We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Boston Back Bay

Save Saved
You added Hilton Boston Back Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Boston Back Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Dalton St, Boston, MA 02115-3123 (Back Bay)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Back Bay Parking Package
Ranked #46 of 77 Hotels in Boston
New Holland, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Business Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Hilton was very nice and provided good access for a walks to several excellent restaurants and to the park. The location was near the Prudential center which has many restaurants and shops. The hotel is located close to Fenway, unfortunately the Red Socks were off for the All Star Game so we did not get to enjoy a game. My colleague and I stayed at the HBBB for a convention at the Boston Convention Center. This hotel is not conveniently located to the BCC. Fortunately the convention provided transportation to the convention which saved on taxi rides.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor on the Fenway side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We are thrilled to hear that you and your colleague enjoyed your stay here at the Hilton Boston Back Bay and the convenience our location afforded you. Providing positive and memorable experiences for our guests is the reason for our success along with our excellent location. We are absolutely thrilled you took the time and effort to share your experience at our property with you. We hope you will stay with us on your next visit to our beautiful city and take full advantage of our prime location as well as catch a Red Sox game!

Warm Regards,
Dominique Marty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    638
    229
    73
    21
See reviews for
361
392
108
372
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was my first time to Boston and I was glad I pick this hotel as it was in walking distance to some great restaurants and the mall. Check-in was quick and the lobby is nice with seating, a business center, and coffee bar. The room was clean with a pretty good view of the city and the window open for those times when I wanted to get fresh air. The room had a small refrigerator and a little coffee machine with a few bottles of Spring water. I self-parked and there was plenty of parking. Also, a few times I preferred a taxi as opposed to driving in the city and someone was always readily available to get a cab for me. Everyone was really nice and helpful. The only problems I had were the white towels and bed comforters had lots of stains. I know there is only so much they can do to clean it, but at some point you have to throw stuff out or maybe change your color scheme And the other issue was during my stay only 1 of the 3 elevators was working and there were a lot of people waiting sometimes between 5-10 minutes. Overall it was a good stay and I would recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: A room on a high floor is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for leaving us such an approving review of your experience at the Hilton Boston Back Bay. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay as well as our staff and amenities in the hotel. I do apologize about our towels and bed comforters. I have made our Director of Housekeeping aware of this issue and I thank you for letting us know! We appreciate your business and loyalty and look forward to the next time you stay with us.

Warm Regards,
Dominique Marty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Rooms are spacious, beds are very comfortable and view is great. Feels a bit old though. Especially, the bathroom seems to be a bit dated. Definitely needs refurbishing. Staff is friendly and helpful. Location is good for convention. Breakfast restaurant has good quality hot items. A very nice Food Court is also within walking distance (5-10 mins) in the nearby mall. And a Starbucks is located at the lobby level. What you get is, however, not worth the price you pay (350-400 USD per night). If this location is very important for business/convention then this would be a good option but for a private stay, I would consider something cheaper and newer and perhaps better located for exploring the city (near metro stop or near downtown Boston).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to commend our team members for providing you with excellent guest service.We will also be sure to inform our chef, along with his culinary team, know that the food you had was amazing. I am very sorry that you didn't find our location to your liking. We do hope you decide to give us another chance to to show you how wonderful our location is in the city of Boston. Our knowledgeable Concierge staff would be able to inform you of two different Subway stops as well as numerous Buses that are less than a 5 minute walk from our hotel, not to mention Fenway Park and Newbury St. within walking distance too. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you soon.

Warm Regards,
Dominique Marty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My family stayed here while attending a sox game. from the moment we walked in the service was A++++. We had a room with a great view. the room was a decent size for a family of 4. the beds were comfortable.there are plenty of things to do within walking distance. Fenway is only a 15min walk. Will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to commend our team members for providing you with excellent guest service. We are delighted that your recent stay at the Back Bay Hilton was one that exceeded your expectations and will be sure to commend my staff for their efforts.Our team prides themselves for showing our Hilton Values and culture. We greatly appreciate your business and loyalty, and hope to welcome you again.

Warm Regards,
Dominique Marty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This is a convenient business hotel. It's absolutely OK for business travel. Even though it's very clean, it looks tired and it feels tired.
The work-out facility is wonderful. The HH lounge is very nice. The staff is friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our excellent location, Fitness Center and Diamond Lounge. We are absolutely thrilled you took the time and effort to share your experience at our property with you. We are continually looking for new ways to improve and your opinion regarding upgrades will be taken into account. We hope you will stay with us on your next visit to our beautiful city and take full advantage of our prime location. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Warm Regards,
Dominique Marty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Our family stayed for 4 nights when we only booked 2 nights. The service was superb! We only stay mostly at Hilton's and this one had the most friendly and helpful front office staff of all the 7* Hilton's we stay, as well as the lady at the Hhonors gold lounge for breakfast, etc..The front office manager Tommy provided the best customer service ever, and Benjamin at the front desk was very helpful as well in helping me find the perfect room for our family. We asked for a full view of the Charles River and we sure got that! Breathtaking views! We stayed in 2507 I believe for 2 nights, and when we asked to extend our visit we were upgraded to the penthouse directly above our room (2607??)for our last 2 nights thanks to the front desk manager Tommy. We did NOT want to leave! I'd be happy living there for a month. The boys walked to a Red Sox game 2 nights in a row, we picked up the old Towne trolly daily which comes/goes every 10 minutes (ask concierge for details), we used the back bay T stop & saw all of Boston. We both went to college in Boston, and this is a nice, SAFE area which is HUGE for me! It was our first time taking our children to Boston to visit our home, from NC and we will definitely stay at this hotel on our next trip, and my husband on his future business trips. This is the first Trip Advisor review I've ever taken the time to right. We just really appreciated the way we were treated.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for sharing such kind words about your stay at our hotel. Our team members, Tommie & Ben will be informed of this review and will be pleased to hear that they were instrumental in providing an exceptional experience for you. We greatly appreciate such high praise as well as your choice to stay at our hotel. We are looking forward to your next family visit to our property!


Warm Regards,
Dominique Marty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I stay at the Hilton Boston Back Bay for conferences in Boston or Cambrdige. It certainly has the infrastructure to host these events and it does it well. The lobby is massive and the front desk is capable of handling an entire plane load of guests without batting an eyelid.

The rooms are spacious and well kept. On the down side, the hotel can get noisy and crowded all day. It lacks the intimacy of a home away from home. Very convenient for business but less so for a holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review about your stay at the Hilton Boston Back Bay. We are glad you chose to stay with us for conferences, as there are a great number of hotels to choose from in Boston. I do want to sincerely apologize for the traffic around our hotel that can make some noise at times. We aim to provide you, as a loyal guest, with the best experience possible so we appreciate the feedback you provided.

Warm Regards,
Dominique Marty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Boston Back Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Boston Back Bay

Address: 40 Dalton St, Boston, MA 02115-3123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Boston
#39 Family Hotel in Boston
#42 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Boston Back Bay 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Boston Back Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Boston Back Bay Hotel Boston
Hilton Hotel Boston
Boston Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Boston Back Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.