We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Newbury Guest House

Save Saved
You added Newbury Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Newbury Guest House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   261 Newbury St., Boston, MA 02116   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Loved this accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Great location for 'newbies' traveling to Boston, in the center of things yet tremendously more affordable than most of the well-known chain hotels. Would definitely stay again, and have recommended to friends traveling to the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    162
    42
    19
    13
See reviews for
55
178
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Very happy with my recent stay here. The hotel is very conveniently located on Newbury Street about halfway between two T stops. I'm not terribly into shopping, but if you are, it's a great location. I appreciated it for being in a neighborhood, as opposed to a business district. The room itself was very nice -- fairly large and very clean, and the bed was excellent, extremely comfortable. The service was also very good; I met a friend who flew in on a red eye and not only was she able to get into our room on arrival, but she was offered breakfast as well. Breakfast was actually the one thing I was slightly disappointed in; it was fine, I just thought it might be better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights on our family Christmas trip and what a gem this place was. We typically stay in chain hotels but a friend recommended Newbury Guest House & I'm happy we listened! Rooms were perfect and staff very helpful and friendly. Typical breakfast (offered in the connecting Crepe restaurant next door - muffins,toast, pancakes, cereal, eggs) each morning. The neighborhood is the best - great street with many options for dining and shopping. True Boston feel! Will definitely return. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

It's the sweet spot to be in Boston. It's practically smack down in the shopping district of Boston. It's the cheapest you could get amidst the swanky hotels around without compromising the comfort of your stay. The place is very clean and the staff is very accommodating. It's 3-4 blocks from the train station and very accessible to all modes of transport. I'm currently staying here and all I can say is it's the sweetest spot to stay around Boston for the bang for your buck.

Room Tip: It's a block away from Prudential Shopping Center. So many shops and restaurants, so li'l ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Loved the location, the light from the window, the firm mattress, the delicious (complimentary) breakfast, the coffee and herbal tea available all day, the pleasant desk staff, the generous and pretty room and the location--did I mention the location? The only downside was...voices carry! Walls are thin and TV (& conversations) bleed right through, room to room. Luckily I was with a considerate crowd, but when I realized that my neighbors (must've) heard my phone calls and showers...I felt a bit shy. Still! Perfectly located and beautifully priced: a gem! Very clean!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Just returned from a visit to Boston; we stayed at a wonderful Inn, the Newbury Guest House, lon Newbury Street in the Back Bay section of Boston, in the heart of Copley Square. It is a lovely guest house that has the advantage of being located in a top area of the city, within walking distance of many places as well as close to the "T".

Our room was large, attractive and very comfortable, overlooking the street with a very comfortable bed and pillows. The parking in the back is in a Public Alley and we had no problem moving our Highlander in and out of there. Breakfast at The Creperie was quite good [with daily copies of the NY Times, Boston Globe and other newspapers provided at no cost to guests] and we enjoyed the shops and restaurants that make the area so lively and fun to walk through. The street was decorated with white holiday lights which brought an extra sparkle to the view. Staff was quite helpful for directions or recommendations and maps/brochures/local information is also available for guests.

Since the Guest House is in a former brownstone [actually 3 of them combined together in a really well designed manner], guest rooms will either have a view over Newbury Street or the Public Alley [used for parking and faces the backs of other buildings]. Newbury Streeet attracts a lot of visitors, both walkers and drivers with all of the businesses on it. As our visit was in December and it was quite cold, there was little late night foot traffic on the street. However, our room was on the second floor and we could hear anyone speaking outside in addition to the car traffic. In warmer weather, those who want a quiet room should ask for one on a higher floor [there is an elevator].

We enjoyed our visit and are very glad to have stayed at the Newbury Guest House.

Room Tip: The view of Newbury Street is lovely; for a quiet stay, ask for a room on a higher floor to minimize...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I stayed here in December with my husband. Great location near shops and subway and walking distance to the downtown area and park with the freedom trail. The room was clean, not massive but we didn't expect it to be. Cleaned daily. Nice breakfast in the creperie. Great trip to Boston.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newbury Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newbury Guest House

Address: 261 Newbury St., Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Boston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#45 Family Hotel in Boston
#58 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Newbury Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel located in the upscale Back Bay section of Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Newbury Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newbury Guest House Hotel Boston
Newbury Bed And Breakfast
Newbury Guest House Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newbury Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.