We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Back Bay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Boston Back Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Boston Back Bay to your Saves list
Hilton Boston Back Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Dalton St, Boston, MA 02115-3123 (Back Bay)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Back Bay Parking Package
Ranked #57 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Dorado, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Hilton Back Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I recently spent several days in Boston staying at the Boston Back Bay Hilton. It was the fourth time that I have stayed there over a number of years. The service was fine and the rooms were both clean and quiet. It is a typical Hilton and that is what I like.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Hilton Boston Back Bay. We are very happy to hear that you found our hotel to meet the high Hilton standard, it is very important to us that we live up to our guests expectations. It would be our pleasure to host you again should you return to the Boston area in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Consistent with expected quality of Hilton and with extended stay (15 days) had exceptional rate. Easy access to shopping, restaurants and metro. Executive Club b'fast buffet best I've had. Access to pc, Mac & printing next to in house Starbucks. Bar/Restaurant kind of dull and sterile, but food & wine selection OK. Large gym with modern equipment. Indoor pool but too small for laps. Whirlpool not hot. Room service prompt, but menu limited. Front desk staff very accommodting to changes to requirements. Ask for special rates if you are attending patients at Mass General.

Room Tip: Views of Charles River if you ask. Panorama rooms a strange shape with less space. Avoid floor with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rokiwolff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience at the Hilton Boston Back Bay. We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and that you found our staff friendly and our property accomodating. It would be our pleasure to host you again should you return to the Boston area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
135 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 434 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

After flying overnight and arriving at 7:30 am on a Saturday morning we were planning on storing our luggage and heading out to see the city. Instead, upon check-in the clerk said she would be happy to give us a room immediately rather than store bags which was a wonderful surprise. In addition, as Gold members, we were entitled to have continental breakfast in the members lounge. We were only staying one night but the clerk decided to give us the entry coupons for the day of arrival and the next morning as a courtesy and again without our requesting it. We didn't even realize this hotel had a lounge for the Gold and Diamond members. She was fabulous.
The physical hotel has been renovated, yes it is an older building, but the lobby and rooms have been very attractively renovated. Nice toiletries in the rooms, decent towels, flat screen tv's, a/c that functioned just fine, good beds, etc.
Some people have complained they can hear noise from hallways or the toilet flush in an adjoining room. Well, let's not have too big of a hissy fit because this is clearly the most affordable name brand hotel in Back Bay. If a guest doesn't like the low price point then march across the street to the Sheraton and pay up. And if you really want to pay up then go to the Westin or Fairmont. What I notice is that everyone wants a deal but if there is the slightest inconvenience (hearing a toilet flush, OH MY) or an underpaid staff member who is maybe having a bad day, then the gripes start flowing.
A special thanks to the staff in the club lounge. You all were so polite, quick to offer help and pick-up after a lot of guests who didn't even have the courtesy to tip or otherwise express their thanks to you.
Our stay was great. I would have no problem staying here again or recommending this property to any of our friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PDXStocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
We would sincerely like to thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed, generous review of your experience at the Hilton Boston Back Bay. It means so much to us that you enjoyed your stay and are so enthusiastic about our friendly staff. We would be thrilled to host you again should you return to the Boston area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

The location of the hotel may be the most alluring feature of all (close to Hynes Center, Prudential Center, etc.). Otherwise, the staff and room were similar to that of any other hotel you would find across the nation. One major downside many people were complaining about at the conference I was at discussed how the there was a charge for internet usage unless you were a member of the Hilton's version of a rewards program. Overall, the city of Boston is amazing, but I would choose any of the hotels in that area (just dependent upon price).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 22jolam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Hilton Boston Back Bay. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and comments and apologize for inconvenience you faced due to the fee for wifi. Guests are our top priority and we hope that you will give us another chance to show you the true Hilton hospitality!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Very good hotel with excellent location next to prudential centre and easy to walk to all areas of central Boston! Didn't have breakfast due to abundance of restaurants and cafés nearby. Boston is a great city with so much to do!

One small thing for Hilton to work on for me is a common theme on here - free wifi is a must for a Hilton as there is so much free wifi nearby! Come on Hilton!! Charging $18 a day for wifi is ridiculous particularly when there is free wifi 50 yards away! If you add this in I think you'll find your business will increase and people will spend more time in the hotel and subsequently spend more dollars with you rather than in the prudential centre!

Room Tip: Ask for room 2008 - really high up and great view of the city with very comfy double bed and very qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrewbru2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for writing a detailed review of your stay at the Hilton Boston Back Bay. We sincerely appreciate your feeback and are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We would love to host you again should you return to the Boston area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Packages and promotions here can be a great deal, one includes parking (otherwise $41 nightly.) Next to Prudential Center, Hynes Center and Christian Science Church. Breakfast Buffet is extensive and there is a Starbucks as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ParistoCapeCod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hilton Boston Back Bay. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you again should you return to the Boston area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wollongbar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Stayed for three days in Jan 2014,rooms were clean and tidy,lot of noise from toilets flushing in the next room,room amenities poor,staff not very helpful.Left passports behind,no one contacted us when they found them and they werent helpful in trying to return them to us.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Julie and Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Hilton Boston Back Bay. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay and the unfortunate noise incident you dealt with. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and comments and we will utililze them as we strive to improve our hotel for future guest experiences. We hope you will consider giving us another opportunity to host you, we would love to show you the true Hilton hospitality!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Sheraton Boston Hotel
#49 of 82 in Boston
4.0 of 5 stars 1,186 reviews
Back Bay
Boston Marriott Copley Place
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#19 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,481 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,883 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard by Marriott Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Boston Back Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Boston Back Bay

Address: 40 Dalton St, Boston, MA 02115-3123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in Boston
#45 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#47 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Boston Back Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Boston Back Bay is an up-scale hotel in downtown Boston, across the street from the Hynes Convention Center in the neighborhood of Back Bay. This Boston hotel's downtown location is within walking distance to Fenway Park, world-class shopping and dining on Newbury Street and four miles from Boston Logan International Airport. This Boston hotel features 390 guest rooms, and indoor pool and whirlpool, fitness center and over 15,000 sq.ft. of flexible event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hilton Boston Back Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Boston Back Bay Hotel Boston
Hilton Hotel Boston
Boston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing