest and all were funny and informative.

Room Tip: We stayed in a bay window king looking out on Newbury street. We could hear the night life outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We loved it! Great room overlooking the street. No problem with noise. Our room was spacious and comfortable with all the amenities we needed in a B&B. Staff were all very helpful and welcoming. Having spent plenty of time in "big hotels" we loved the ambience of the smaller guesthouse in a lovely Boston brownstone. Will definitely return and have already recommended this to friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Careful before you accept their commitment to reserve a room. I made reservations months ago for our daughter. I prearranged that charges would go to my credit card. (And, this by the way, was not easy.) More importantly, because of special circumstances, I requested a specific room -- again months in advance to be certain. I was assured that the specific room was reserved. When my daughter arrived, the room was not available and it disrupted our plans. Very disappointed and they have a problem with their reservation process.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Newbury House far exceeded our expectations. Can't say enough good things. For some reason we expected a tiny room but to our surprise it was adequate and more importantly it had an effiicient and very quiet A/C! It was a "standard" room. We had a very comfortable queen size bed. An elevator took us to our third floor room which was very quiet.

Breakfast was included. It was very good; scrambled eggs, bacon, and surprisely good pancakes. Fortified us for the entire day! The hotel was located on the beautiful Newbury St. which we thoroughly enjoyed and about 3 blocks from the T and Trinity church. The T took us everywhere we wanted to go even the JFK museum.

We really enjoyed Boston and loved going to the Papa Razzi Italian restuarant just down the street where we went 3 times during our 6 day tour! All in all, a wonderful stay and we will definitely be back. We did not have a car but there is parking available.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas NV
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed there for two nights in July. Great location in Newbury Street. Very very clean. A bit awkward for luggage for seniors or people with difficulty as there are steps up to the front door. However someone is usually around who can help. Also a bit awkward with the luggage on the higher floors as it is an old house with a few steps here and there. I have to say that is my only complaint. Very nice b/fast included. My son left his phone there and they called me. We were too far away to pick it up so they said they would mail it to my home address. I said I would pay the postage and they said not to worry. They were as good as their word. The phone arrived by the time we got back postage paid by them. Would most definately stay there again. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Difficulty dragging luggage and heavy items on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newbury Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newbury Guest House

Address: 261 Newbury St., Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#43 Family Hotel in Boston
#56 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Newbury Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel located in the upscale Back Bay section of Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Newbury Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newbury Guest House Hotel Boston
Newbury Bed And Breakfast
Newbury Guest House Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newbury Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.