We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Boston” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Newbury Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Newbury Guest House to your Saves list
Newbury Guest House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   261 Newbury St., Boston, MA 02116   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location in Boston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We spent 3 nights and wish we had stayed longer. The rooms are very comfortable and the staff exceptionally helpful. The location is awesome. Lots of lovely restaurant options on Newbury Street and only a short walk to many attractions and Back Bay Station, which made our departure to New York by rail easy.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    184
    44
    20
    14
See reviews for
64
200
25
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This was my second stay at the Newbury Guest House, and hopefully won't be my last. It is easy to get to off of the highway, parking is available in the back alley for a reasonable rate (for Boston), the location is outstanding (on vibrant Newbury Street), and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The property is well maintained and front desk staff are available and helpful. Breakfast is provided and seems almost like a bonus. Finally, I had travel issues due to the recent hurricane (Sandy), and the owner/front desk were very understanding and accomodating. The Newbury Guest House is a good choice when staying in Boston.

Room Tip: No fitness center, but short stay deals can be arranged with the Boston Sports Club a few blocks dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amherst, ma
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have stayed at the NGH many times in the past, but had not visited in several years until this October (2012), when I was there for three nights. What a change! Gone are the breakfast room in the basement, the hardwood floors in the guest rooms and the aged bathrooms. In their places are: A restaurant off the lobby that offers a free breakfast daily (the quality and variety of the breakfast is the only change for the worst from my last visits--and I am inclined to think that might be the result of the inattentive wait staff watching over the buffet). The rooms (well, my room!) now have carpeting, a modern decor in soothing neutral colors, a small but full bathroom, and a big flat-screen tv with a gazillion channels.

There's no one to help with luggage, the elevator is small and slow, but the location is superb--you can pretend to be a Bostonian--and single travelers can feel very safe.

There is limited outdoor parking at an incredibly ($20) low price. And, just down the street is a small gourmet-ish grocery store that makes fabulous sandwiches for not very much money.

This a great base to experience Boston. Closest T stop is Exeter Street/Copley--a couple of blocks, but not unmanageable with luggage.

Guests in wheel chairs, or burdened with luggage should enter the NGH from its rear (in a public alley): no steps, and the elevator is close at hand. Otherwise, you will have to negotiate a steep set of stairs if you enter on Newbury St.

Room Tip: Spend extra for the rooms with bay windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is a lovely hotel in Back Bay, an area we have stayed in 3 times before. It is right amongst the bars and restaurants, a long walk into town but we know our way around and love the area of Back Bay. Very clean, adequate breakfast, would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

This guest house is in a nice location near tons of shopping and food, as well as access to transportation and tours, i.e. Red Trolley, Duck Tours, etc. Very nice hot breakfast. Only minor issue is that due to the age of the building, the walls are a tad thin so could hear neighbor's tv etc. Liked the Back Bay neighborhood.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WALNUT CREEK, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I was there early October and found it quite quaint and comfortable but because I had a room facing the street, it was extremely noisy. The breakfast was hearty and it was more than coffee and roll. The staff I encountered (John and Peter (I think this was his name) were extremely courteous and helpful. All in all I would recommend this charming guest house. The location is excellent with many restaurants and chic boutiques.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the street were noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Just back from 4 nights in Boston. We wanted to be close to Newbury St. and this was by far the best value for the area. The hotel was very clean, staff was extremely nice and helpful and the bed was very comfortable. Rooms only have 2 dresser drawers and bathroom was modern but very small. We did hear the person above us showering early every morning as we were still trying to sleep and felt they could change up the breakfast as they serve the exact same items every day but we would definitely stay there again. Loved all the cute shops and interesting restaurants on the street as well as the character of the area. Close walk or inexpensive cab ride to so many things.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newbury Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newbury Guest House

Address: 261 Newbury St., Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Boston
#40 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#58 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Newbury Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel located in the upscale Back Bay section of Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Newbury Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newbury Guest House Hotel Boston
Newbury Bed And Breakfast
Newbury Guest House Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newbury Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.