We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Benjamin- At the front desk at the Back Bay Hilton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Boston Back Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Boston Back Bay to your Saves list
Hilton Boston Back Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Dalton St, Boston, MA 02115-3123   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
New Year's Eve Package
Ranked #46 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Dix Hills, New York
1 review
“Benjamin- At the front desk at the Back Bay Hilton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I recently stayed at this Hotel and there was a mix up with the room reservation. I had an emailed confirmation of what type of room was reserved and showed it from my phone to Benjamin at the front desk.. He said "no problem" and took care of all my needs! He was fantastic!!!

Room Tip: parking is self park
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for posting such a considerate review. Our guest service agents, Ben, will greatly appreciate your wonderful feedback as he continues to proudly uphold our Hilton Values. Your business and loyalty is important to us, and we look forward to the next time you stay with us.

Sincerely,
Dominique Marty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    683
    255
    81
    23
See reviews for
387
423
113
424
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampton, New Hampshire, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This is a great place to stay if you want to explore the back bay. Walking distance to the Pru, Fenway Park, etc. So many shops and restaurants are just a few steps away. The rooms were clean, service was great, and check out time is noon which was a bonus. Highly recommended!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the Hilton Boston Back Bay and the convenience our location afforded you. Providing positive and memorable experiences for our guests is the reason for our success along with our excellent location. We are absolutely thrilled you took the time and effort to share your experience at our property with you. We hope you will stay with us on your next visit to our beautiful city and take full advantage of our prime location. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Sincerely,
Dominique Marty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Arrive on a sunny mid afternoon. Room was ready . Check in was fast and efficient. I was told i had a parcel and they would send it to my room as it had to be signed for . The room was large clean and we had good views .We waited 30 mins for the parcel . We also had the front desk call to get me to rate my check in experience. The odd thing was the person asking to rate the check in was the guy who checked me in ?? i had no control over what he was imputing so it was a waste of time After 1 hour i was still waiting for my parcel , i had to go to the lobby to collect it . As we wanted to explore Boston .Poor service from one of the lobby staff..
The room was fine but we could hear the lifts at nice and they were louder in the bathroom.

Location is fantastic , 1 block from the Prudential center, close to restaurants and bars on Boylsdon st . Plenty of places to eat drink and shop. Only one block from the T station.
Overall a good stay and the staff were great .

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms behind the lift shafts as you get a bit of noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for your Trip Advisor review from your most recent stay with us! We appreciate your comments as this allows us to improve our products and services for you and all future guest. I do apologize for our staff not being prompt in the delivery of your parcel but am thrilled to hear that our location was to your liking! Your loyalty is very important to us and we are all looking forward to seeing you back soon! Have a wonderful week!

Sincerely,
Dominique Marty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Booked a room with a panoramic view and found a very small room with two close by buildings covering any view whatsoever. Problems with the temperature system installed in the room. A complete disappointment and there are other properties worth more value in the back bay area

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time and effort to send us your feedback. We always appreciate guest feedback and continuously take comments into consideration as we strive to improve our guest service experience. Secondly, we would like to apologize for the issues that arose concerning your rooms view and heating. Although some of our rooms do overlook the Sheraton we try to make up for it with 100% Hilton hospitality! We hope that you will reconsider your decision on staying with another hotel in the city so that we can make it right for you. We would love for you to stay with us and would be happy to work with your reservation to ensure we meet your needs. Please call our hotel directly at 617-867-6154.

Sincerely,
Dominique Marty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wethersfield,CT
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Probably stayed here at least 5 times for Red Sox games and it is a quick walk to the park so you don't need to use the T. Take a walk thru Fens Park on the way to the ball park - it's a community garden where people manage individual plots. If you are a gold or beyond at Hilton, they recently remodeled (2013) the lounge for breakfast and it is much nicer than it used to be. The rooms are always clean and the parkling garage is attached to the hotel - coldnt be easier. Around the corner from the hotel is Bukowski's, a bar with an intersting selection of beers - I think they still only take cash though so if you plan on going be prepared.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are always pleased to read guests’ comments about the convenience of our hotel’s location. Your satisfaction about the cleanliness of our rooms has been addressed to our Director of Housekeeping and his room attendants, which they were happy to hear. We hope that you will continue to stay with us and address any additional feedback so that we can provide a 5 star experience for you. Your business and loyalty is important to us and always appreciated.

Sincerely,
Dominique Marty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The night didn't start off great since my request for a quiet room put me next to the ice machine. Even the next room was somewhat near the elevator - I don't think the staff pays attention to my consistent request for far away from the elevator and ice machines. In any case, I did sleep great, which is most important. Also, the free breakfast in the lounge was very good, although the chic layout is not well thought out or helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
We would first like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and giving us valuable feedback. All of your comments have been addressed to the appropriate directors. Our Director of Front Office is discussing this review with his front office team in order to avoid issues with guest request. We hope and would love for you to stay with us again to provide exceptional guest service and ultimately inspire you to reevaluate your stay with us to 5 stars.

Best,
Dominique Marty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

After a transatlantic flight we checked in and felt immediately welcome at the reception desk. The room was very convenient and nice. Wonderful look from the higher floor. The concierge has been very helpful with our luggage at departure.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to commend our team members for providing you with excellent guest service and writing a wonderful review about your experience with us. We are delighted that your recent stay at the Back Bay Hilton was one that exceeded your expectations and will be sure to commend the front office team for their efforts. They will be happy to hear that they lived our Hilton Values and culture. We greatly appreciate your business and loyalty, and hope to welcome you again.

Best,
Dominique Marty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Boston Back Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Boston Back Bay

Address: 40 Dalton St, Boston, MA 02115-3123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Boston
#41 Business Hotel in Boston
#41 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Boston Back Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 385
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Boston Back Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Boston Back Bay Hotel Boston
Hilton Hotel Boston
Boston Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Boston Back Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.