We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely guest house hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Newbury Guest House

Save Saved
You added Newbury Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Newbury Guest House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   261 Newbury St., Boston, MA 02116   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 77 hotels in Boston
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely guest house hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This old brownstone converted to a guest house is beyond charming! The location is the first big plus for choosing the Newbury Guest House. Newbury Street is filled with eclectic shops and great little restaurants. It's a pedestrian-filled neighborhood in the back bay, and the hotel is lovely. Our east coast smallish room had a beautiful old fireplace against a bay wall with windows facing the street. We did have an issue with stairs & my handicapped sister. I assumed that since the guest house had an elevator, she would be fine. But there were still a few oddly-located steps between the elevator and our room - (near the landing to the staircase, she had to step down 3 steps to a landing, then back up 3 steps to the other side, and there was no handrail). There were rooms located on the other side of the hotel that did not have this issue, so if this is a problem for you or one of your party, be sure to clarify while making your reservation. The staff was superb. They took care of absent-minded me when I left my coat in the closet, sending it to my Texas home quickly. Overall, a very nice experience!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    153
    38
    19
    13
See reviews for
51
164
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We spent 3 nights and wish we had stayed longer. The rooms are very comfortable and the staff exceptionally helpful. The location is awesome. Lots of lovely restaurant options on Newbury Street and only a short walk to many attractions and Back Bay Station, which made our departure to New York by rail easy.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This was my second stay at the Newbury Guest House, and hopefully won't be my last. It is easy to get to off of the highway, parking is available in the back alley for a reasonable rate (for Boston), the location is outstanding (on vibrant Newbury Street), and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The property is well maintained and front desk staff are available and helpful. Breakfast is provided and seems almost like a bonus. Finally, I had travel issues due to the recent hurricane (Sandy), and the owner/front desk were very understanding and accomodating. The Newbury Guest House is a good choice when staying in Boston.

Room Tip: No fitness center, but short stay deals can be arranged with the Boston Sports Club a few blocks dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amherst, ma
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have stayed at the NGH many times in the past, but had not visited in several years until this October (2012), when I was there for three nights. What a change! Gone are the breakfast room in the basement, the hardwood floors in the guest rooms and the aged bathrooms. In their places are: A restaurant off the lobby that offers a free breakfast daily (the quality and variety of the breakfast is the only change for the worst from my last visits--and I am inclined to think that might be the result of the inattentive wait staff watching over the buffet). The rooms (well, my room!) now have carpeting, a modern decor in soothing neutral colors, a small but full bathroom, and a big flat-screen tv with a gazillion channels.

There's no one to help with luggage, the elevator is small and slow, but the location is superb--you can pretend to be a Bostonian--and single travelers can feel very safe.

There is limited outdoor parking at an incredibly ($20) low price. And, just down the street is a small gourmet-ish grocery store that makes fabulous sandwiches for not very much money.

This a great base to experience Boston. Closest T stop is Exeter Street/Copley--a couple of blocks, but not unmanageable with luggage.

Guests in wheel chairs, or burdened with luggage should enter the NGH from its rear (in a public alley): no steps, and the elevator is close at hand. Otherwise, you will have to negotiate a steep set of stairs if you enter on Newbury St.

Room Tip: Spend extra for the rooms with bay windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is a lovely hotel in Back Bay, an area we have stayed in 3 times before. It is right amongst the bars and restaurants, a long walk into town but we know our way around and love the area of Back Bay. Very clean, adequate breakfast, would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

This guest house is in a nice location near tons of shopping and food, as well as access to transportation and tours, i.e. Red Trolley, Duck Tours, etc. Very nice hot breakfast. Only minor issue is that due to the age of the building, the walls are a tad thin so could hear neighbor's tv etc. Liked the Back Bay neighborhood.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WALNUT CREEK, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I was there early October and found it quite quaint and comfortable but because I had a room facing the street, it was extremely noisy. The breakfast was hearty and it was more than coffee and roll. The staff I encountered (John and Peter (I think this was his name) were extremely courteous and helpful. All in all I would recommend this charming guest house. The location is excellent with many restaurants and chic boutiques.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the street were noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Newbury Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newbury Guest House

Address: 261 Newbury St., Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Boston
#32 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#44 Family Hotel in Boston
#57 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Newbury Guest House 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel located in the upscale Back Bay section of Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Newbury Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newbury Guest House Hotel Boston
Newbury Bed And Breakfast
Newbury Guest House Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newbury Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.