We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, Beautiful... Best Location in Boston” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newbury Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Newbury Guest House to your Saves list
Newbury Guest House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   261 Newbury St., Boston, MA 02116   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Thousand Oaks, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Romantic, Beautiful... Best Location in Boston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

My husband and I spent our honeymoon here 12 years ago, and since then they have renovated the rooms and they are truly charming, clean, and beautiful. The location of this guest house/ B & B is the best in Boston. Everything is in walking distance or a short, safe "T" ride away. Boston is a great town and The Newbury Guest House is the best place to stay when you are here.

Room Tip: Ask to over look Newbury Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    186
    46
    20
    15
See reviews for
64
203
26
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

What a location! Safe area. Lovely tree lined streets and many shops and restuarants/bars nearby.
Hotel is lovely and friendly front of house and maids.
Very clean rooms. Good 40" plasma in room, in room safe, fridge.
The only very slight downside is the breakfast variety, we stayed here for 5 nights so some menu difference would be nice.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

An eclectic mix of independent retail and restaurants. A great spot to stay close to everything and the subway, in a unique character neighborhood.

Well appointed rooms in a character brownstone with breakfast included.

La Voile is an excellent authentic French restaurant just outside the doors. Wired Puppy has great espresso and coffee just across the street.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

This guest house is located in "Back Bay" Boston. It is a great location for shopping and for touring the city. The rooms are clean and spacious. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was satisfactory. I would highly recommend this Guest House.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

My son suggested we stay here for his recent graduation-- away from the high prices and madhouse in Cambridge. Loved the place. I had a foot injury and they were very accommodating. Nice complementary breakfast. We were on the street side, but on the 4th floor, so it was quiet.

Room Tip: If you are in the front choose a higher floor. Rooms in the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

The staff was friendly and accommodating during the heaviest snowfall in recent history (we traveled in January 2011 - but I couldn't choose this option below). The rooms were comfortable and clean, and thanks to a deal we found, our room was available at a great price.

The guest house is located in a great location, within walking distance of Boston's historical tourist sites. The main road it's located on had great food and shopping nearby as well!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

I spent three nights here to try a different hotel. The location is great- Back Bay is the place to stay and it is convenient to everything. My room was tiny- I mean really tiny. I was glad I was the only one in it. It was nicely decorated and I loved the lobby. I did peek in the other rooms around me and they were larger. They were very clean and the maids were very nice. I faced Newbury Street, and I loved the view but it was noisy at night, then construction noise again first thing in the morning. The staff is indifferent- not friendly at all, often they do not respond to a simple hello. As said before, luggage could be an issue depending on which side of the hotel you stay on due to the stairs between. Internet access can be sketchy.

And I, too, had the pleasure of the owner yelling at an employee in the morning during breakfast, then a phone call that none of us sitting there should have had to listen to and then also once in the lobby when he was talking to another man, making fun of a guest. This will definitely deter me from staying here again. And I visit Boston 4-5x a year.

Room Tip: Ask about the size of the room. And maybe consider one that faces the alley not the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newbury Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newbury Guest House

Address: 261 Newbury St., Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Boston
#42 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Newbury Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel located in the upscale Back Bay section of Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Newbury Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newbury Guest House Hotel Boston
Newbury Bed And Breakfast
Newbury Guest House Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newbury Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.